We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun summer ice cream” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mister Whippy

Mister Whippy
6201 Maddox Blvd., Chincoteague Island, VA 23336
757-336-5122
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $4
Cuisines: Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dessert
Description: 97% Fat Free Soft Serve Ice Cream, Sorbet, Milk Shakes, Sundaes, Cyclones, Specialty Sundaes, Snowballs, and much more. Check out our gift shop for your favorite Mister Whippy souvenir, or try our drive thru for speedy service!! Open daily, Hours vary.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fun summer ice cream”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stopped here for some rootbeer floats. Fairly good soft ice cream (I've had better); but for someone with certain food allergies, it's a safe place to go.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    94
    45
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Too Melty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stopped here and went through the drive through. I got their version of the blizzard banana split flavor. It was very melty and was more like a milkshake then a blizzard.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place to drive-through for a treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

My family stayed in Chincoteague Island for a week, and we really wanted to check out the Island Creamery, but there was never a good time since our son was usually due for a nap or bedtime when we were ready to grab ice cream. Since Mr. Whippy's has a drive-through, we got to go there twice and get ice cream on the go.

The service is quick and convenient, and the ice cream is very good! I had a s'mores cyclone the first time, and a twist cone with rainbow sprinkles the second time. Portion sizes are VERY generous, so the cone was a little messy, but worth it. I love soft-serve so I enjoyed Mr. Whippy's and would definitely recommend it for a drive-through treat!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchester, va
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

All I had was a blueberry shake but it was superb. My wife had a red raspberry shake and equally enjoyed it. We actually ended up going back a second time just to order the same thing.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessup, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Mister Whippy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Mister Whippy's has been a regular place for us to get ice cream every time we are on the Island. We love Mister Whippy's! The service is great, and ice cream is fantastic.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mister Whippy also viewed

Chincoteague Island, VA
 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Mister Whippy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mister Whippy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.