We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be sorry” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woody's Beach BBQ and Eatery

Woody's Beach BBQ and Eatery
6700 Maddox Blvd., Chincoteague Island, VA 23336
4102519195
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Won't be sorry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We drove by Woodys and almost didnt stop. It looked like just a couple of trailers to us. I'm glad we decided to stop and check it out. Very good barbeque sandwiches. If you like BBQ you won't be sorry.if you stop and order there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    154
    70
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pa.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“"California Dreaming"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Woody's is located within walking distance of the Refuge Inn, and my wife and I rode our bikes to this hodge podge of surfboards, VW van with a board on top, old soda cooler with real glass bottles and caps that you had to remove with a real bottle cap remover attached to the cooler and basically just cool nautical stuff everywhere. The real attraction is the food. We both had a craving for BBQ chicked, and this little place filled the bill. The meat just fell off the bones and their "soon to be famous sauce" was awesome. The cole slaw is home made as well as the baked beans. For dessert we enjoyed the banana cream pudding---great! This little spot will definitely be on our list on our next visit to the island.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best BBQ at the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Don't let the prices put you off - not only is the food excellent (haven't had anything that wasn't great!) but the portions are generous. Personal favs are the Memphis and loaded fries. If you are at the best beach town on the east coast, you've got to go to Woody's!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
351 reviews 351 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
447 helpful votes 447 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The first time we drove by Woody's we said to ourselves "What the heck is that!?" A mob scene around a couple of Christmas-lit trailers. It turns out it was Woody's, home of some of the best BBQ around. Chicken and ribs are also available but we focused on the mammoth BBQ sandwiches coming in a variety of flavors. If you order fries, order at least one size smaller than you think you'll need because all portions are huge.

Only reason Woody's didn't get a five star review is because they don't have a bathroom. Not even a port-a-potty. :(

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Excellent bar-b-q sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I thought the price was high for a bar-bq sandwich (7.99), but the sandwich was big, filled with meat and delicious! It came with no sides but you could order those separately.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woody's Beach BBQ and Eatery also viewed

 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Woody's Beach BBQ and Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woody's Beach BBQ and Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.