We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dove Winds

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chincoteague Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dove Winds
Save
You added Dove Winds to your Saves list
7023 Maddox Blvd., Chincoteague Island, VA 23336   |  
Hotel amenities
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Once again I had a remarkable stay at Dove Winds. Three of my adult children and 6 of my grandchildren also came. We rented the 3-bedroom cottage and 2 mini-townhouses. This gave everyone plenty of room and we all gathered in the cottage for family meals, games and movies. The units are so well kept up. When we arrived they were spotless and everything was working perfectly. A bathroom light burned out while we were there and it was fixed right away. The kids all enjoyed the pool and the adults enjoyed the hot tub. A wonderful visit with everything we could have asked for. Many thanks to the whole staff!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for a long weekend this Summer to spend time together and enjoy the Wildlife Park, outdoor sports and beach. We scored more than expected with a mini townhouse at Dove Winds. It's located very close the the Park, you can actually walk or rent bikes two doors down. The townhouse is basic with comfortable beds and easy layout. It's really clean and quiet. There's great restaurants also within walking distance, outdoor BBQ, ice cream, cafes and a fun gift shop next door. Stay here is you want a peaceful stay close to the Park. The staff could not have been more accommodating and pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewerton, New York, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

When we start making vacation plans for Chincoteague, the very first step is to find out the availability at Dove Winds. We enjoy our stays there so much, there really isnt any other option. Tom, Mary Anne and their staff welcome you when you sign in, and are constantly looking to make your stay the best it can be. The facility is white glove clean, and the staff is genuine when they ask if there is anything they can do to make your stay better. If there are any issues at all, the staff is there pronto to remedy whatever needs to be attended to.
Each unit has everything you could ask for. they are well equipped and are constantly upgraded. there is plenty of room in each townhouse, making you as comfortable as possible.
You cant beat the location, its perfect! Dove Winds is just minutes from downtown and shopping, or a quick bike ride to the beach.
The Daisey's really go above and beyond to make your vacation the best it can be. It's a perfect place to stay when you are on vacation. We have stayed at Dove Winds for more years than I can remember. I really dont see how any other accomodations can stack up to Dove Winds. Tom and Mary Anne are wonderful hosts.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

The Dove Winds is the perfect place to stay for families. It's not really a hotel, but mini- townshouses. Each have 2 bedrooms and two baths, a living room, and full kitchen. This gives you so much more privacy and flexibility than hotel rooms. The indoor pool and hot tub are fabulous and it's super close to the seashore. The owner's are the nicest people and will do anything for you. It is incredibly clean and has barbeques, bike racks picnic tables for you to use. We go back every year. Some fun shops and eating places have opened across the street making it even more convenient.

Room Tip: All the mini townhouses are the same!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

My family have been visiting Chincoteague for 14 years, I have for over 30. I have stayed at other accomondations on the island, but Dovewinds has exceeded my hospitality expectations. Their rooms are always clean, kitchens are always usable with working appliances and utencils, cutlery, and dinner service (plates). maintenence is always on site, the pool and hottub are clean and working. The atmostphere is cheery and kid friendly. We enjoy staying there, and they have been able to accomondate reasonable needs with ample call ahead time.
They are a blessing to their guests.
Pgh family
ps see you (again) in two weeks!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Delaware
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

we were pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness and comfort of the three bedroom cabin at this property. It was very roomy and had everything we needed for the kids ages, 6,9 and 8 months. The pool was clean and open until nine in the evenings during the off season. I had the pleasure of meeting the owner who was very nice. He wanted to know how we liked the place and told us to come again! Not like some of these property owners who care only about getting you in and out. We will definately go back! I highly recommend Dove Winds!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We have stayed at Dove Winds for 5 years now. Our granddaughter loves it! After spending several hours at the beach, she goes to the indoor pool and swims to her hearts' content. We would not stay anywhere else! Plenty of room for a family of four. I love the kitchen and the fact that we can cook some of our meals. The units have always been very clean and everything functional. The owners are very helpful with information re: dining, sights, etc.

Room Tip: We are in a townhouse and have never had any problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dove Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Winds

Address: 7023 Maddox Blvd., Chincoteague Island, VA 23336
Location: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Dove Winds Hotel Chincoteague Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dove Winds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.