We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Property has improved but has a way to go” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Chester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Chester to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Chester
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12810 Old Stage Road, Chester, VA 23836   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Chester
Chicago
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Property has improved but has a way to go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is a property where we have stayed previously and from the last experience from two years ago, they have improved the property in some respects. However, they do have some case good/furnishing issues which need addressed.

In short, this property is located about 10 miles South of Downtown Richmond and about 8 miles north of Petersburg, Virginia. It is located off of Route 10 in Chester, Virginia and is conveniently located to I-95.

The property has a very friendly staff at the front desk and housekeeping too. I don't have anything to go into great detail of information, other than if you seek a quality hotel in the Chester, Virginia area, I'm not sure there is one that would provide a better experience than the Homewood Suites. They can improve but then again, so can the Waldorf=Astoria, NY.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    47
    23
    11
    9
See reviews for
65
17
8
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raynham, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

After a long day's driving from Hilton Head, SC, walking in the front door we were met with the eloquent décor and extremely friendly and accommodating young lady at the check in counter. Our meal and the staff there were fun and made the evening enjoyable with great interaction and service. I would love to come back again and soon and enjoy the crab cakes. They were incredible!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was everything I expected. It's very clean, good size suites, great bed (down pillows and comforter), nice shower and hot breakfast. The staff was very friendly, and checkin was amazingly fast. Breakfast included make your own waffles, pastures, oatmeal, cereal, scrambled eggs, sausage, yogurt, fruit, and excellent coffee.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Being from the UK, I completely underestimated the overall driving distance from Albany NY to Durham NC and so, when I got as far as Chester VA, I needed to stop. Fortunately for me, I had a reservation at the Homewood Suites by Hilton.
Great location, superb parking, a very warm welcome at check-in even at close to Midnight, wonderful room, awesome shower and a terrific breakfast
At breakfast, I had the pleasure of meeting the hotel's Director of Sales whose personality clearly positively influences the excellent way that this hotel performs
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomons, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This Homewood Suites I've stayed at several times over the last 3 years. The location is very close to my business destination but the hotel is somewhat unpolished. My biggest issues with this hotel are: limited luggage carts for check-in/out, sparce fitness center and slow internet speed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Beach, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Pleasantly surprised by the size, furnishings and privacy. Quiet, never heard another guest. Breakfast was hot, eating area clean. Conference rooms are large but there is no bathroom on the second level, only negative. There are no in-room safes so left the expense camera home this time. We rec'd a very good rate because of the conference package. Definitely will be looking for the Homewood Suites name during other trips.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I came to this hotel after accommodations elsewhere were unsatisfactory. The staff immediately put me at ease and the hotel décor was lovely. The coffee/ breakfast was perfect. The rooms were extremely comfortable and spacious. This was only my second stay at a Homewood Suites but they've completely won me over. This will now be my hotel of choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Chester

Address: 12810 Old Stage Road, Chester, VA 23836
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chester
#6 Family Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Chester Hotel Chester
Homewood Chester
Chester Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Chester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.