We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the way, but OK.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Chester

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Chester to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites Chester
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12810 Old Stage Road, Chester, VA 23836   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #8 of 14 hotels in Chester
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Out of the way, but OK.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed for a business trip. Nothing fancy about this place or the location. The town is actually quite a dump with no good places to eat. The hotel is OK, conference room was nice and the lobby area was clean. Food was generic buffet and nothing to write home about. The room was very spacious though and very comfy sleeping. This was about a 15 minute drive into downtown Richmond which has way better restaurants and bars to go to. Stay away from Chester, VA restaurants!

Overall an average hotel with average accommodations. Would not be back just because of the location.

Room Tip: Don't eat at local restaurants. The local mall was SCARY!!! If you conceal carry for safety (we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    35
    18
    9
    9
See reviews for
46
14
8
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Rooms very nice and spacious. Even the complimentary meals are great. Only a 1/4 mile from I-95, has indoor pool and spa, a basketball court, & very nice equipped fitness room. Only negative is plumbing noise from neighboring rooms, but overall a great value for the $$.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Iowa, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Upon arrival I was greeted by pleasant reception staff who were willing to change my room preference to a suite with a whirlpool tub. That was the best feature of my entire stay, so relaxing. The water from all sources was always hot which was nice. My issues were with a slow moving toilet, a broken lamp switch, a BR television that had audio without picture, and lastly it took 3 trips once to get a room key that worked. With the exception of the lamp, all were remedied by the 2nd night of my stay.

Room Tip: I had a room at the end of the hall which was very quiet on the backside of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I'm a big fan of Homewood Suites but this time I was disappointed. 3 nights for a wedding and family reunion and housekeeping was awful all 3 days. The room wasn't set up properly upon arrival which necessitated multiple trips to the front desk and the housekeeping room to collect necessities. The room wasn't cleaned at all the next day, but the manager came down that night and did it herself. Day 3 they left wet dirty washrags in the tub, emptied the dishwasher of dirty dishes which they left on the counter, still dirty. The manager gave us a free night. My only other comment is that the breakfast hot bar was pretty skimpy and not too tasty. Adequate, but not up to other Homewood Suites. They have a nice indoor pool and hot tub, a good exercise area. The front desk was friendly and efficient and very helpful. This is a really good location just south of Richmond. This is a pretty large hotel, 7 floors, and was not busy at all when we stayed there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel is great. The room was so comfortable, it was a home away from home for me after a tiring week. The breakfast was OK, and there were several choices to choose from. I had an omelette that was ok, but lacked taste. It was hot, though!

The accommodations are fabulous, and the staff was very accommodating and helpful!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The rooms are spacious. I had a week-end stay, so I did not get to experience the manager's nightly reception, but had an excellent breakfast with a large variety of hot and cold food options. Front desk staff is excellent and extremely helpful!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel for three weeks and it has been an extremely pleasant experience. The staff is very friendly and courteous. They all seem genuinely happy and interested in caring for your needs. What a refreshing difference from the sometimes surly nature of grumpy employees that often-times work in the service industry.

The rooms are very clean and the coffee is always fresh. I have found that if you have a minor maintenance or other issue, you only need to ask the front desk one time and it is immediately taken care of. I would rate the complementary breakfast as one of the best that I’ve experienced. It is apparent that they go out of their way to provide a different breakfast dish each day. The complimentary dinner that is provided Monday through Thursday is decent, filling and above all, complimentary. I would rate the food quality to that of a good cafeteria.
The indoor pool is clean and well maintained, as is the rest of the property. If the small fitness center isn’t enough for your workout, you can ask the front desk for a complimentary pass to a local full-size gym. What a great perk.

In summary, what a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Chester

Address: 12810 Old Stage Road, Chester, VA 23836
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Chester 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Homewood Suites Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Chester Hotel Chester
Homewood Chester
Chester Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Chester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.