We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 3 week stay with dogs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Richmond Chester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Richmond Chester to your Saves list
Residence Inn Richmond Chester
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Bermuda Hundred Road, Chester, VA 23836   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Chester
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great 3 week stay with dogs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

If you need a flexible extended stay option in the Chester/Richmond area I would definitely recommend this place; especially if you have dogs. I relocated to the area and needed to temporary place to live with my dogs while I looked for a more permanent home. It was convenient to work (close to 285 and 95). The rooms are all modern with granite counters and very comfortable beds. The staff is nice and like all residence inns there's food every morning and some evenings.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor in the corner. The northwest corner rooms have three exterior walls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    34
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
39
21
7
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011 via mobile

Checked in after a long day driving. The front desk gave us a nice surprise when they told us that Tuesday night stay included a fried chicken dinner, which was pretty decent.

Breakfast was also included, and it was ok. The room was brand new, very comfortable and clean. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

formerly one of my favorite hotels, this property has changed .....and not for the better. No hot water, trash in staircases...indifference in employee attitude, certainly not a property I will come back to.
We stay five or more nights every Christmas Season in the Richmond area, and found this property superb last year. With new management and mostly new staff, the entire attitude of this property has deteriorated severely, certainly not a location I can recommend.

Room Tip: stay away from low numbered rooms (01-02-03), apparently hot water does not reachb there
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipFo
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011 via mobile

Write off 295 and its just a few minutes from fort lee.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

This is a pretty new hotel. Clean and well organized. Close to I-295.

Personnel are friendly and very professional.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Book early if you want a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We have stayed in many Residence Inns throughout the country, and this was one of the nicest ones we have seen. It is a new hotel and it shows—beautiful and thoughtful decorations, artwork, and furniture. We stayed for two nights (Friday and Saturday) in October 2011. We arrived late at night and check in was quick and easy.

We reserved a one-bedroom king suite with a fireplace. The suite had a full kitchen with full-sized stainless appliances and granite countertops. The dining area had a table for two. There was a full sized desk with an executive style chair. The wifi was good. In the living room area there was a sofa bed (unmade—linens were in the closet), reclining chair, and a coffee table with a rolling leather ottoman tucked inside of it. The gas fire place operated with the touch of a button. Also the room had a controllable thermostat. The AC was a bit loud, but not disruptive at all. There was also a flat screen TV above the fireplace.

In the bedroom was a king-sized bed, two night stands and a dresser with another flat screen TV. The closet was small and placed behind the door—bit of a tight fit. The dressing area and bathroom were split into two rooms. The bath/shower/toilet room was a bit tight because of the very large door. All the doorways were very wide—maybe handicap accessible? The dressing/sink area was very sizeable—nice, large granite countertop with two sets of drawers. Also the full sized hairdryer is not attached to the wall, which was nice.

The lobby and breakfast area was really lovely and comfortable. The food was good and there was a large variety—very typical of a Residence Inn. Also in the lobby was a small business center with two computers. The outdoor space was spectacular—there is a lovely, modern, comfortable patio with a fire pit and a very large stainless gas grill. There is also a basketball/tennis court. We didn’t try the pool or gym, but both looked good.

Right outside the hotel are a couple of restaurants—Mexican, Chinese, McDonald’s, a Wawa, etc. We ate at the Mexican, Jalapenos, and it was pretty good.

Room Tip: Go for the corner rooms--double windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

If you don't mind hard beds, this is a new, perfect, beautiful hotel. About a year and a half old and well-maintained. Rooms are immaculate, modern and spacious. Flat screen tv swings around for viewing in living room area or from bed. Complimentary breakfast is extensive and appealing with items to appeal to everyone. I especially liked the big pot of hot oatmeal in addition to other hot buffet items. (There were nuts, raisins, and even chocolate chips to add.) Location is hard to beat with businesses and restaurants close by. My only complaint was the bed. The front desk staff said it was a Marriott bed, but it does NOT have a pillow top and was too hard ... as if they had forgotten to put on the pillow top. I was in pain from my arthritis all night and hurt the rest of my trip the next day. I frequently stay at Residence Inns and other Marriott hotels, so I was surprised at how uncomfortable the bed was. I was just at another Residence in NJ 2 weeks ago and had no problems with the bed.

Room Tip: This is a pet friendly hotel and no limitation on which room to occupy. However, I would recommend a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Richmond Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Richmond Chester

Address: 800 Bermuda Hundred Road, Chester, VA 23836
Location: United States > Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#8 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Richmond Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Richmond Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Richmond Chester Hotel Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Richmond Chester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.