We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but already looking run down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Chester

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Chester to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chester
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1911 W Hundred Rd, Route 10, Chester, VA 23836   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Chester
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not bad but already looking run down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed here with the family and found the hotel to be a bit on the ragged side for a Holiday Inn Express. Breakfast was fair at best, and the rooms were nothing spectacular. Temperature hard to control, bathroom not that clean, musty smell in the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear TM L,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    14
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
8
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

In making our way from New York City to South Carolina, this hotel had an excellent location. The front desk staff was very nice and we were very pleased with our room. We had no complaints during our stay and really appreciated the hot breakfast as we were quickly out the door once the morning arrived.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterhie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Livmass,

Thank you for your recent visit and for your time in providing a great recap of your positive experience. I am glad to see that we have become your home away from home as you travel the east coast. We are definitly a great stopping point when traveling up and down the 95 corridor. We thank you again for your feedback and look forward to seeing you soon. Stay well and enjoy the summer!

Joanne English
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We have stayed here before and that is why we are back and will come back again. Friendly and professional staff, Amanda at front very helpful and professional, thank you Amanda. Good location, nice quiet rooms, AC, micro and fridge all flawless operation

Room Tip: When choosing room decide whether you want to few sun up or sun down in your window.(sun up is fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterhie, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear RJ,

We would like to thank you for your recent stay and review. Amanda is terrific and we so appreciate you recognizing her and the great service she provides. We look forward to your future stays with us.
Sincerely Joanne English
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

I arrived are 9PM on Feb 24, 2012. I am putting the date because I don't remember the staff's names and want them to get acknowledged for their work. Check in was quick and efficient. The young blonde lady was personable. The room was good, clean, bed comfortable. The breakfast was good. The cinnamon rolls were awesome. I am never too keen on pre-prepped eggs that come in patties and the sausage was just okay. Note I am picky about my sausage and only buy Jones links which I consider to be the best brand on the market. Good coffee, fresh fruit. Biscuts very good and I know a good biscut when I eat one. The staff maintaining the breakfast serviced it very efficiently, were friendly and insured that it was kept amply stocked. Overall I was pretty satisfied with the breakfast. I sued to own a hotel software company so I know how a hotel should operate. A nice property, congenial staff. My only complaint is the internet service. The wireless service to the room is dog slow. Some how the signal and speed needs to be significantly boosted. I use hotel systems all the time when I travel but this was the slowest by several orders of magnitude that I have ever seen. That also goes for the compter in the lobby which constitutes their business center I assume. That looks like its a hardwire into the network and it wasn't much faster then the wireless. I was surprised at that since hardwired is usually significanly faster. They need to get an IT person in and tune that network. If you are a business traveller like I am that's a real negative.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterhie, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Dear oda5261,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We do apologize that you had some disappointments with the internet but are glad that you considered your overall experience a positive one. We appreciate the comments and the feedback. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Thank you,

Joanne English
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

We were here for five nights and I loved it. The housekeeping staff were honest and efficent. The free breakfast was different each morning, food was hot and delicious. The orange juice was not the watered-down drink that you find in other hotels. My only complaint would possibly be the fitness center. Machines were not quite up to par, but definitely better than nothing. Everyone was friendly, all in all, they are doing a good job and we will return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterhie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Dear SunnyLeeT,

Thank you for your choosing The Holiday Inn Express Chester and for taking the time to share a positive review with the TripAdvisor community. We appreciate the comments and the feedback. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Happy holidays.

Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

I am typically a loyal Marriott customer but IHG hotels was offering a special promotion for members so I stayed here for 2 weeks. Hotel room was comfortable. I had a room with double beds. I do a lot of work on laptop - sitting chair and ottoman was really comfortable. I loved the sauna - it actually got really hot - exactly how a sauna should be. I used the gym once to twice a day. It is too small and needs to have new equipment. I was surprised how many people actually used the equipment - but sometimes I had to wait and treadmill (one) was broken. The hotel is undergoing renovations. I had a nice, quiet, decent stay. No complaints - holiday Inn just needs to do better to be like Marriott. There also was no computer room/ business center.printer.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterhie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Dear Mallowmow,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. I would like to apologize for the aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations. We strive to provide a great experience for all of our guests, so I will work with our team at this property to ensure your issues are addressed for future stays.

However, I am glad you mention your satisfaction with our rooms and sauna. We aim to provide a comfortable stay at a great value for all of our guests.

Again, I apologize for the issues you encountered and hope you will consider our hotel the next time you stay in the Chester area. Please get in touch with me if you have any additional issues to discuss.

Sincerely,

Joanne English
joanne@shaminhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011 via mobile

I stayed here and had the most unprofessional hotel attendant EVER. The AC worked in the lobby but the room was hotter than Hades!!! The room was not clean and there was female hair everywhere. If I had to stay in the area again I will stay at the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterhie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear Roadkingwarrior,

Thank you for your recent visit and review. I can assure you that your noted comments are certainly not the norm, and will most certainly be addressed. I further welcome your call or email to discuss the details of your visit, as well welcome the opportunity to show we can do better.

Sincerely,
Joanne English
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chester

Address: 1911 W Hundred Rd, Route 10, Chester, VA 23836
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Chester 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary high-speed Internet access at the Holiday Inn Express Chester. Experience the charm and warmth of Chesterfield, Virginia located near Colonial Heights, Hopewell, James River, and Petersburg. We are centrally located off I-95 at exit 61A and I-295 exit 15B, just minutes away from nearby government facilities including Fort Lee, DSC Defense Supply Center. We have easy access to the following businesses: Meadowville Technology, Honeywell, Dominion VA Power, HNI, Phillip Morris, DuPont, SRMC, John Tyler Community College, John Randolph Hospital, Xymid, Sunchem, Northrup Grumman, Capital One and LMR. We are located 13 miles south of Richmond, Virginia and 7 miles north of Southpark Mall in Colonial Heights. Within minutes of the Holiday Inn Express Chester, hotel guests can dine at Applebee s, Cracker Barrel, Pizzeria Uno's Restaurant & Bar, Chili s andO'Charleys Restaurant & Bar. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, sausage gravy and biscuits. Experience the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. We offer local packages including Macys and Rivers Bend Golf Packages for a great experience and your enjoyment. Visit Chester, VA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chester Hotel Chester
Holiday Inn Chester
Chester Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Chester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.