We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappointed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Chester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Chester to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Chester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12610 Chestnut Hill Road, Chester, VA 23836   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Chester
Valley Center, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Never disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Hampton Inn in Chester VA is consistent along with its other establishments. They never fail to disappoint me and my husband. Rooms are clean and comfortable and their hot breakfasts are outstanding with an array of breakfast foods. Cereals, to omelets, potatoes, an assortment of sweet rolls and dougnuts along with waffles and yogurt plus fruit. What more can you ask for. We always stay at the Hampton and their prices are reasonable. We also stayed at their hotel in Rocky Mountain in NC. Same experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    45
    20
    5
    5
See reviews for
75
65
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Va
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

At first glance this place looked like a comfortable place to stay. Surroundings appear safe. Friendly late-night welcome. Room was small but not cramped. Plenty of storage space, microwave, fridge with small freezer (which I needed for medication). However, although the AC kept the room cool, the room felt very humid and muggy nevertheless. I had some trouble falling asleep because of that. The carpet felt very damp, too, and after walking on it with bare feet I found that my soles were covered in black. Would leave black footprints when I walked into the bathroom to wash off my feet. Blech! I ended up wearing my sandals the rest of my stay. The rest of the room seemed clean, though, and housekeeping staff was responsive to a bedding request. Nicely stocked breakfast. The hot breakfast foods offered in the chafing dish are different each day. The make-your-own waffles seemed a bit rubbery. Good selection of pastry and bread items. Other offerings are yogurt, oatmeal, cereal, hard-boiled and scrambled eggs each morning. Fresh fruit is available all day as are tea and coffee and hot chocolate (mix). Fitness room has 3 nice Precor machines: treadmill, elliptical, and reclining bike with individual TVs. Personal earbuds are offered although I used the last one in the room the morning I went. Nice set of free weights and there is an exercise ball. Towels and water in the room. There was a bin of antibacterial wipes but they were all dried out because the lid on the container wouldn't close. Decent internet service. Hotel has a nice location off I-95 and relatively close to a number of restaurant options although not within easy walking distance. Easy drive via I-95 and VA-288 to L.C. Bird High School where we were attending a Relay for Life event.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed over memorial weekend at the end of our Virginia tour extension to our Floridian holiday. Within half an hour of check-in we had already decided to stay a further night due to the welcome received and cleanliness of the room- we felt very comfortable here.

The location was ideal for visiting the James River plantations and we also drove down to Williamsburg. The hotel was also ideal for visiting Richmond city centre for the State House and Hollywood cemetery without having to stay in the city centre.

Guests are able to use the outdoor pool of the nearby hotel which looked very adequate.

Although a Hampton the hotel is not huge and we liked the small more personal feel of the establishment. We got the feeling we were staying in a clearly well managed hotel, staff attitude etc all very positive.

Breakfast was very good, the best we have ever had at a Hampton.

Would certainly recommend and stay again ourselves if win the area again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We made a same-day phone reservation to stay at the Hampton Inn in Chester while house-hunting in the area. We did have to wait on hold for a few minutes, but the receptionist was efficient and knowledgeable. She looked up our honors account and AAA info without any trouble. The hotel was clean and they had a couple small items on hand that we'd forgotten. There was a hot breakfast bar (well stocked) and fresh juice and hot coffee. Small lobby, but no matter to us. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Nice to be able to count on a clean room, nice lobby and a good breakfast. Beverages and fruit were available all day and night and was greatly appreciated when we arrived late after a long drive. All staff members were very friendly. Easy to get to off Route 95 or Route 295. This was very helpful, since we were directed to 295 due to construction on I-95.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

For a one-night stay, where we just needed a place to sleep while we attended a wedding reception in the area, this hotel was fine. We also appreciated the quick and simple complimentary breakfast before hitting the road for home. Although a little cramped and dark for our tastes (probably because the hotel is a little older), the room and bathroom were clean enough, the room was quiet, and we slept well. This hotel isn't anything fancy, and is probably best suited for passers-through just like us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Typical Hampton. Rooms clean and friendly staff. This location is outside Richmond and a great place to start from to pick up the Plantation Tour along the James River. A straight shot from the hotel maybe 10 or so miles.

The only surprise was that we typically place the 'do not disturb' sign on the door when we go to breakfast which we did this time, too. The surprise was that it was ignored. The staff has already stripped the bed and taken the used towel by the time we got back. They stopped, we finished packing and left. I reported this to the front desk lady who was very apologetic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Chester

Address: 12610 Chestnut Hill Road, Chester, VA 23836
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chester
#2 Family Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Chester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Chester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.