We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 Night Stay ToughMudder” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Richmond Chester

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Richmond Chester to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Richmond Chester
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Bermuda Hundred Road, Chester, VA 23836   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Chester
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“1 Night Stay ToughMudder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was the official hotel suggested by Tough Mudder the physical challenge race. Absolutely, a beautiful suite hotel. Very modern. I loved the fireplace, oven/stove & microwave. The only design flaw was that one of the draws couldn't open fully because it was hindered by the oven. Free parking was excellent and easy. The beds seemed larger than King.The breakfast was above average: eggs, waffles, bagels, orange juice, oatmeal & cereal. You aren't limited to eating in the dining area. I DID NOT appreciate the array of ANTS in the short walk way. They seemed to appear after we decided to turn off all the lights & an hour later turn back on the lights.They even had basket courts on the grounds. Besides the ANTS, I give this hotel two thumbs up.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    30
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
30
17
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We reserved a room over Memorial Day weekend. We had traveled cross country to visit friends in Dinwiddie County. It is next to impossible to find a hotel in the Richmond area that is smoke free and still a decent price. We were looking for pet free as well. This hotel does allow pets, but they charge such a huge non-refundable fee, that they must clean really thoroughly. Even though we saw dogs there, we had no problems with allergies.

Having a kitchen in room was worth a "mint" to us. With multiple food allergies in the family, it is difficult to feed everyone on the road. The grill outside was great, and we took advantage of that a couple of times.

We enjoyed our stay so much, that we extended it 2 extra days. On top of free breakfast daily, we learned that M-W nights includes a free dinner. So, with Breakfast & Dinner included, this hotel was a SUPER bargain.

Pool was very nice as well.

Only a couple complaints: maids need to learn English. They came by one day before we were ready to go out for the day. They somehow decided that we'd said we didn't want them to come in & clean anymore. We had to ask for more towels from the front desk & empty our trash. There was quite a mountain of towels in our bathroom by the time we left.

Kids playing outside on the basketball court pretty late one night was a bit annoying, as our room overlooked the court.


We would still definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We asked for an upper level room hoping folks with pets wouldn't want to be so high up. Our &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed there for business and the corner rooms are fantastic. Neat & clean. Nice kitchen with pots & pans and everything a kitchen needs. Another associate had a problem and they jumped through hoops to take care of him.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are a little bit more expensvie but they are super nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Hotel staff and room where excellent. Rooms looked sharp and were very clean. The pack and play we requested was in the room by the time we arrived. Only ding on the room was a very frim mattress and a door that we could close quietly no matter what. The breakfast was first class and everything was available through the last minute of breakfast and beyond. The only other issue was the pool was very pretty cold on during our first night and made it hard for our daughter to enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel for a stop over. It seemed to be fairly new also. We used our Marriott points so the room was "free", but it did cost $100 for our dog to stay with us (I think that is an excessive fee, but I understand why). The rooms were clean and kids slept on the pull out couch with no issues. The free breakfast was pretty good too. We would definitely stay there again. I would also recommend this hotel for all travelers.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Loved this Residence Inn. Spacious rooms, Very comfortable bed, very clean, helpful staff, wonderful social hour the night we arrived. No alcohol, just soft drinks-we didn't have to go out for dinner so that was great. Also enjoyed the breakfast. Couldn't have asked for a better stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I recently stayed here overnight & was amazed at just How nice it was. Very convenient to interstate & staff was Excellent. Even had a little Bond fire going out front on little patio. The Breakfast in the morning was more than I expected also. Just a all around Nice place.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Richmond Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Richmond Chester

Address: 800 Bermuda Hundred Road, Chester, VA 23836
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#8 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Richmond Chester 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Richmond Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Richmond Chester Hotel Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Richmond Chester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.