We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappointed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Chester

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Chester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12610 Chestnut Hill Road, Chester, VA 23836   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Chester
Valley Center, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Never disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Hampton Inn in Chester VA is consistent along with its other establishments. They never fail to disappoint me and my husband. Rooms are clean and comfortable and their hot breakfasts are outstanding with an array of breakfast foods. Cereals, to omelets, potatoes, an assortment of sweet rolls and dougnuts along with waffles and yogurt plus fruit. What more can you ask for. We always stay at the Hampton and their prices are reasonable. We also stayed at their hotel in Rocky Mountain in NC. Same experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    31
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
58
49
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Va
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

At first glance this place looked like a comfortable place to stay. Surroundings appear safe. Friendly late-night welcome. Room was small but not cramped. Plenty of storage space, microwave, fridge with small freezer (which I needed for medication). However, although the AC kept the room cool, the room felt very humid and muggy nevertheless. I had some trouble falling asleep because of that. The carpet felt very damp, too, and after walking on it with bare feet I found that my soles were covered in black. Would leave black footprints when I walked into the bathroom to wash off my feet. Blech! I ended up wearing my sandals the rest of my stay. The rest of the room seemed clean, though, and housekeeping staff was responsive to a bedding request. Nicely stocked breakfast. The hot breakfast foods offered in the chafing dish are different each day. The make-your-own waffles seemed a bit rubbery. Good selection of pastry and bread items. Other offerings are yogurt, oatmeal, cereal, hard-boiled and scrambled eggs each morning. Fresh fruit is available all day as are tea and coffee and hot chocolate (mix). Fitness room has 3 nice Precor machines: treadmill, elliptical, and reclining bike with individual TVs. Personal earbuds are offered although I used the last one in the room the morning I went. Nice set of free weights and there is an exercise ball. Towels and water in the room. There was a bin of antibacterial wipes but they were all dried out because the lid on the container wouldn't close. Decent internet service. Hotel has a nice location off I-95 and relatively close to a number of restaurant options although not within easy walking distance. Easy drive via I-95 and VA-288 to L.C. Bird High School where we were attending a Relay for Life event.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed over memorial weekend at the end of our Virginia tour extension to our Floridian holiday. Within half an hour of check-in we had already decided to stay a further night due to the welcome received and cleanliness of the room- we felt very comfortable here.

The location was ideal for visiting the James River plantations and we also drove down to Williamsburg. The hotel was also ideal for visiting Richmond city centre for the State House and Hollywood cemetery without having to stay in the city centre.

Guests are able to use the outdoor pool of the nearby hotel which looked very adequate.

Although a Hampton the hotel is not huge and we liked the small more personal feel of the establishment. We got the feeling we were staying in a clearly well managed hotel, staff attitude etc all very positive.

Breakfast was very good, the best we have ever had at a Hampton.

Would certainly recommend and stay again ourselves if win the area again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We made a same-day phone reservation to stay at the Hampton Inn in Chester while house-hunting in the area. We did have to wait on hold for a few minutes, but the receptionist was efficient and knowledgeable. She looked up our honors account and AAA info without any trouble. The hotel was clean and they had a couple small items on hand that we'd forgotten. There was a hot breakfast bar (well stocked) and fresh juice and hot coffee. Small lobby, but no matter to us. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Nice to be able to count on a clean room, nice lobby and a good breakfast. Beverages and fruit were available all day and night and was greatly appreciated when we arrived late after a long drive. All staff members were very friendly. Easy to get to off Route 95 or Route 295. This was very helpful, since we were directed to 295 due to construction on I-95.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

For a one-night stay, where we just needed a place to sleep while we attended a wedding reception in the area, this hotel was fine. We also appreciated the quick and simple complimentary breakfast before hitting the road for home. Although a little cramped and dark for our tastes (probably because the hotel is a little older), the room and bathroom were clean enough, the room was quiet, and we slept well. This hotel isn't anything fancy, and is probably best suited for passers-through just like us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Typical Hampton. Rooms clean and friendly staff. This location is outside Richmond and a great place to start from to pick up the Plantation Tour along the James River. A straight shot from the hotel maybe 10 or so miles.

The only surprise was that we typically place the 'do not disturb' sign on the door when we go to breakfast which we did this time, too. The surprise was that it was ignored. The staff has already stripped the bed and taken the used towel by the time we got back. They stopped, we finished packing and left. I reported this to the front desk lady who was very apologetic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Chester

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Chester Hotel Chester
Hampton Inn Chester Hotel
Chester Hampton Inn
Address: 12610 Chestnut Hill Road, Chester, VA 23836
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#5 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Chester 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Chester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Chester to your Saves list