We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frequent business traveler, very happy with this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Richmond Chester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Richmond Chester to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Richmond Chester
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2001 West Hundred Road, Chester, VA 23836   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Frequent business traveler, very happy with this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I chose this hotel after trying several others. The price is quite reasonable. The hotel is clean, safe, quiet and convenient. Colonial Hills shopping and restaurants 7 miles south, downtown Richmond 15 miles north. Lovely Henricus park is 5 minutes from the hotel. Lots of restaurants within 2 miles: Cracker Barrell, Logan's Roadhouse, Chipotle, Chili's and a bunch of non-chain restaurants. Also, a big Kroger for food and Kmart for anything else. Best thing about this hotel is the staff: Lawana, Davion and Marissa at front desk are always pleasant and helpful. I feel very welcome and appreciated, and that is a nice feeling to get great customer service after a long day at work. Thank you very much!

Room Tip: All rooms are clean and quiet. I even stayed across from the elevator for a week, and I was surpris...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy P, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Richmond Chester, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words and for staying with us. We greatly appreciate the fact that you have been happy with the service we offer and assure you of the same superior service at all times. We strive hard to keep up the 'Marriott' standards and culture and look forward to have and serve you whenever you stay with us. Looking forward to see you back. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    39
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
44
19
8
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our group didn't arrived until 2 am, but we quickly got the rooms. The wifi was free and fast, which was good for 100 middle school kids! My room was on ground floor, or technical the basement, but was great because we were near the stairs and we could get breakfast quickly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy P, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Richmond Chester, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. We always try to extend the best of our services for all our guests, be it night or day. We are happy to know that we were able to serve you and meet your expectations with our impeccable service. Thank you for staying with us - take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

It did not take long to notice how friendly the staff was at this Courtyard Marriott; when I walked in, multiple employees were overly willing to assist me. Customer service is essential and I was amazed by how comfortable the staff made me feel. Acquiring a room was effortless. The lady at the front desk did her job exceptionally well. Even when I was not at the front desk, employees that passed by me made sure to ask if I needed any assistance. I will never forget this because employees at the Ritz-Carlton and the Marriott World Center in Florida paid me no attention. Compared to those two high end hotels, the customer service was by far better at this Courtyard Marriott. Once prom ended, I went back to the hotel to find a gigantic room waiting for me and my company. This put an enormous smile on my face. The room was absolutely perfect! The view from my balcony couldn't have been better. My night was magical thanks to this amazing hotel and its amazing staff.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy P, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Richmond Chester, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We are happy to know that you had a great night's stay, especially after your PROM. We all here at the 'Courtyard' are grateful for your kind words and for staying with us. We are excited to know that we were able to make your night a memorable one, and the fact that we were able to meet your expectations. We promise to extend the same warm and hospitable atmosphere whenever you stay with us in the future. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stay at this hotel a lot of times. When we checkin late in the evenings, John was and is always very helpful to us. Lawanna is very nice and takes time to talk with the customers. We have never had a bad issue at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester2013, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Richmond Chester, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We are very happy to know that you always enjoy your stay with us. Yes, we do have great employees who always love to be out there and go the extra mile to take great care of our valued guests! We all at the 'Courtyard' Marriott promise you of our superior service by keeping our standards high, as always. Thank you very much for staying with us - take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel staff is excellent and the location on I95 is both convenient to FT Lee and Richmond. I have been staying here weekly on business for about 1.4 years and have always received excellent service. Having stayed at most of the Marriot properties in the area over the last five years; Marriott downtown, Marriott West, Courtyard out in Glen Allen. This Chester Courtyard would be my recommendation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester2013, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Richmond Chester, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words and for staying with us. We greatly appreciate the fact that you have been happy with the service we offer and assure you of the same superior service at all times. We strive hard to keep up the 'Marriott' standards and culture and look forward to have and serve you whenever you stay with us. Looking forward to see you back. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
209 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay just south of the Richmond area. The staff were friendly and the rooms were very clean. Comfortable beds and reasonable rates. We'll definitely be back to this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester2013, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Richmond Chester, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Awesome! We are all so happy to hear about the great stay you had here at our Courtyard 'Marriott'. I thank you for your kind words and was very happy to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay and our hospitality. We all look forward to have you and serve you again. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed with our team during a recent soccer tournament. Although food at bistro may seem over priced they usually had very good portion sizes and when you compare it to having to leave the hotel and go wait some where the extra really wasn't so bad. Half our team decided to eat dinner there one night. Pizza was very good and potstickers were awesome. Kids meals were a good bargain for the amount of foods. Breakfast sandwiches were huge. Rooms were clean and open, not huge but my family of 2 adults 3 children and all our stuff were fine...my youngest was thrilled to sleep in the chair with the ottoman. Lobby area was roomy and provided a great gathering area for our teams. Construction in front of hotel made coming and going a little difficult at times but very manageable. Lots of stores and restaurants close by. Too chilly at the beginning of March to enjoy the outdoor patio area, but liked the idea. Only negative, indoor pool chlorine smell was extremely strong causing everyone to cough and kids couldn't stay in long at all...should have addressed with management but honestly just didn't take the time to do so. Honestly, an all around good value.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy P, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Richmond Chester, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. We always try to extend the best of our services for all our guests, be it night or day. We are happy to know that we were able to serve you and meet your expectations with our impeccable service. Thank you for staying with us - take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Richmond Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Richmond Chester

Address: 2001 West Hundred Road, Chester, VA 23836
Location: United States > Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Richmond Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Richmond Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Richmond Chester Hotel Chester
Courtyard Chester
Chester Marriott
Chester Courtyard
Courtyard Richmond Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Richmond Chester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.