We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homemade Ice Cream!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Creamery

Island Creamery
6243 Maddox Boulevard, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336
757-336-6236
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Dessert, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Homemade Ice Cream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This is the place we were waiting for on the trip.
Very good. The midweek time we were there and they had a line out the door.
Well worth the visit.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    963
    167
    42
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dulles, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“GREAT homemade ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Don't let the long lines scare you off!
There are so many flavors and specials to choose from that deciding upon what to order may take longer than expected. The servers are both patient and generous when it comes to filling each order. An ice cream treat from the Island Creamery is the perfect ending to a summer day.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurmont, Maryland, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Never pass it by”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

There are so many choices. My favorites are iced nirvana and also coffee flavor. My son doesn't eat ice cream so he gets a bag of waffle cone pieces. He would like them to offer homemade cookies for those who don't like ice cream.

I believe we visit Island Creamery almost every day we are here. YUM!!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Went twice in one day!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

OK, eating here twice was an accident, but I was so sad by my dinner at Steamers next door I had to make up for it!!! My son and I stopped in after lunch and were pleasantly surprised by this find - everything made in house and the smell knocked us off our feet as soon as we walked in! I had the Snickers cheesecake scoop and fell in love!! Serving sizes are huge!! Single scoop is MORE than enough for the average person - now on to the fudge, which my son had - delightful and soooo many flavors!! As with the ice cream, you may sample as much as you want and service with a smile!! After dinner next door later in the day, I had a scoop a cake batter - wow, wow, wow!!! My husband had a milkshake and he loved it!! Of course, my son had to have more fudge!! This place is awesome!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious Ice Cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The ice cream was amazing! We all loved it. It was packed when we got there but they handled the crowd well and the wait wasn't too bad.

I was only disappointed in the waffle cone - too crunchy for me. I was hoping for a thinner waffle cone but it was quite thick and crunchy like a cookie. Otherwise we loved everything.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Creamery also viewed

Chincoteague Island, VA
 
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Island Creamery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Creamery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.