We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Have Got to do This!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Dan's Around the Island Tours

Captain Dan's Around the Island Tours
4113 Main Street, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336
757-894-0103
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ask about our exclusive “Money-Back Guaranteed Wild-Pony Tour” (limited availability and separate pricing). Family friendly tours 7 days a week from April 1st to December 1st, trips are 2 to 3 hours. We limit our trips to only 6 passengers per boat, to maintain a semi-private setting, and allow for plenty of face time with your guide. With our two boats, we are able to accommodate groups up to 12. Local family owned and operated, your guide will be Captain Dan or his father Captain Ray. Our signature tour, the “Around the Island Tour”, is a family favorite. This trip has it all! We cruise over 25 miles of unique coastline, never passing the same spot twice. We go searching for wild ponies, dolphin, bald eagles (and other local wild fowl), sea turtles, and sting rays. Your captain is your guide, pointing out all the local wildlife, historic areas, and explaining the local customs and cultures, both past and present. We will travel completely around Chincoteague Island, while viewing the entire bayside coastline of Assateague Island in Virginia.
Rosendale, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You Have Got to do This!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had an absolutely fantastic time this past weekend with Captain Dan! This is a "must do" on your list of things to do in Chincoteague. The boat was comfortable and the trip was informative and pleasurable. But the best part was Captain Dan. His knowledge of the area was great, his commentary was brilliant and his hospitality was beyond perfection. We enjoyed interacting with his father on another boat as well. We are so glad that we chose Captain Dan's tour and you will be too. The smaller size group is ideal for being able to see and do what you want on your trip and you will be able to see things that the larger tours have to miss because of time and size. Add this tour to your schedule and you will not be sorry!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    2
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
2 reviews
“Wonder and Informative Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Our first time at Chincoteague, Captain Dan's tour was recommended to us as one of the best ways to see the islands and get first-hand "local" information about the wildlife and history of the area -- and they were right! We had a great time. Captain Dan is a walking (and talking) library of information about the area: the ponies, area history, maritime history, you-name-it. His two-hour tour around Chincoteague gets you up close and personal with the island's most famous residents, and he even has a book of photos to help you identify which horse you're looking at. Dan knows when to back off the throttle to avoid a bumpy ride and salt spray over the bow, so you can enjoy sitting anywhere on his craft. When we go back, we're going to reserve another tour -- it's just a great way to relax and have even the most inaccessible areas of the island brought to you.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great Tour with Great Guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Just got back after a wonderful circumnavigation of the island with Cpt Dan. Saw a bit of the spring roundup of the ponies. The day was beautiful but quite cold, especially heading north from the Pier. Appreciated the heads up from Cpt Dan so I could dress more warmly than I would have otherwise. Enjoyed the commentary--very knowledgable and interesting. I recommend it highly and would love to go again, perhaps in the summer!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
“Captain Dan Respects Wildlife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Captain Dan gave copious amounts of information on the island, its history, its weather, and its ecological systems while being entertaining and politely unassuming. Captain Dan went above and beyond the time limit of our paid tour to maximize wildlife sitings while being cautious enough to respect wildlife, in particular maritime law regarding dolphins. I would highly recommend Captain Dan.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shillington, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A MUST DO!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My daughter and I visited Chincoteague over Spring break 2013. We had a wonderful time on the island and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. However, one experience stood out as extraordinary, that was Captain Dan's Island Tour. Dan immediately put everybody at ease with his friendly, outgoing personality; regaling us with interesting and knowledgeable information about the island. We had 2 of our family dogs on the trip, and were somewhat disappointed when we couldn't take them to Assateague Island refuge (no pet policy). Captain Dan more then made up for that by allowing us to bring our dogs on the boat! It was a blast. Thank you Captain Dan for a fantastic trip, it is a definite MUST DO!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Dan's Around the Island Tours also viewed

 

Been to Captain Dan's Around the Island Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Dan's Around the Island Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.