We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TRUE AUTHENTIC MEXICAN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Loro

El Loro
801 Volvo Pkwy Ste 14, Chesapeake, VA 23320-2811
(757) 436-3415
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 409 Restaurants in Chesapeake
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Vegetarian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“TRUE AUTHENTIC MEXICAN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I love Mexican food. This place serves authentic Mexican food that rivals any local restaurant in Mexico. I love the tableside guacamole. The drinks are pretty strong too. The people are nice and are well managed. They always look so nice and not stressed when when its busy as hell. Kudos to their manager!!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    17
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Salsa in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I have been a long time patron of El Loro, and hands down they have the best salsa and white sauce. Fish tacos, pico, enchiladas, fajitas, carne asada--you name it, you won't go wrong! Service is good, management does a great job! I try to go weekly, but sometimes my job travel gets in the way!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“What a bright friendly place with delicious food and attentive staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Used an Entertainment Book coupon for a quick lunch before the theater and am really glad to have found this place. Nice, clean surroundings and delicious, fresh food for decent prices. Several large tables of happy people tells me it's a popular place.

My 1 chimichanga was stuffed full of tasty chicken with a plate of beans and toppings. My husband's burrito looked quite similiar and he enjoyed it equally. Chips were warm and salsa and white sauce didn't go unnoticed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I won't be back.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Had the beef taco, beef enchilada, and beef tortilla. The meal was bland because the ground beef was tasteless. The only item that had appeal to it is the tomatillo sauce which has roasted tomato and smoky chipotle in it. I had to steal that from my hubby's dish to add flavor to my dish. The service was excellent though but I won't be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“My favorite Mexican place ♡”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I've been coming here for over 10 years and love this place. Food, drinks, and service are always spectacular. They know us by name. The owner's wife asks where the kids are if we come without them.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Loro also viewed

 

Been to El Loro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Loro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.