We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Sleepless Night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12711 Old Stage Road, Chester, VA 23831   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 14 hotels in Chester
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“What A Sleepless Night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Although the staff was very pleasant, we spent most of our overnight stay hearing trucks and other vehicles from the nearby interstate/highways. My other complaint was the breakfast - not the food but all the truckers hogging the area (we walked in at 6 A.M. ready to eat and hit the road). The tables are joined together by twos or threes. Unfortunately, it was common to see one trucker sitting at the middle table, occupying all the joined tables. The only place we could find to sit down was at the computer table, trying hard not to get any food or drink on the keyboard. Also, some of their conversations were a little spicy. Keep this in mind if you like to eat early.

Room Tip: When you check in, ask if your room is near the interstate/highways
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityInn340, Director of Sales at Quality Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guests, Thank you for taking the time review our Quality Inn with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
7
4
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

The hotel that I was originally headed for was over booked, so when I ended up at the Quality Inn I didnt have very high expectations. But, I was very pleasantly surprised. My sons loved the indoor pool, the king suite was perfect for us, and the hot breakfast was fantastic! I would definitely suggest this property to families with small children.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityInn340, Director of Sales at Quality Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest, Please accept a huge thank you from all of us here at the Quality Inn! We were so happy to hear you had such a great experience. It means the world to us to hear when we have had a success. All comments are worth reading and learning from, [especially the the good ones :) ] Thank you again and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We were passing through the area late night and needed a place to stay. We generally don't choose Quality Inns, but every single hotel off this exit was booked, this was the only one with availability. That turned us off, but it was after midnight and we couldn't be too choosy. The room was cheap, only $99.00. The beds were very uncomfortable, the sofa bed particularly so. When you laid on it, the mattress sunk right through the frame. The rooms weren't very big, only a narrow walkway to get around the beds once the sofa was opened up. There was a window seat which doubled as a bed, but it was filthy and had so many stains on it, we wouldn't even let our kids sit on it. The soda machines ate our money, but there was a decent selection in the snack machines.

Having arrived late, we were slow getting around in the morning and the front desk staff started harassing us exactly one minute after check out time. We got 3 calls to our room and someone knocking on our door. I understand we were running a little behind time, but surely one call was sufficient. We've never been so harassed when simply running a few minutes late upon checkout.

We'll not be back to this hotel and are sorry it was the only one with availability

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityInn340, Director of Sales at Quality Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to meet your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we used the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. Soon, a complete an extensive guest room renovation, inclusive of new carpeting, wall coverings and accessories so I think this will exclude the carpet that had a heavy odor. Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Chester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

ms.johnnisa was very helpful with everything i ask her polite and smile all hotel need front desk clerk like her . when hotel get good review on front desk clerk they should give them raise no matter the reason.

Room Tip: check in quality inn chester,va
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityInn340, Director of Sales at Quality Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
It is very encouraging for me and my team to receive positive feedback like yours. If your future travel plans bring you back to Chester, we will be delighted to serve you again. Kind regards from your Quality Inn family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

I stayed there a night with the family in February/2011, thought it was a good bargain, so when I ended up in the area again back in May, I went a little out of my way to stay there again. The staff was awesome, the place was clean & breakfast was good with one meat item included ( meat item changes from day to day). The indoor pool was pretty cold in February ,but I did not try it on the second visit in May. It seems to be in a convenient spot about 15 mins. south of Richmond. Both times I stayed there, I used coupons from one of the discount hotel booklets & stayed there for $50 +Tax

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityInn340, Director of Sales at Quality Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guests, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review after your stay our Quality Inn. With pleasure we read that you appreciated your stay and the services provided by our staff. Looking forward to your return visit. With best regards, from our family, to yours! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

It was race weekend in Richmond, but we needed a place to stay in Chesterfield. There hasn't been a review on this property in some time, but we took a chance since our choices were limited. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We did not try the indoor pool, however it was full of children having a great time.
At breakfast we were surprised to find a hot buffet which included eggs, pancakes, bacon, sausage, gravy, biscuits, home fries and more.
Our only complaint is a minor one--the entrance. There was no parking available for a convenient to check-in. Although we didn't mind this inconvenience, some travelers who are less mobile might find the entrance less than welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityInn340, Director of Sales at Quality Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guests, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review after your stay our Quality Inn. With pleasure we read that you appreciated your stay and the services provided by our staff. Please know we greatly value your support and loyalty and hope you consider the Chester, Quality Inn your home away from home when in the Richmond area. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEBRASKA
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
161 hotel reviews
Reviews in 197 cities Reviews in 197 cities
390 helpful votes 390 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2007

I'll begin by saying that I truly wonder if there is such a thing as an affordable, clean, and reasonably quiet hotel in the Richmond area with a working pool and laundry. We searched all over and this was the only place that was half ways close.
We came to this hotel after having a serious mix up at another Choice property in the area. The front desk staff was EXTREMELY unhelpful to its Choice Privileges members! We needed assistance with a reservation problem and received absolutely none. They refused to help us and told us to call customer service who put us on hold for hours and it eventually took weeks to straighten out the problem. We were basically told that if we wanted to pay for our room with points instead of money they were unwilling to help us. Therefore, paying customers were much more valuable than their club members.
Service was no where to be found here. Maid service was severely lacking. We had to get extra towels from the front desk everyday as we were never given enough. We also did not get new plastic cups, and the coffee pot was not cleaned during our stay. Even though we were in a non-smoking room our bedspread had an obvious cigarette burn in it and the underside was stained.
The free hot breakfast was rather small on Sunday but adequate the rest of the week. The breakfast room was way to small for the amount of guests in this hotel.
Our room contained a window seat which doubled as an extra bed. This was handy. The room however, did not have a table and chairs.
The hotel was convenient to the interstate and restaurants and was centrally located between Richmond and Petersburg area attractions.
Unfortunately, the National Softball team finalists were staying at this hotel during our stay which made all areas of the property noisy and crowded.
Overall we were disappointed with our stay, but unfortunately we could not find a more suitable hotel in the Richmond area.

  • Liked — central location
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityInn340, Director of Sales at Quality Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guests, I wanted to thank you for your very detailed review of our hotel. It will not only help future guests, but it helped us! We have always believed that travelling is a stressful endeavor, and if we are able to provide customer service that would lessen some of that stress, then we are on the right track. We have just finished our renovation project in the hotel lobby, and now, will start renovations into our guest’s rooms. I do apologize on the behalf of housekeeping! Our housekeeping staff does not normally preform in this manner, and that is why I have shared your comments with the housekeeping manager. We would like to have you stay at the property again to have a different experience and offered a 25% discount on the rate. I hope you decide to give our hotel a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 12711 Old Stage Road, Chester, VA 23831
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Chester
Chester Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.