We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel from Hotwire” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Suburban Extended Stay Hotel

Save Saved
You added Suburban Extended Stay Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2401 W. Hundred Road, Chester, VA 23831 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Chester)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 14 hotels in Chester
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
“Hotel from Hotwire”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We booked this hotel through hotwire, it was supposed to have a free breakfast and exercise room. When we got there we learned there was neither. The lobby was beautiful but when we got to our room it was not as the pictures on the internet showed. They had no spread on the bed as shown in the pictures but just a thin white thing on the end of the bed. It was not as clean as other hotels are that we stay in.It was quite dusty and 3 of the lamps had blown light bulbs. There was also a weird smell in our room. It did have a comfortable bed though. We saw no bugs anywhere during our 2 day stay. Some of the front desk staff there were not very friendly. There was a Hooters connected to the hotel, and also there was a new Logans steak house on the other side in walking distance and that was very nice. Will not stay again!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    4
    7
    20
See reviews for
9
3
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Not much to say about this hotel. It is old, seems old, low quality, low priced, but clean room and comfortable bed. It has been made into an extended stay. Not in a good part of town, directly behind a Hooter's. Parking is in an unlit area and I was not comfortable leaving anything in the car in case of break in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This place has a huge roach and insect problem.
We made a reservation online on a Sunday evening for a Wednesday stay...the web site listed it as a Clarion Hotel....IT WASN'T !! The name changed, no new signage on the building, and we drove around for a half hour looking for a Clarion that no longer existed.
The first room we were assigned was under construction/renovation. The second room was fine that night but when we awoke in the morning there were freakin' roaches in the room!! We found two large adults and one "baby". DISGUSTING !!!! To think that I probably had roaches crawling on the bed while I slept!!! YUK !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

[Note: This review is for a hotel that had been called Clarion, but the sign on the building now says "Suburban" - address 2401 West Hundred Road, Chester, VA]
Surfaces in room had debris, hallway smelled funny and carpet had visible debris, the AC unit in our room was very loud (but worked well), the night table lamps were not plugged in, the TV did not work (called maintenance, they came quickly and fixed it), etc. etc. Definitely a substandard hotel - I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the Hooter's Restaurant (connected to the hotel on one side) so you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearfield, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

from the pics online the place seemed decent enuff. well my opinion changed the minute we pulled into the lot. the empty lot beside the place reminded me of a dumping ground for murder victims. upon entering the lobby i thought just maybe its not as bad as i thought. well that was until we were given our room key and directed to the area where we would be entering the building. our room was on 2nd floor. (possibly because the entire first floor guest area was ripped apart right down to the wiring hanging from the stained drop tile ceiling) oh by the way, no elevators!! and the stairwells havent seen the likes of t\a broom since the dump was built! at the top of the stairs is a door that must have been dontated from the local bank vault. the smell of the entire hotel was repulsive! after finaly regaining our breath we entered our room. heres definetly where the RUN part came in. the carpet was totaly digusting to say the least! huge black stains everyplace. no bathroom exhaust fan air conditioning that took 4 hours to cool the room. the only nice thing about the room was the beds. they actualy were comfortable.(if you could bring yourself to lay on them) cuz you just never know! the final icing on the cake came when i picked up the plastic dirty laundry bag they supply in the closet and a HUGE DEAD COCKROACH fell out!!! after making my brave daughter dispose of the dirty creature i decided right then and there that this would be a sleepless night! and i would not remove my shoes the rest of the horrible night. the best thing about the entire stay? CHECKOUT!! there was so many more roaches thruout the entire property!! where is the dept of health? RUN RUN AS FAST AS YOU CAN!!!!!

Room Tip: Go eleswhere!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweet Caroline
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The front desk clerk was more interest in talking to her boyfriend that checking me in, the whole hotel stunk. Went to get ice and needed a room card, roaches littered the hallway leading to the ice machine. I guess it is an extended stay motel since there were some unsavory individuals hanging around the hotel. I have done patrols in Fallujah and felt safer than here. The room was very poor and smelled of mildew. I truely wish I was not so tired and checked out for a much nicer hotel.

Room Tip: not a place for kids to stay at
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick MD
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed in this hotel on our way to the Outer Banks so I did not research it in advance like I usually would--if I had I am sure I would have stayed elsewhere. The first red flag was the Hooters Restaurant which is attached to the property, I was not sure what that would be like at closing time, but as it turns out there was no niose or disruption. However, the parking lot is seedy looking and littered with trash I don't know why management doesn't clean it up. You have to use your key to get from one building to another even in the middle of the day, and also to access the ice machine.

One you are safely locked inside your room, however, things are pretty good There is a microwave, fridge and coffee maker, The shower is excellent and the bed, while a little on the hard side, is comfortable enough. Things were clean and I did not see any bugs.

In the morning, we had a hot breakfast(included) which had all the usual options as well as egg patties, sausage, and waffles.

All in all, our stay was comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Suburban Extended Stay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suburban Extended Stay Hotel

Also Known As:
Chester Clarion
Clarion Chester
Address: 2401 W. Hundred Road, Chester, VA 23831 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Chester)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Suburban Extended Stay Hotel 1.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly Howard Johnson Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Suburban Extended Stay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suburban Extended Stay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.