We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to nature” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge

Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge
Chincoteague Island, VA 23336
757-336-6122
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Hiking, Viewing wildlife, Birdwatching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Uncrowded wildlife refuge managed by the US Fish and Wildlife Service.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Back to nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We rode our bikes here., the paths were great and there were many trails. Lots of bird life and we saw one fox squirel. The visitor center was very nice and definitely worth the stop. Of course seeing the ponies is everyones wish...not all are fortunate to see as they roam in very big areas (500 acres)...We were lucky only because we walked out the service trail about 3 miles. Then we came accross the ponies who walked right up to us. It was a little intimidating since we just left the visitor center that warned not to feed or pet them as they can be aggressive. We took lots of photos., there was probably 7 or 8 of them there, including one pinto. Just beautiful and very healthy looking. Hightlight of our day in this awesome place.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    772
    149
    27
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful refuge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Well maintained, lots of water fowl and of course the Chincoteague ponies. Great view from the Assateague Island Lighthouse

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toms river
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“a wonderful park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

we were there in October, so didn't get to enjoy the beach. Saw the Chincoteague ponies and the Delmarve squirels, which was the main reason for going.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Incredible birding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Wonderful welcome center, with knowledgeable and kind staff and beautiful displays. The birding is fantastic!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
359 reviews 359 reviews
179 attraction reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
466 helpful votes 466 helpful votes
“Ponies!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

OK, we'll admit, we were a bit ponycentric on our trip to Chincoteague. Ponies, ponies, ponies! But there is a lot of wonderful wildlife in the refuge and it all very accessible.

Don't pass up a bike ride. Rentals are very inexpensive if you won't bring your own.

Just make sure you dose up on insect repellent as the bugs get a little rough in certain areas. Especially getting to and from the lighthouse!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.