We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Richmond Chester

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Richmond Chester to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Richmond Chester
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2001 West Hundred Road, Chester, VA 23836   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #6 of 14 hotels in Chester
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

- We stayed here as a family of 4 for about a week. We had a room on the courtyard level (really the basement level). It was very nice! High ceilings, sliding door to the courtyard, the pool/spa and exercise room were just 2 doors down which was great for the kids!
- Parking is abundant and the hotel is just off of the interstate without being in a crazy busy area. There is a Walmart and other shopping amenities within a 5 minute drive.
- Another rater mentioned that their room was out-of-date and unkempt - mine was not. It was very nicely furnished with a flat-screen tv, pull-out couch, desk area and a small refrigerator. I can be a little paranoid if the room seems dirty but that was not the case in this hotel.

The only reason I knocked my rating down one was the fact that they offered free coffee but if you wanted something to eat there was food available for purchase. For the price paid to stay the hotel could at least offer something simple like an assortment of pastries/muffins and fruit to go along with the coffee.

Room Tip: Lower Level rooms allow you to walk straight out into the courtyard and are on the same level as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy P, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Richmond Chester, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
We are very happy to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay and our hospitality. We all look forward to have you and serve you again. Always at your service - take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    27
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
35
15
7
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hinesville, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I stayed here with my husband while I was at training at Ft Lee. The place was close to post and they offered military discount which was great because when I booked online they didn't. When I arrived, I spoke to the front desk and she dropped the price. The room looked exactly like it does on their website. It was clean and comfortable. They only bad thing; they are only close to 2 fast food restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I stayed at the Courtyard as they are usually a reasonable hotel. I first noticed that the elevator was filthy. The carpet has not seen an edge vacuum in years. My room, with dated decor,had a strong stale odor which did not diminish even with the door to the balcony open. I didn't complain or ask for another room as I was told when I checked in without a reservation this was the only room available. I left a glass on the nightstand with a small amount of coca-cola in it when I went to sleep. I awoke to the nightstand swarming with ants. Tried using the room phone to call the front desk, got only a busy signal. I got myself together and headed for the checkout. When I reported the ants, the woman at the desk first joked that the ants thought the coca-cola was a treat for them. Then she told me this time of year they can hardly stay on top of the problem and have the exterminator our every two weeks or so. For $149 a night, I don't want to stay in a room with pests.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

My family and I stayed at this hotel while driving down to Florida. We chose this location after first reviewing many of the others in the area and decided that this would be our best bet. Its very conveniently located off of 95 and is located near plenty of eateries and shopping. The front desk was pleasant and courteous and check in was quick. Overall the hotel was clean and to our liking, but I was as satisfied with our room. The room was spacious and comfortable, but the carpet definitely needs to be changed. There were large, noticeable stains all over the carpet and there was a foul odor on one of the beds. If we were going to stay here for more than a few hours for a quick layover I would have definitely requested that our room be switched. I would, however, stay here again and would recommend this location to other travelers.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hyde Park, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Hi. We stayed at the Courtyard Richmond Chester for a stopover while driving north. The hotel was 1 mins off I-95, so each on/off. We found the hotel via the I95 hotel coupon books you pick up at rest stops or gas stations, and as the hotel is in a business area, they had great weekend deals!
The hotel itself is a newer or renovated courtyard, with the updated public bar, restaurant, business area...very organized and clean! The room was also very clean, and bed very comfortable.
There were a few restaurants and shopping areas within a 5 mins drive or so

Overall a great place to stay if you just need to spend the night off of I-95. As we got to the hotel at 9pm and left by 9am, can't say much else in general about the area

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I stayed in a very reasonably priced suite with my wife and 6 year old child. The rooms were clean and very large with ample storage and counter space. While sparcely furnished, I appreciated the ability to easily move around the room including having a large suitcase open on the luggage holder and the sofa converted to a bed in the living room. The workout facility was top notch with individuals TVs on each piece of equipment and the pool was the most comfortable (warm) indoor pool I have experienced in any hotel. Unfortunately, the jets were not working in the hot tub. The large common area, easily accessible business area, free wireless access, and outstanding Bistro (including calorie counts!) will make this my regular place to stay when I return to the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah, Virginia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

When you walk in the lobby it is so clean and neat and bright. The bistro has a nice feel to it. The rooms are clean and fresh! It is so close to 95 and downtown Richmond!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Richmond Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Richmond Chester

Address: 2001 West Hundred Road, Chester, VA 23836
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Richmond Chester 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Richmond Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Richmond Chester Hotel Chester
Courtyard Chester
Chester Marriott
Chester Courtyard
Courtyard Richmond Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Richmond Chester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.