We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going to the dogs.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tom's Cove Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chincoteague Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tom's Cove Park
Save
You added Tom's Cove Park to your Saves list
8128 Beebe Rd, PO Box 122, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336   |  
Hotel amenities
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Going to the dogs.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

And ignorant dog owners. Four dogs on one site. Was attacked by two of them. (Off leash and unattended) Constant barking at anyone that walked by. After repeated complaints to the owner and security, nothing was done.
My family fell in love with Chincoteague, but we wiped our feet of Tom's Cove Campground.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    15
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
24
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We loved Tom's Cove! The bathrooms and showers are clean, not really modern, but clean. The big fishing pier is great! we especially loved it to fish,crab and meet different people, watched boaters and water sports! The sites are big, plenty of room to camp and have great camping moments. the only regret we had was renting a water front spot. There aren't any trees near the water, so it gets hot! Also, others can park their boats at what is supposed to be (we thought) our private spot. Don't expect much from the water front spots. On the other hand, the spots with the trees are big and more of a camp feel. We had no trouble with noise or roudy campers at all! The store meets all your camping needs and is clean. It does have a big game room with pool tables and snacks and games. Some of the games need to be fixed though. The campground is one block from Main Street, it's a great value for a place to stay and close to all attractions! loved it! Next time we aren't going to get a water front spot though, we want more trees for shade on hot days!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Our first and last stay was this past weekend, fourth of july weekend. We arrived late Friday night and were shocked at the "campground." Not only were were crammed together like a can of sardines, but no rules are enforced. People drive around on golf carts and street bikes at all hours of the night and its mostly high school aged folks that are loud and obnoxious. This was NOT a camping experience and our group was completely turned off by the atmosphere and quality. The bathrooms were disgusting and someone literally pooped on the floor right inside the bathroom door. I went to the office and told a staff member and he just starred at me... I then told him I was telling him this so he could get it cleaned up.... 30 minutes later someone showed up to handle it. The bathrooms are not taken care of and and some of the staff are just plain lazy. There were 2 boys driving around emptying overflowing trash cans by the pier and they left all the trash on the ground, just emptied the cans. If you actually want a camping experience, go somewhere else!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

I found Toms Cove not to have a camping feel at all your right on top of 1 another there is no trees that give you the camping feel either!! Basically just a trailer park feel. Nothing fun to do beside ride around on golf cart all day. Very boring and will never go back.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carroll County, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

My husband went to Tom's Cove as a child. I remember when we got engaged he took me there for the first time and I fell in love with the place. Its a small place meant for people who love to be by the water. The place was perfect, right down to Mr. Whippy's ice cream truck coming every night. We are now married and I can't wait to someday have children so that they can experience this place just as my husband did.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tom's Cove Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tom's Cove Park

Address: 8128 Beebe Rd, PO Box 122, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Chincoteague Island
Number of rooms: 913
Also Known As:
Tom`s Cove Park Hotel Chincoteague Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tom's Cove Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.