We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have asked for more” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13148 Kingston Avenue, Chester, VA 23836   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Chester
GreenLeadersSilver level
DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Could not have asked for more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

What a great surprise in this little area. Amenities were brand new, very comfortable and the bar and breakfast were a nice touch. Beds were really comfy rooms were big! The Mexican restaurant across the street was good too!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    32
    11
    9
    5
See reviews for
39
15
9
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Here for a wedding weekend, our room on the 4th floor, no. 424 to be exact. This was a standard room with two double beds, but it felt like a suite. The room had a large modular sofa and ottoman, flat screen TV on a swivel to be viewed from bed or from the sofa and desk. Marble countertops and a small fridge, no minibar. The bathroom was adequate and clean. The closet did not have a door, but it only faced the sink and served as a divider to the bedroom portion. The hotel had some partiers on our floor, but due to proximity they did not affect our stay, we only heard the noise when walking by that hallway. An icemaker was across from our door, however I never heard any disturbance from this. In the lobby they have a small Starbucks station and bar serving wine and beer. The hotel has self parking, a full free breakfast in the lobby and room service. There are no bellman services. I would return if I had a need in the area.

Room Tip: Corner room is larger and quieter than rooms near the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here overnight on our way to Disney World.

Karen was great at check-in and offered a brief tour - no one has ever done that for us before - nice personal touch!

Loved the king bed room layout - especially the large comfy "play pen" type couch.

Very convenient yet quiet location. Wawa's right next door and also two restaurants - one Chinese, one Mexican.

Will stay there again on our way back in a couple of weeks if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tappan, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My brother lives in Chester and this is the 2nd time we've stayed at this hotel. Again, it was clean, the staff was very friendly and it was conveniently located to everywhere we had to go. The breakfast was included and it was warm and delicious like the last time. I think the room could've been spruced up a little bit, but still, it was clean and very comfortable and accommodated 6 people comfortably, which we don't find very often without paying a fortune! Unless my brother buys a bigger house, we will definitely be staying at the Hyatt Place on our next visit to Chester!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We spent far too much time traveling on the highway, and I was quite tired. I had never stayed at a Hyatt Place before, and booked this one because it was the closest one to the Va/NC border. It was fantastic. The room was quite comfortable. Two doubles (no queens) but they were just fine. Room is spacious, with a separate living area with a very large sectional sofa, part of which is a queen sofa bed (largest bed in room, and also comfortable, especially for a sofa bed). I cannot figure out the reason one prior reviewer questioned the size of the bathroom. It was large with plenty of space for changing. The breakfast (free) may have been the best of any hotel chain -- huge, freshly prepared egg sandwiches, on whole grain, or croissants. One with bacon, one with mushrooms and veggies. Plus, all the other things usually found, but of high quality. Outdoor pool area was great as well, although was too tired to use it. But, my 17 year old loved the exercise/weight room. I will definitely look for Hyatt Places in other locations.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbelt, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Chose to stay at this property due to the quick access off of 295 and the fact that I wanted to get away for the weekend.

Although the hotel was packed, check in was a pleasant breeze and the staff took the time to explain the amenities and offer recommendations to area restaurants. The hotel lobby was clean, the elevators were quite efficient and although the hotel was packed, the noise level heard in the rooms was quite low.

The rooms are quite spacious and I like the separation between the bedroom and sitting area as well as the fridges in each room. The channel selection and HD TV made for a good weekend in.

The Chinese restaurant around the corner is quite economical and the food was great. (The House Special Fried Rice is a must!!)

The only problem I had was with the housekeeping staff and communication with the front desk. I was given a 2 pm Check out and at 11 am, noon and 1 pm the Housekeeping staff both banged on my door and called the room to ask when I was leading. Normally this is not a problem the first time, but by the third time I was livid. Upon checking out, I had the chance to discuss this with management, received an apology, was present when the manager reprimanded the housekeeping manager and front desk representative and received a full refund for my stay.

Great Property with management that understands what it means to strive for great customer service!

Room Tip: High floor corner room the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, NJ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We recently stayed here for a night. The experience was not as good as I expected from Hyatt brand. The staff was friendly but not enough of them were probably around for the size of the hotel. For any housekeeping request we had, they asked us to go down and pick it up ourselves. The AC in the room was not temperature controlled but rather an On/OFF type noisy unit. Additionally, the noise from the outdoor pool was reaching clearly to our third floor room (can't complain about people using the pool..they were just having a good time). On a positive note, the room size was good, bedding was no problem and everything else seemed well maintained. The hot breakfast was also good although the small kitchen was very busy in peak morning hours when we went there. Right next to the hotel parking lot, there is a good mexican restaurrant (Jalapenos) that we tried and there was one more (chinese). No need to travel far for food.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester

Address: 13148 Kingston Avenue, Chester, VA 23836
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#4 Family Hotel in Chester
#5 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester Hotel Chester
Hyatt Place Chester
Hyatt Chester
Chester Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.