We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok food, but over priced.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Breakfast Shop

Sunrise Breakfast Shop
222 Battlefield Blvd N, Chesapeake, VA 23320-3914
757-436-9534
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 433 Restaurants in Chesapeake
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ok food, but over priced.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I was surprised at price of things there. It's just a little hole in the wall place and they have decent food, but it was nothing special.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    11
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great service; great food ... how can it get better ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We went on a Saturday morning around 10 a.m. and it was packed but we really didn't have to wait long. People moved in and out quickly. We ordered and were served in a short amount of time. The food was great; Katie was our waitress and so nice. And who could possibly miss seeing Ms. Veronica. She is what makes that place. What a really classy lady and so sweet to talk with. So for food ... and great customer service ... try this place! You'll go back over and over again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
“Raining & Hailing, Going TO Sunrise Anyway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Sunday morning 8:30. Couldn't care about the rain. I just want great the great breakfast and service I always receive at Sunrise. The wait is never long, at most 5 - 10 minutes. Waiting is fun too, because I always see the "Great Bridge" folks who know our little secret. Ok, leaving now... can't wait for the pancakes, grits and coffee.
Hope Jamie, my favorite server is there... they are all good... but she's the best!
See you there!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing local breakfast shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I work in this area and frequently bring business guests to this location. The staff is always fantastic and remembers most folks by name. The food is literally the best breakfast I've ever spent money on, and it's very well priced. The scrapple is amazing. My assistant is very particular about her eggs and now will only eat eggs at Sunrise, haha!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Podgorica, Montenegro
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Worth the visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Our server Jamie was extremely friendly and fast with our coffee and water.

The eggs were cooked exactly as we would have wanted them, the grits were perfect, the coffee basic and strong.

The pancakes were by far the best we've had in ages. I ordered the blueberry, my wife the sweet potato. The pancake was so loaded with blueberries, every bite bursting with, er blueberries. My wife's pancakes was sooo good.

The special pancakes were $1 extra over the plain pancakes that came with the meal.

Two breakfast's with the special pancakes, two coffee's with taxes was just under $20. not bad at all.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunrise Breakfast Shop also viewed

 

Been to Sunrise Breakfast Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Breakfast Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.