We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have to go there!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woody's Beach BBQ and Eatery

Woody's Beach BBQ and Eatery
6700 Maddox Blvd., Chincoteague Island, VA 23336
4102519195
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Hamden, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Have to go there!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

No visit to Chincoteague would be complete without going to Woody's. 2 outdoor trucks to order from. The outdoor atmosphere was fun, a little bit hippie with laundry hanging between the trees, surf board for a table, giant tic tac toe, and hammocks. The pulled pork sandwiches delighted us. They were huge. We went back for lunch on another day and split a sandwich. We also had a salad one night from the other side and it hit the spot. It was late and they were closing up but were happy to serve us.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    154
    70
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just plain awesomeness!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This place by far was my favorite place to eat on the Chincoteague Island. I'm usually not a fan of BBQ or pulled pork but I had to try based on awesome reviews. We had pulled pork sandwiches one with vinegar one with out and "the duke" chicken sandwich which had huge piece of grilled chicken, bacon and pinapple sauce. We also got a bucket of regular fries which are just like boardwalk fries - fresh cut, and sweet potato fries which had this awesome honey glaze on them. The description says just like the pie without the crust and that is exactly what it tastes like. The pulled pork was very good and the side of bbq sauce was awesome - I widh the sold that by the gallon. They ran about $10 a sandwich and fries are separate but this place is well worth the money. We split sandwiches on the beach for a late lunch but wish we could have stayed there to eat. They have all outdoor seating, hammocks ect. A really cool themed area.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“1/2 closed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We were here on a Tuesday evening in the middle of June. It had looked like a fun place to eat, so we were looking forward to it. There are 2 food trucks- one BBQ and the other chicken. The surfboard tables, Adirondack chairs and tic tac toe tables are between them. Daughter like BBQ, husband chicken & I am a vegetarian, but the chicken truck advertised mac & cheese. Walk onto the property at 5:20 pm and they are closing the window on the chicken truck. Waited in line at the BBQ truck and asked if they had mac & cheese, they said no that's on the other side, told them the window was down and was told "I guess they are closed". No apology or offer to get anything from the other truck. Daughter ordered her sandwich (which she said was really good), hubby had fries and I walked across the street to get pizza. Hubby said at least 10 cars pulled up and were not happy that the chicken truck was closed so early. Good food, customer service- not so great.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food but expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

In the past we really enjoyed Woody's but as the menu has expanded and the prices have increased we are liking it less. The BBQ side is really good and more reasonable than the "other" side. Lunch at a takeout window for 3 was $50. The crab cake was loaded with filler and the shrimp tacos were fresh but only had several small shrimp for $11.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food, confusing service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The food was great. I had delicious, crispy skinned fried chicken and my husband had a yummy barbecue chicken sandwich with pineapple and "yum yum" sauce. However, we did not realize that Woody's is actually two separate service areas on opposite sides of the parking lot. It seemed one side had more typical BBQ offerings like ribs, pulled pork and fried sides, while the other was more chicken and seafood themed. We enjoyed our food, but I think it would have been nice to have a sign posted to let people know there are other choices, or at least some place to view the full menu in one place.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woody's Beach BBQ and Eatery also viewed

 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Woody's Beach BBQ and Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woody's Beach BBQ and Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.