We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13148 Kingston Avenue, Chester, VA 23836   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Chester
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“good hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

just what it should be no more or no less, just weak breakfast but hyatt place is not what you want for breakfast anyway. just a good cheap hotel with good service.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    38
    12
    10
    5
See reviews for
42
18
11
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

This Hyatt has generally all the things you need but the noise from the indiviidual fan and AC in each bedroom will cause you pause. I don't know that there is anything that can be done about it but to change the type of cooling/heating device.
The coffee is terrible------supposed to be Starbucks, but tooo bitter and weak. The rest of the Continental breakfast is fine.
The bathroom has poor lighting, granted it is only a tub/shower and toilet but still it would be nice to have had some light in the shower. The sink is outside that room where the light is better at least.
To get to the outside pool you have to walk past the AC units and the smoking employees.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011 via mobile

Couch not in room as described. Removed by management for there personal reasons. I was stuck with a room without the sofa bed that I needed. Given comp breakfast coupons to make up for the couch but no one was there to make breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We arrived at this hotel after spending the day at Kings Dominion. It was a huge room with 2 beds and a seperate area with a couch and desk. The beds were great. Didn't check out the pool or breakfast, as we ate next door at Wawa. I would definitely return to this location at a later date.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights while in town for a regional softball tournament. We were one of two teams staying at the hotel so the staff had their work cut out for them. The best thing about this hotel are the huge rooms! We had a family of 4 staying in our room and we had more than enough room. At times we had up to 7 softball players in our room and it still didn't feel crowded. The beds were very comfortable with plenty of bottom sheets and blankets. My older slept on the pull out couch and she said it was very comfortable as well. The flat screen movable TV was great too. As far as the staff, it was hit or miss. We had a few encounters with staff members that went out of their way to be helpful and were extremely polite and courteous. One gentleman was so kind to help our team find a local laundrymat and one of the desk attendents even took part in our kids scavenger hunt around the hotel. But there were also times that I stood in line at the front desk for over 15 minutes to try to get change for the washing machine. Also, one morning we had our Do Not Disturb sign on the door and the front desk called our room to tell us if we wanted new towels, we had to take our sign down. The call woke up my daughter who had been up until midnight the night before playing in a softball tournament. The free breakfast isn't much. Holiday Inn Express offers a much better free breakfast. It was basically cereal, bagels, toast, yogurt, and juice. We had a family in our group who had no hot water in their room and had to be moved but we had no problems wih that in our room. Overall, our stay was adequate and I know it can't be easy having 24 eight year old softball players running around your hotel for 5 days!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverdale, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Stopped here for an overnight on my way to Myrtle Beach. Very clean hotel, had mini fridge & microwave with free contential breakfast. rooms had sectional couch with a 55 inch flat screen tv, a comfortable bed. walked in & paid $89 for the night. also had outdoor pool, bar in lobby & can order food from kitchen area on a flat screen panel & pay for it with room key or credit card.traveling through area would definitely stop here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springbrook Township
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

I experienced a truly memorable time while staying here. The owner, Victoria the GM, and staff treated me like family. My room was spacious and comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Tell them Harold from HaroldSays recommended you
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester

Address: 13148 Kingston Avenue, Chester, VA 23836
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chester
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chester
#3 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester Hotel Chester
Hyatt Place Chester
Hyatt Chester
Chester Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.