We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quite hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Chester

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Chester to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homewood Suites Chester
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12810 Old Stage Road, Chester, VA 23836   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Chester
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice and quite hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

On our way from NYC to Myrtle Beach and back to NYC, we always stop over for the night at Homewood Suites. We are a family of 6. We rent the larger 2 bedroom suite. The service is excellent, the price is reasonable and location near the highway. They have a pool. Okay, the water is not very clear and looks dirty. Don't open you eyes, they will burn. My kids no longer want to use the pool, because even with goggles, they can't see anything under water. I hope management will do something about it. It is a good management and I know they read and listen to comments of clients. Breakfast is good and free. But, if it is busy, come early.
Every time we travel from NYC to Myrtle Beach, we will stop at Homewoods. We simply like it there.

Room Tip: All rooms are nicely located. Don't take a room close to a door, it makes noice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    42
    22
    10
    9
See reviews for
57
16
8
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed at the Homewood Suites in Chester for a family reunion. The hotel’s location was convenient to the family reunion events and priced to accommodate most budgets. The hotel had a pool, fitness center, meeting space, and offered free breakfast. The rooms were equipped with kitchens. For the price, it was, okay. The rooms were not particularly comfortable. Even though the hotel had a living, bedroom and kitchen area, it felt very cramped. In addition, the noisy air conditioning unit in the bedroom area of the suite made it hard to sleep. The tub in our bathroom was stained with rust. The free hot breakfast was not very good. The hotel served its purpose and was certainly not exactly terrible; it just wouldn’t be my choice for a stay in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, CA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I stayed here for 4 days while visiting my son at Fort Lee. there was lots of road construction in the area and it made it difficult to get in and out of the parking lot. This hotel is located behind two other hotels so it is a little tricky to find anyway. It is a quick 15 min drive to Fort Lee so the location was just right. I would have prefered to stay closer to the base but the prices near there are much higher. The hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly. My room was a one king bed suite which was fine. I liked that I had a full size refridgerator, I was able to go grocery shopping and get some food. They also offer breakfast and a mangers evening meal. I did have breakfast but not the evening meal. The breakfast was generic hotel food, the hot food did not look great to me so I opted for toast and juice. The pool area is small and the water seemed sort of dirty and cloudy. There is also a very small fitness area but we did not use this. One one complaint would be the air conditioners, they kick on and off all night long and it was so loud it would wake me up. It was very warm the days I was there so I didn't want to turn it off but it was annoying. The shower was also small and ackward. There was no tub just the shower and the way the shower head was postioned and the way the door was set up it was just strange. I am tall and normally showerheads are to low for me but this one was the opposite, it was very high. If you were smaller you might find it difficult. Overall my stay was fine. It was a good price for everything that I got. I highly doubt I will ever be back in the area, as my son is being transfered, but if I was back I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Ups: Great housekeeping people - nice, friendly, SERIOUSLY immaculate.
Downs: Attention to serious impact problems for guests in an EXTENDED stay properly.
Listed in 'IMPACT' order:
- Serious probs with TV (cable) for OVER 3 weeks (throughout entire hotel) - Sometimes UNWATCHABLE - Cuts out, pixellates, freezes every 15-20 min for up to 3 min at a time - (full disclosure - After multiple 'playing dumb' responses from front desk staff after multiple queries (same prob in different rooms)... when queried, hotel GM admitted serious probs with 'rent a movie' system installed and working it - but (a) this shouldn't take over 3 weeks to fix in (b) a Hilton property with fairly standardized, industrial strength media and IT systems management.)

Multiple exterior security doors broken (either completely unlocked or not room card functional for three weeks (various excuses).

Ceiling fan inop and loud heating/AC units (need maint to quiet them - in multiple rooms - annoying when trying to sleep, almost insignificant compared to TV and security door issues at this point).

Bottom Line - Here, at one of the nicer (and preferred) extended stay Hilton properties, we (frequent travelers, loyal Hilton travelers) are surprised to see this many probs at one property... "Other than that Mrs. Lincoln... how was the play?"

Nuff said. Hopefully next stay will be better (we are back here again for another work stay soon.)

Room Tip: AC units noisy during sleep hours - fairly uniform otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

A pleasant Hilton property. Everything went just fine, no problems. I had a spacious one bedroom suite for the cost of a single room in many other places. Lot's of room to relax. Definitely would stay there again.

Room Tip: Seven floors, I stayed on the third. However, there is no noisy activity in the area, so I suspect a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny_Dos_Santos, Manager at Homewood Suites Chester, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Homewood Suites Chester! Not only is guest satisfaction in our top priorities but to also have a great atmosphere that our guests can enjoy (recent renovations are tribute to that!). We are glad to see that you had a wonderful stay and we look forward to accommodating you again in the future.

Kind regards,



Daniel Dos Santos
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Room suite was nice and cheerful. Dining area was elegant. My only complaint was the pool area. Room was heated - pool water cold. Jacuzzi water was very hot. We could not stay in it longer than 5 minutes. They do not serve beer and wine as do the other Homewood suites on Mon-Thurs. Just in case someone was looking for that. They do serve dinner Mon-Thurs.

Room Tip: I like the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny_Dos_Santos, Manager at Homewood Suites Chester, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
BabsMansfield, thank you for taking the time out to review our hotel! We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. Here at the Homewood Suites Chester, we are always trying to find ways to improve; feedback like this, really helps us get a view from a different angle. Thank you again and hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,



Daniel Dos Santos
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LowerSwat
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for business, but was not overly impressed. The service was good, including a quick/ painless check-in by courteous staffers. Suite was large, but furniture seemed a bit dated. Showers were average. The fitness room had two treadmills (decent quality) and some medicine balls. I think there were a few other pieces of equipment as well. In retrospect, I guess this place was commensurate with the price tag.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny_Dos_Santos, Manager at Homewood Suites Chester, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for your stay with us at the Homewood Suites Chester! I apologize for any dissatisfaction that you had during your stay. With our recent renovations, we have made leaps and bounds on our product; as we are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience. Its great to hear that you had a splendid customer-service experience, as we always yearn to be as kind and accommodating as possible. Thank you once again and hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,



Daniel Dos Santos
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Chester

Address: 12810 Old Stage Road, Chester, VA 23836
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Chester 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Homewood Suites Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Chester Hotel Chester
Homewood Chester
Chester Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Chester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.