We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Chester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites Chester to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Chester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2406 West Hundred Road, Chester, VA 23831   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Chester
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We come to this area every few months to visit an ill relative and we always stay here. Because this is long drive for us and is tough visit overall for my son, we especially appreciate the pool, hot tub and free breakfast. There is a closer Country Inn & Suites but we always choose this one because of the pool. It is also nice after a long, cold drive in some bad weather conditions, to walk in to an inviting entry room with a cozy fireplace and free cookies and coffee. The staff always make us feel welcome. Rooms are cozy and clean. The bed was a little hard for my taste but overall pretty comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Become a club Carlton member to receive the email specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Chester, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear bluebrick_chick,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments about the hotel. We are sorry for the circumstances that bring you to Chester. We are glad that we can accommodate you though. Thank you for your comments and we will pass them on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. thank you so much for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Chester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    47
    16
    13
    1
See reviews for
81
18
9
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Double reviews are a little repetitive, so I'll make this one short and sweet- we came back, we LOVED it, we will be back again. The Christmas decorations were so pretty. The staff is always amazing- I had the pleasure of being helped by Amanda and Mercedes this time around and both ladies, who it seems have been with the hotel for a while (which is a good sign) are so helpful and caring and knowledgable about the surrounding area. We have been recommending this hotel to all of our friends who travel north/south on I-95. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Entrance is hard to find so you have to slow down and look for it after getting off the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Had family visit last week. Mercedes helped make there stay comfortable, by assuring room was in good shape. The rooms were clean and neat. There is breakfast in the mornings. Breakfast has eggs, oatmeal, orange juice, lemonade juice, apple juice, sausage, waffles, potatoes, muffins, coffee, bagels, and more.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Chester, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear tpeters919,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We are so glad we could accommodate you! Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate all of your comments about the hotel. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Chester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend. Room and public areas were always very clean. Pool was wonderful. Good size pool, Heated and open late which was a real plus.
Would go here again if in the area. Staff was helpful and friendly.
You have to watch for the entrance sign so you don't pass up the driveway. This made for a quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Chester, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear sylvia892,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your feedback regarding your stay. Thank you for all of your great comments. We will pass them on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. We are so glad we could accommodate your long weekend. Thank you for staying with us. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Chester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Second time I stayed here this year. Four days in April, and ten days this time. First trip was very impressive and clean. Place is fairly clean, except for at the entrance and the carpets in the dining area. You have to go through a smoker's haven to get inside. You can't sit outside if you don't smoke, as both sides with chairs were set up with smokers in mind. No consideration at all for the people that do not smoke nor want to be around it.Very unappealing also, are the hundreds of cigarette butts throughout their landscaping even though they put receptables for the grossly discourteous smokers.

Food for breakfast is passable, but my wife and I noticed that the nice plates, real silverware, real glasses, and regular coffee cups we have been accustomed to at Carlson Inns were non existent for most of our stay. I found out that it looks like they use the styrofoam plates, plastic forks, plastic disposable cups, and regular salt and pepper shakers when they are not expecting an inspection from the Carlson Quality control folks. I found out they were expecdting an inspecttion and the real stuff showed up for a few days, then back to normal with the lesser desired items.

The other issue was the parking situation as their parking lot is full of very large CSX railroad vehicles. The day we arrived, just one of the CSX vehicles took up nine parking spaces. This morning there were at least close to ten of the railroad vehicles parked in the lot. If you come back in the evening it becomes very hard to even find a parking space in their lot.

The location suited our needs these two trips, and even though it looks like quality has declined a bit, we would probably use this facility again when we need to stay in this area..

Room Tip: Third floor is usually a little quieter, but you have to pay an extra $5.00 per night for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Chester, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for providing us with this review. We take guest feedback very seriously. We have contacted this guest regarding this matter to try to rectify this matter. We are always looking for better ideas to make our breakfast service better however, at this time our breakfast service is up to the Country Inn Standard. We appreciate guest feedback. Thank you so much for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

The place is pretty nice as far as room space and comfortable bed. Front desk staff are very polite and helpful. The breakfast leaves much to be desired, as in somewhere else for breakfast. Do not park your car near grass on cutting day because it will be all over your vehicle. I had hair on shower wall for two days! It looked like an ape was taking a shower in it. No it was not mine. Tried to talk to housekeeping but they did not understand English.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We weren't sure we would be staying in Chester, but we were pretty sure. I checked the on line reviews and the rates with the 800 # and we liked what we saw. Our trip ended up putting us in Chester around check in time, so we decided to stop. We loved walking into this beautiful entryway, the clerk was very helpful, but then we found out the rate quoted on the internet was less than what she quoted us on site. We were told that the quoted rate thru the 800# was not always the same as the rate directly at the hotel. This didn't settle well with us, but we decided to stay anyways.
The room was very clean, the beds, pillows and chairs were super comfy. And the breakfast was perfect. If it wasn't for the rate difference, this would be a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Chester, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Walker1021,

Thank you so much for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your thoughts and concerns. We apologize about your concern about the rate you received. We would like to tell you that rates, room types, and availability change all the time. The best way to receive the best rate is to either book your rate online, or directly with the hotel. We are sorry for any inconvenience this has caused you. Thank you for telling us about your room and breakfast. We will pass these comments on to our staff. Thank you for staying with us. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Chester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Chester

Address: 2406 West Hundred Road, Chester, VA 23831
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Family Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Chester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Inn & Suites in Chester, VA, is centrally located to downtown Richmond and many major attractions. We are just 45 minutes to Williamsburg and Bush Gardens. King Dominion is located just 35 miles north from the hotel. Fort Lee Military base is located minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Chester Hotel Chester
Country Inn And Suites Chester
Chester Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Chester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.