We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Richmond Chester

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Richmond Chester to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Richmond Chester
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2001 West Hundred Road, Chester, VA 23836   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Chester
Virginia
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great location and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay just south of the Richmond area. The staff were friendly and the rooms were very clean. Comfortable beds and reasonable rates. We'll definitely be back to this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester2013, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Richmond Chester, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Awesome! We are all so happy to hear about the great stay you had here at our Courtyard 'Marriott'. I thank you for your kind words and was very happy to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay and our hospitality. We all look forward to have you and serve you again. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    28
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
37
15
7
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed with our team during a recent soccer tournament. Although food at bistro may seem over priced they usually had very good portion sizes and when you compare it to having to leave the hotel and go wait some where the extra really wasn't so bad. Half our team decided to eat dinner there one night. Pizza was very good and potstickers were awesome. Kids meals were a good bargain for the amount of foods. Breakfast sandwiches were huge. Rooms were clean and open, not huge but my family of 2 adults 3 children and all our stuff were fine...my youngest was thrilled to sleep in the chair with the ottoman. Lobby area was roomy and provided a great gathering area for our teams. Construction in front of hotel made coming and going a little difficult at times but very manageable. Lots of stores and restaurants close by. Too chilly at the beginning of March to enjoy the outdoor patio area, but liked the idea. Only negative, indoor pool chlorine smell was extremely strong causing everyone to cough and kids couldn't stay in long at all...should have addressed with management but honestly just didn't take the time to do so. Honestly, an all around good value.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy P, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Richmond Chester, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. We always try to extend the best of our services for all our guests, be it night or day. We are happy to know that we were able to serve you and meet your expectations with our impeccable service. Thank you for staying with us - take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Quick and easy check-in, has free Ethernet in room, clean and everything in good shape and working order, breakfast is good (free for me since my company has a negotiated contract with them). Great location, plenty of choices for restaurants and supermarket nearby. Workout facility is good: 2 treadmills, elliptical, and some dumbbells and a bench. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy P, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Richmond Chester, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Fantastic! We all love the fact that we have been able to meet all your expectations, and promise to keep up the good work! Thank you very much for staying with us and hope to see you again soon! Take care...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The front desk receptionist Lawana Baker, was very proffessional and accomidating. She made a great impression and made my stay very pleasant. I will definitely return in the near future due to her customer service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy P, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Richmond Chester, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words and for staying with us. We greatly appreciate the fact that you have been happy with the service we offer and assure you of the same superior service at all times. We strive hard to keep up the 'Marriott' standards and culture and look forward to have and serve you whenever you stay with us. Looking forward to see you back. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

At the front desk is Lawana Baker, a great Hostess. She is very inviting and always polite. She is just one of the reasons I come back to this hotel during my business trips to the Fort Lee area.

The hotel is fantasic with and eatery and bar that begs for your attention. Great hotel to stay for all type of pupose.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy P, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Richmond Chester, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
She is really awesome! Thank you very much for staying with us and we promise to take care of you as always! We work hard to keep up the 'Marriott' standards and expectations, and are very happy to know that you appreciate our efforts - hope to see you back soon - thank you and take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, NJ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Staying here with 34 high school robotics students. They have given us first class treatment. Rooms great, continental breakfast for our group included, provided space for team meetings and continually ask how they can help. Thanks to Indy Patel & crew for a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy P, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Richmond Chester, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. We all here at the 'Courtyard' appreciate the fact that we were able to serve you and make you all happy with the highest service standards that we strive to provide to each and every 'Marriott' guest. We greatly appreciate your team members gesture of being very caring and organized during their stay with us. Congratulations on having won the prize in the tournament and thank you very much for staying with us. We look forward to having you back with us soon! Good luck to you all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Driving from Ontario, Canada to Florida, the Richmond, VA area is a good place to break the long two day drive. Chester, VA, just a little south of Richmond, was our choice this time and it turned out to be very good. I like this chain - yes you pay for breakfast, but you get a better choice and better quality for breakfast. The room was lovely, great king bed, excellent service, and close to I-95. Woke rested and good-valued!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy P, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Richmond Chester, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and appreciating our facililty. We always try to keep up the standards and satisfy the expectations of our guests, and I assure you to take care of any shortcomings you may have found during your stay. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Richmond Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Richmond Chester

Address: 2001 West Hundred Road, Chester, VA 23836
Location: United States > Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Richmond Chester 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Richmond Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Richmond Chester Hotel Chester
Courtyard Chester
Chester Marriott
Chester Courtyard
Courtyard Richmond Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Richmond Chester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.