We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed with this hotel....will definitely be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Richmond Chester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Richmond Chester to your Saves list
Residence Inn Richmond Chester
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Bermuda Hundred Road, Chester, VA 23836   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mobile Check-In
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Very impressed with this hotel....will definitely be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our stay at the Residence Inn was excellent! We were greeted by a pleasant and friendly young woman, Susan, and she made our visit to this hotel even nicer! She always had a smile and joked and kidded with us, making us feel at home throughout our visit. We stayed one night on the way to Myrtle Beach and also one night on the way home, but I honestly wished we could have stayed longer. We had a 1-bedroom suite and it was immaculate! The kitchen had all the plates and utensils we could have wanted, and there was a full size coffeemaker and refrigerator. The kitchen and living room were pretty much one big room, but we did not feel cramped, even though there was a desk, a small table with two chairs and a nice easy chair. The bedroom had a king size bed and was separate from the living room area. Unfortunately, we did not get a chance to enjoy the pool or spa, but we did peek in and they looked very inviting! There were chairs outside in a courtyard area and we saw residents sitting there relaxing. The breakfast was very nice, with waffles, eggs, potatoes, sausage, toast, muffins and bagels. There is also cold cereal, oatmeal, several kinds of juice, and of course coffee and tea. The breakfast was included in the price of the room, which is always a nice bonus :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LooneyIAm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Rockford, Michigan
Level Contributor
190 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I travel frequenty for business and have a project that brought me to Chester VA. I tried several hotels before I tried this one, once I stayed here my search was over. What a find. Very nicely decorated and updated hotel, seems very new, great rooms, but the best part is the staff. Rooms are very large, very nicely furnished, and very clean. What more could you want in a room. Public areas are also very nicely furnished and decorated. Breakfast and evening dinners (Monday thru Wednesday) are very good. The staff is the best, they are all very friendly and helpful. I have stayed here over 50 nights since April and will continue to stay through October, and have never been dissapointed by the hotel. Manager Sonita is a true host, very friendly and accomodating. I tried other hotels in the area and they do not come close to this hotel. Price is very reasonable for what you get. Hotel is very accessible from 295 or 95.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigDaddy3859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We enjoyed staying at the Residence Inn Chester Virginia earlier this week for a one night stay. Prior reviews are accurate there is more of a military presence (including dependents, families and kids) than fellow business travelers but the room was quiet and clean. It did make the breakfast/managers reception and pool a bit more crowded than other hotels that cater to a business crowd. My daughter is in the military and stationed outside the continental US so the military 'buzz' didn't bother me a bit! This location is several miles off of I-95 (about a 5 minute drive) but easy to get to I 95 and I 295.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momof3girlsNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We really liked this property. It is very clean, updated and the breakfast was hearty. The only thing I could add to the breakfast-was more of a selection of fresh fruits(only had apples) would have been better. The pool was large and no one was in it-kids loved having it to themselves. The staff was friendly and helpful. There is a Chinese place in the nearby plaza and that was excellent for take out.

Room Tip: Upper floor and corner rooms-away from elevator are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kkrm1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I enjoyed my stay here. I didn't experience any problems with noise and the rooms were very nice and breakfast was good.

One thing you might consider before making a reservation is that when I was here, about 90% of the guests were Army and Army families. From what I understand, some of them are living here long term.

I served in the Army myself, so I got nothing against our fighting men and women, but since I'm a businessman now, I felt a bit out of place walking around in my suit and nearly everyone I saw like 26 years old and dressed in combat fatigues.

Everyone was really nice, but just ask yourself if you saw a very nicely appointed Army barracks with a "Vacancy" sign out front, consider if you'd stay there if you were on local business.

So pretty nice spot, but I felt a bit out of place not being in uniform.

Room Tip: Request a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandLuxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

The room and location was well kept and maintained. The shortfall was in service, I attempted to relay the issues with Sonita Segrest the GM but her staff either failed to pass on my info or she didn't care to resolve them with me. The hotel is filled to capacity by the US Army officer trainees so this may be part of the complacency. The hotel will have to fix this soon because Fort Lee will open a 1000 bed hotel and all this government billing will dry up. The service issues included low standard housekeeping, the housekeeping staff would come in and do the bare minimum (Make the bed, new towels etc.) but the normal quality of care I've seen at other Residence Inn's was not met. This may be due to staff shortfalls or poor QC by mangement....both easily fixed with an engage leader. I stayed 4 nights and the first morning's breakfast had run out of a number of items (OJ, breakfast meats, the waffle iron was missing, etc.) the next 3 days were back up to the norm. Bottom Line, the hotel could easily be a "excellent" if the management was engaged in the quality of services.

Room Tip: Stay away from the basketball court, the constant bouncing of the ball can become annoying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Residence inn has become our new favorite hotel brand! It's perfect for our family of four. Hot breakfast, large TVs, full kitchen, modern amenities, GREAT PRICE!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Monica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Richmond/Chester
3.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Richmond Chester
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Chester
Hampton Inn Chester
#1 of 14 in Chester
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Chester
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Richmond Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Richmond Chester

Address: 800 Bermuda Hundred Road, Chester, VA 23836
Location: United States > Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Chester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Richmond Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn Richmond Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Richmond Chester Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing