We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious soft shell crabs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crab Shack

The Crab Shack
6560 Maddox Blvd., Chincoteague Island, VA 23336
757-336-1880
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $22
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Seafood restaurant featuring a variety of seafood baskets, complete with hand-cut fries and slaw, steamed crabs and shrimp, kids menu, and outdoor seating.
Virgiinia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“delicious soft shell crabs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We got the soft crab dinner with fries and yellow squash and the fried shrimp basket with fries, puppies and slaw. Soft crabs were great, shrimp was also good. They need to forget the yellow squash as a "special", the only special thing about it was it's color. Fries were typical fries. If you like soft crabs, definitely stop by here, you can get it to go and the trolley stop is just across the street. Soft shell dinner, $18.99, shrimp basket, $12.99, sandwiches, crab cake, soft crab, flounder or oyster is $10.99 with pickle, fries extra $1.99-$2.99 each on them.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

58% Recommend
    32
    34
    22
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best burger on the island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

This is the best burger I have ever eaten in my life! (Shack burger) crab dip on a burger is just amazing... The interior decorations fit perfectly for the place. The service is outstanding and very attentive. I have also had the shrimp basket here before and it is also good! They are a good size shrimp the prices are reasonable. I will return again... And again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Poor service offset decent foood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We were seated and then ignored for 20 minutes. Apparently we had been forgotten. The food order, when finally taken, was incorrect (we got the fries we tried to avoid). The soft shelled crabs were quite good, but the service ruined the experience.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love the Crab Shank”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is a great lunch time restaurant. Always the food is delicious, and their is a decent selection if you don't want your food fried, though a lot of their choices are. All of their baskets come with hush puppies (which is awesome to me). Also they're located in a great spot where you can finish your lunch and then go go-karting or mini golfing afterwards. The time to get your food is a little long but the staff are friendly and attentive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, can't ask for much better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My hubby & I were driving up and down the street looking for a place to eat a late lunch. We actually drove past The Crab Shack, thinking we could find "something that wasn't seafood". After finding nothing, we turned around & decided to give The Crab Shack a try. Are we ever glad we did not choose another restaurant. OMG!!! We both ordered the Shack Burger. We have not had a burger that good in a lllooooonnnggggg time. Freshly made, hand-pattied burger, topped with crab dip, cheddar cheese and bacon. Absolutely delicious!!!!! And the service! Very good. I can't remember our waitresses name (sorry, I'm very bad with names) but she was so friendly. Very attentive (but not hovering)! Even told us because the burger was freshly prepared how long it would be. Trust me, it was worth the wait. We will definitely come back on our next visit!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crab Shack also viewed

Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to The Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crab Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.