We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Salsa in town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Loro

El Loro
801 Volvo Pkwy Ste 14, Chesapeake, VA 23320-2811
(757) 436-3415
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 433 Restaurants in Chesapeake
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Vegetarian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Salsa in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I have been a long time patron of El Loro, and hands down they have the best salsa and white sauce. Fish tacos, pico, enchiladas, fajitas, carne asada--you name it, you won't go wrong! Service is good, management does a great job! I try to go weekly, but sometimes my job travel gets in the way!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    14
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“What a bright friendly place with delicious food and attentive staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Used an Entertainment Book coupon for a quick lunch before the theater and am really glad to have found this place. Nice, clean surroundings and delicious, fresh food for decent prices. Several large tables of happy people tells me it's a popular place.

My 1 chimichanga was stuffed full of tasty chicken with a plate of beans and toppings. My husband's burrito looked quite similiar and he enjoyed it equally. Chips were warm and salsa and white sauce didn't go unnoticed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I won't be back.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Had the beef taco, beef enchilada, and beef tortilla. The meal was bland because the ground beef was tasteless. The only item that had appeal to it is the tomatillo sauce which has roasted tomato and smoky chipotle in it. I had to steal that from my hubby's dish to add flavor to my dish. The service was excellent though but I won't be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“My favorite Mexican place ♡”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I've been coming here for over 10 years and love this place. Food, drinks, and service are always spectacular. They know us by name. The owner's wife asks where the kids are if we come without them.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Wonderful as Always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The food is always amazing, and the staff is always pleasant. I will be returning again as soon as possible.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Loro also viewed

 

Been to El Loro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Loro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.