We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great & affordable seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crab Shack

The Crab Shack
6560 Maddox Blvd., Chincoteague Island, VA 23336
757-336-1880
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Description: Seafood restaurant featuring a variety of seafood baskets, complete with fries and slaw, steamed crabs and shrimp, kids menu, and outdoor seating. Come in and try our signature dishes and our amazing burgers. There is something for everyone.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great & affordable seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Loved the Crab Shack! We ordered the seafood potato skins and crab cakes; both dishes were delicious. The staff was very friendly and provided great service. Great place to eat without going broke!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    61
    28
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Acworth
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“ok but better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Bacon is NOT a standard ingredient in Clam Chowder and they never mention on the menu that it contains it - NOT COOL! Blue moon but no oranges. Outdoor seating but a bad septic smell. Potato skins were good but I wasn't impressed they went the extra distance to be memorable.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Very good place for after the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had the seafood potato skins and they were delicious. The clam chowder was great too except that it had pieces of bacon in it, which I don't eat. I wish they would have disclosed that ahead of time. The waitress was very nice and we sat outside. It was a great place to get lunch after the beach.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronceverte, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best seafood shack in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I had the steamer platter...which the flounder was too much for me. The screen room eating is unique and was nice! The varied seating options in neat.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“nothing out of the ordinary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our meal here was nothing to write home about. Service was good, but the food was just so so. Especially considering the prices. We ate for lunch - and the burger was the best thing ordered. Disappointing when you are near the beach and at a seafood restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crab Shack also viewed

 
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to The Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crab Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.