We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12400 Redwater Creek Road, Chester, VA 23831   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Chester
North Carolina Coast, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not bad for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

This was a good place to stay while visiting Richmond. The access from the interstate was great! Room renovations looked good. Overall experience was good. I would stay again!

Thanks for the hospitality!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Many thanks for your feedback on your recent stay - I am glad that you enjoyed the renovations - we are looking forward to the lobby area being completed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    37
    12
    12
    7
See reviews for
46
16
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Forget about a good night's sleep. The HVAC unit sounds like a jet taking off (there is only one speed on the fan and you cannot leave it on constantly) and there are gaps around the door to the hall (where is the door jam?) so you can hear every quiet conversation in the hall. We couldn't complain because the people in the hall were doing nothing wrong. This was supposedly a newly refurbished room. Cheaply and poorly done. We had to hit the road exhausted and unrested. Rethinking my loyalty to the Marriott brand. (Just as an aside in case Marriott is listening, they should rethink the fake eggs. Really bad.)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
I am very sorry that you were disapppinted with your stay at the Fairfield Inn Chester - if you could contact me directly I would be more than happy to discuss your stay further with you.

Happy New Year

andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I needed a place to stay near Chesterfield, VA for work, and I am a Marriott member, so usually go for one of their hotels. As always, I was not disappointed. The room was clean and nice; the TV was big and worked; the breakfast was great; and the inn was near a few chain restaurants for dinner. It was not fancy but nice and clean!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We are a good place to lay your head - thanks for the great review - we are looking forward to our renovation being finished - the new rooms are fantastic - and we are awaiting the new public areas to open by the end of January

Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed here on a weekend with our soccer team for a tournament. Didn't notice any noise from construction, but this could be due to the fact that we were gone most of the day and they may not have been working since it was the weekend. Breakfast was served in three guest rooms at the end of the first floor. Made for traffic jams trying to get your breakfast. Juice was from individual bottles. A step up from the normal juice machines.

Renovated rooms are nice. New carpet, fresh paint.

Our games were in the rain so the uniforms were very dirty. Staff let use their washer and dryer to clean them. Thank you!

Room Tip: Large guest room adds an extra 20sf and has a nice curved sofa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your positve feedback on the newly renovated rooms and also on the rest of the renovations - it is always difficult to manage a hotel undergoing renovation but the end results will be fantastic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

After a long drive, I stayed at the Fairfield Inn in Chester, VA with family. The room was large, clean and quiet. The breakfast was plentiful. Nothing fancy but didn't expect it at this price and hotel level. There is a Chipotle across the street which is a great option for a road trip meal (vs. the typical fried fast food fare at the rest stops). The only con was during check-in. The front desk lady was on the phone on a personal call and made me wait until she was done, though not for very long. She was otherwise friendly but I thought it was a bit unprofessional. This was not a huge deal but not the type of service I am used to experiencing with the Marriott brand.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Many thanks for your kind remarks about the hotel - we appreciate the feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This hotel is undergoing extensive renovations. There is sawing and pounding as early as 7am. There is debris everywhere and workmen walking up and down the halls. It is not restful or peaceful. The fact that they charge full rates during this mess is a crime! And they don't tell you when you make a reservation about any of this. Stay very far away from this hotel!

Room Tip: No room is good in this dump!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
I do apologize for the problems that you encountered during your stay - we are nearing the end of our renovation - the new rooms are beautiful and have great new furnishings and fixtures - we will open our last floor this week and all the room renovations will be completed. The lobby and pool area should be done around mid November - we try and lkeep the noise level to during the day from 9am to 5pm - as you can see from the other comments that we generally succeed. Please come and stay with us again as my guest when we are completely finished to see our wonderful product
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennisport
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Our extended family from all over the country stayed here for a family funeral. The staff , especially Shomika, were so compassionate and helpful. The renovation is very evident but the excellent service more than made up for any inconveniences.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments about Shomika - she is our shining star - hopefully you can return to see our completed renovations - they look fantastic so far - and at a happier time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester

Address: 12400 Redwater Creek Road, Chester, VA 23831
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#5 Family Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester Hotel Chester
Fairfield Inn Chester
Fairfield Chester
Chester Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.