We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Property - All Thanks to the Employees” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites Chesapeake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Staybridge Suites Chesapeake to your Saves list
Staybridge Suites Chesapeake
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   709 Woodlake Drive, Chesapeake, VA 23320   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Weekend Rate!
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Chesapeake
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
171 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Outstanding Property - All Thanks to the Employees”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

While looking for a hotel in Chesapeake for use prior to our Outer-Banks vacation I checked Trip Advisor and was impressed by the reviews this property was given. I wrote an Email to the GM of the hotel explaining that we would be coming with our toddler and asked that the sofa-bed in the suite be converted into a bed for him.

Upon our arrival the reception desk knew our son's name the moment we walked through the door. She offered our son a treat (a snack-pack of fruit). When we checked into the room (which was very large, well equipped, and clean) the sofa bed had, indeed been converted into a bed. There was also a note from the GM welcoming us to the hotel.

A little while later our little guy asked for a bananna. We, of course, didn't have one -- so we asked at the front desk and they opened the breakfast area storage to get him a bananna. Truly above and beyond the call of duty.

Thank you Staybridge for an outstanding stay. We will be using your hotel again each time we stop enroute to the outer banks.

  • Liked — Outstanding customer service. The GM and his staff really went out of the way to make us feel at home.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_staybridgech, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Chesapeake, responded to this review, August 15, 2008
We appreciate the nice review and hope your family had a great time in the outerbanks. Hopefully you and your wife were able to catch some of the opening Olympic Ceremony while you were here.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Jason/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    27
    7
    6
    4
See reviews for
56
18
9
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

We travel to the Va Beach area several times a year and always check Trip Advisor for any new (and reasonably priced) properties. This suite hotel had such good reviews that we decided to give it a try.
This is a new and wonderful hotel. It has a full kitchen and is furnished well. The linens are great and the whole place is so clean. It is also well located for the family that we visit here.
A couple of small problems tho--I thought that the beds were a bit too hard,and the windows only have sheers (not blinds or dark curtains) so that in the am I was awakened too early. On the other side of the hotel, the afternoon sun must have been pretty bad with no way to block it out.
All in all, a great stay & we will book here the next time we visit the area.

  • Liked — beautifully furnshed
  • Disliked — no dark curtains
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_staybridgech, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Chesapeake, responded to this review, August 1, 2008
Thank you for the nice review. We look forward to seeing you again when you come to visit family in the area. P.S.- love the profile photo!!!

Sincerely,
Jason/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, PA
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 170 cities Reviews in 170 cities
411 helpful votes 411 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2008

I was very happy to win the Staybridge Suites on Priceline. I saw all the amentities the hotel offers and its #1 ranking in Chesapeake. We were looking for something close to the beach area. More importantly, Jason the manager made us feel right at home before arriving. He assured me a non-smoking king suite, and hooked us up with $12 discounts at Busch Gardens for later in our trip. He had them sitting in a nice card as we entered our suite. I could tell he really cares about the customers from reading his replies on Tripadvisor.

Here is a list of amenities we enjoyed during our 2 nights:
1. Two room suite with two TV's. Also includes a DVD player.
2. Full kitchen complete with appliances and utensils.
3. Free Internet.
4. Complimentary breakfast buffet with a nice variety of items. The list includes: eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, French toast sticks, fruit, cereal, bagels, and many kinds of juice, milk and coffee.
5. Welcome bag upon arrival with water and some Planter's nuts.

Other amentities offered that we didn't have time for:
1. Mini Home Theater located in the lobby.
2. Indoor Pool
3. Exercise room

I thought the suite was clean and very roomy. Everything we used was in good working order. Any negatives about the room? If I had to be picky, I wish there was more water pressure in the shower. I did like the idea of separate sinks and I had no problems sleeping in the king bed.

As another reviewer stated, the breakfast buffet on weekends can get a little crazy. We decided to hit the buffet later on the second morning after things had cleared out, and that worked well. There was still plenty of food and tables to sit at. . The employees even mentioned it's not as hectic during the week. One should not leave hungry in the morning.

Hotel is located right off I-64 and there's a ton of places to eat and shop within a mile radius. We had no ploblems driving out to Sandbridge Beach on Saturday morning. It's an easy ride on back roads and well worth the trip. Staybridge is definitely a good base for the Virginia Beach-Chesapeake area.

  • Liked — good size suite, free internet, complimentary breakfast buffet
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_staybridgech, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Chesapeake, responded to this review, July 28, 2008
Thank you so much for the great review and photos. We look forward to seeing you again when you come back to the Chesapeake, VA area.

Thanks again,
Jason/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

Brand new, very nice hotel. Decent Priceline rate at a busy time in VA Beach. We checked in later than we anticipated and upon entering room found out it was a smoking room, called desk and was told nothing else available. I forgot to call ahead and request non smoking. My wife, who is sensitive to smoke, went down to desk and asked if we could get another room when one became available. She instantly found us a handicapped accessible room and gave a lecture about using Priceline. Breakfast was good, bright sun comes into room with no drapes, people were trying to find sitting spots away from sun. Pool area looks nice, very busy with kids on Fridays. Rooms are very nice, a little awkward to watch bulky tv from bed and couch at same time, for newness of hotel a flat screen tv would fit in better. Free wireless is nice. Upon checkout whic was prepaid on Priceline, I was given a receipt that wasn't mine, I told the hostess that I prepaid on Priceline but she insisted I take receipt, I don't think she spoke much english, a little confusing.

  • Liked — Brand new facility, nice rooms, nice pool, good breakfast. Great extended stay hotel.
  • Disliked — Awkward check in and check out. Bright sun in breakfast area. Bulky TV.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_staybridgech, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Chesapeake, responded to this review, July 28, 2008
Thank you for the review. I'm glad we were able to accomidate your non smoking request. We definately suggest calling the hotel for room request when making reservations through priceline. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Jason/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, MD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

We went to this hotel for a family wedding. They were unable to accomodate our room selection which was important as we were having our kids babysat during the wedding. We chose the suites as it would be more comfortable for our kids instead of a regular hotel room.

The hotel room and furnishings are top notch! But you better bring your own nonskid tub mat, as this is the most dangerous slippery tub I have ever been in.

The hotel promotes a free hot buffet breakfast, which is on site in the lobby if you arrive at the correct time. On the weekends it is open from 7:30-10:30am. Our family had to wait to get a seat to eat with our two small toddlers and then when we did finally sit, there was no food. At 10am my sister came down to eat breakfast and was told there would not be anymore food served. HELLO, the time says 10:30! The ladies running the buffet were in the back talking not doing their job! I heard many guests complain about the lack of food and cleanliness of the buffet. Even though it is "free" is is a part of why people choose to stay with Staybridge. This happened both mornings we were there.

The worst part of our stay is that we were not given our requested and reserved accomodation because someone extended their stay. We were put on an entirely different wing than the rest of our family, important because our children were split between our room and the grandparents room! In the end we decided to extend our stay as well, but we were told we would have to move to another room! UGH! We were not going to pack up everything and then move rooms just for one night. It was sad the same courtesy that was afforded others to mess our reservation was not given to us in the end.

We loved this place, but because of the poor staff and poor managment we had more stress than we should have had to encounter during this stay. A call to corporate will be made today. Good Luck!

  • Liked — comfortable beds
  • Disliked — Poor staff and management
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_staybridgech, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Chesapeake, responded to this review, July 28, 2008
We're glad that you enjoyed the facilities here at the Staybridge. As we continually find ways to improve our service, we will look into the opportunities you have mentioned. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can be of any further assistance.

Sincerely,
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen City Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

Just wanted to say everything about this hotel was magnificent! We were in Chesapeake visiting our son and awaiting the arrival of our first grandbaby. The hotel staff was the nicest ever, especially Victoria, who was a sweetheart. The breakfast was outstanding, the pool and hot tub were great. People were relaxing in the lobby and making themselves at home. It truly felt like a home away from our Texas home. You have to stay here if you are in the area. Like the other reviews said everything you had to do there was "free", right down to doing laundry in their new front load washers. We never took advantage of the free movie room, but we did smell the popcorn cooking in there a couple of nights. They also have a great sundowner reception on Tue, Wed, Thur. night from 5-7pm. with again free food. My teenager loved all the free, sodas and food!!! Just wanted to say thanks to the staff again for making our stay there seem so personable!
Carla Hancock

  • Liked — The staff and cleanliness of facility
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_staybridgech, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Chesapeake, responded to this review, July 15, 2008
Thank you so much for the wonderful review, and more importantly... Congradulations on your first grandbaby!!! We look forward to seeing you again when you come back to visit.

Sincerely,
Jason/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond,Va
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2008

We needed a hotel for one night since our reservations fell through at another hotel. The reception desk was very polite and friendly. They had two rooms available and were the most decently priced in the area. The rooms were very clean and roomy. Everything about the room was lovely. One of the rooms had a clogged toilet and they moved us immediately to another room. We thouroughly enjoyed our stay and would definately stay there again. Incredibly clean facilities, friendly staff, and close to everything you could possibly want or need.

  • Liked — Staff, facilites, and location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_staybridgech, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Chesapeake, responded to this review, June 16, 2008
Thank you for the great review. We're glad that we were able to accomodate you when other hotel accomodations fell through in the area. We looking forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
Jason/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Staybridge Suites Chesapeake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Chesapeake

Address: 709 Woodlake Drive, Chesapeake, VA 23320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chesapeake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Chesapeake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Chesapeake 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chesapeake, VA Hotel Offers Guests an Outstanding Extended Stay Experience. Get Comfortable at the Staybridge Suites Extended Stay Hotel Chesapeake - Hampton Roads Area, VA. The Staybridge Chesapeake hotel is a member of Priority Club Rewards & the IHG family of brands which includes InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn & Candlewood Suites hotels. Specializing in the extended stay experience, the Staybridge Suites hotel is a perfect hotel for government (per diem), project teams, training, relocation, temporary & corporate housing. The Staybridge Suites is centrally located at exit 289A off I-64 near I-264, & I-664; minutes from Portsmouth, Hampton, Norfolk, Suffolk & Virginia Beach business & real estate districts. Our location offers near access to Norfolk Airport ORF, Lockheed Martin, Raytheon, SAIC, Northrop Grumman, General Dynamics, JFCOM, US Coast Guard & the Norfolk Naval Shipyard.The Staybridge Suites offers apartment-style suites with the conveniences of home to meet extended stay or short term hotel needs. Our pet friendly hotel (fee) offers studio, one-bedroom & two-bedroom apartment-style suites featuring fully equipped kitchens, spacious living and work areas, TVs with DVD players, free wired and wireless Internet access. Other features include a free hot breakfast buffet, business center, free self-laundry facilities, a fitness center, BBQ grills & Sundowner Receptions (Tuesday - Thursday). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Staybridge Suites Chesapeake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Chesapeake Hotel Chesapeake
Chesapeake Staybridge Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites Chesapeake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.