We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Suburban Extended Stay Hotel

Save Saved
You added Suburban Extended Stay Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2401 W. Hundred Road, Chester, VA 23831 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Chester)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 14 hotels in Chester
Westminster, MD
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Disgusting!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

I'm glad I only had to stay one night. All the reviews about roaches are true. There was a nest of mice in the bathroom wall. I could hear them squeaking at night. Ewwww.
The lobby is very nice and well kept, but beyond that everything is dirty, water stained, peeling wallpaper. There is a sign"B" entrance asking to wipe your feet, there is no mat inside or outside the door.
The rate was $99.00, that included a $1.50 fee for using the safe. I didn't use the safe, but previous reviews mentioned missing items by housekeeping. There are lots of other places to stay in Chester, many are cheaper.
The hot breakfast is OK.
There is a Hooters restaurant on the property :( I did see police patrolling the property at night.
Makes me think that there are problems.
Upon check out, the desk person didn't ask if our stay was OK, infact he didn't say a word to me.
Don't stop here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    4
    7
    20
See reviews for
9
3
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Saw a huge roach carcass in the hallway, and had a baby cockroach in my bathroom. That's too bad, as everything else was adequate.

This hotel would be priced right if it weren't for the infestation.

The rooms are somewhat updated.... everything except for the little things that are often overlooked in a room renovation: The electrical outlets were worn and dirty, the bathroom door bottom was rotted out, the room door and hinges were old rusty and worn, and the cover for the bathroom exhaust fan was rusty and old, and the TV is the old tube type..

Everything else in the room looks like it was updated within the last couple of years, yet very beat. The carpet was newer, but near the doors and edges it is frayed. The carpet had stains and gum marks. The wallpaper is torn in some places. The room has modern furniture and pictures on the wall, but you can see where the pictures bolt to the wall, and the dresser is warped and worn where the heavy TV sits on it. The counter top, table, and nightstand tops are real granite, as is the shower wall, although the shower wall is stained. The toilet is a newer quick flush. The lamps are modern. although they all have incandescent bulbs instead of energy saving CFL's. See what I mean? Nice new lamps and old bulbs. Same with the bed. Modern new headboard, and old dated comforter.

Upon arrival the internet network jack on the wall was dead, and the shower handle was broken. The maintenance man was here today, but he was unable to fix either problem. The shower still worked, and they have wireless internet, so these items were not critical.

If they can convince you they fixed the insect problem, then the hotel would be worth the rate. It seems like they have had this problem for a while, though. Wish I could have seen these reviews before I booked, but used a phone app to do so.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Stayed three nights; Mon - Wed. Good service from the desk staff and the chamber people. The owner, Aneil, tries to please his guests. I would stay here again. A very good two-star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Once hotel management knew about my dog they wanted to additional charge me $35.00.
Not only is that amount over the top for pet charges usually $20.00 every where else. This Clarion Hotel in Chester VA threathen me with the credit card charge or I could leave my room and the hotel without my paid hotel amount of $69.00 . They will not accept your pet unless you paid their $35.00 ransom. They also demand the $35.00 cash or charge immediately or it goes on your credit without approval.
If you travel with a dog compaion like I do ( I am a windower) stay away from this Clarion hotel in Chester, VA

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

Hotel was really good. The location is really convenient right off the exit. and Hooters is right next doors so you get food and beer. Nice place to chill and stop by along your long drive.
Staff were really helpful. They show me the direction to certain places also informed me about the other good restaurants near the area.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

The reviews are right! Do yourself a favor and pass this hotel by.

This place is way to "BUGGY" -- Roaches & Bed Bugs... EEWWWHHH. No Shower Curtain in many our our room, doors wouldn't close right, holes is bath tubs - item stolen out of the back of a truck outside... Just don't waste your time here! There are other hotels across the street - stay at one of those.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

I came here with a big group of colleagues, so we all had plenty of horror stories to share about the rooms. The biggest thing you should know is that there is absolutely a roach infestation. The other reviewers are not lying about this! One of my colleagues found a giant roach upon first entering his room. Another colleague saw multiple roaches scatter when he turned on his lights. And if you don't have the pleasure of seeing a roach in your room, just look for all the dead ones in the hallways and stairwells. This hotel is extremely dirty. There were big stains on my floor, ceilings, and walls. My colleague found a big collection of nail clippings on the carpet. The maintenance staff came and picked them up by hand, which makes me think they may not even have any working vacuums. There are strange noises in the room - I'm not sure if it's bugs or what, but I had a very hard time falling asleep. There are some hotels literally right across the street. Just go stay in one of those, because in no way is this place worth saving the $5 or $10 a night, unless you are not bothered by bugs or filth.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
Quiet, Budget...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Chester
Free internet...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Chester
Hampton Inn Chester
#1 of 14 in Chester
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 14 in Chester
4.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
3.8 mi away
Residence Inn Richmond Chester
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Richmond Chester
Free Parking, B...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 14 in Chester
3.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suburban Extended Stay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suburban Extended Stay Hotel

Address: 2401 W. Hundred Road, Chester, VA 23831 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Chester)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Suburban Extended Stay Hotel 1.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly Howard Johnson Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Suburban Extended Stay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Clarion
Clarion Chester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suburban Extended Stay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.