We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sushi in Hampton roads” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daikichi Sushi Bistro

Daikichi Sushi Bistro
1400 Battlefield Blvd N, Chesapeake, VA 23320-4506
757-549-0200
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 433 Restaurants in Chesapeake
Cuisines: French, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
1 review
“Best sushi in Hampton roads”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

I live at the oceanfront and spend time in Norfolk. This is by far the best all around. If you haven't tried the spicy cucumber salad you're missing out...no other restaurant offers it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    6
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ash, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful Japanese Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I recently went to eat at Daikichi and don't let the word "Bistro" fool you - it's not a petite bijou meal that you will receive - depending on what you get is how big your plate will be but I guarantee you that you will not leave the place feeling hungry. The sushi is made fresh daily - right in front of the customers.

It has an authentic Japanese feel to it with some tables to the left being traditional Japanese seating. You walk in and you feel welcomed.

My group even asked a guy standing behind us if he would like to join our table which he did. It was really nice. I would defiinitely recommend eating here even if you are weary about eating Sushi - not all sushi is about raw fish.

This place also has amazing Udon (thick rice noodles) which is what I had and it just couldn't have been any better.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Japanese created and served by master sushi chefs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Very authentic and delicious Japanese bento box lunch and dinners. Japanese staff. Table seating, sushi bar seating and traditional low seating on tatami floor with zabuton cusions. Sometime has foods imported from Japan that are in season; mushrooms, oysters, seafoods (soft shell shrimp).

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Authentic and Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Daikichi is one of the only Japanese-owned sushi restaurants in Hampton Roads, and it shows in their menu. So many of their authentic Japanese dishes are simply not available at other restaurants. And their sushi rolls are not covered in sauces and tempura flakes to mask the taste of the fish - at Daikichi the fish is the star of the meal.

I go for lunch multiple times a week. Their lunch specials are great values - typically 3 rolls for $10, and they also offer a combination lunch that matches a kitchen entree with sushi, also for $10. On Thursdays a Japanese special lunch is offered, which changes every week and is always delicious.

The service is great, and the chef-owner, Hiro, is very welcoming and personable. He is also an artist with a sushi knife. The chirashi is almost too pretty to eat (but of course I do eat it because it is delicious).

Overall, this is a fantastic and authentic Japanese restaurant that I recommend whole-heartedly to everyone. They are closed on Sundays, but this just proves how great the restaurant is - they can't get fresh fish delivered on Sunday so they do not open.

Love it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese Cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

This is one of the only Japanese restaurants in the area that has more obscure Japanese dishes on the menu. Having visited Japan a few years ago, I was on the hunt for a good soba noodle soup and tempura. Daikichi has it! They even have the special spice blend that I sprinkled on my food in Tokyo.

The atmosphere is lovely! You can either sit at a Western style table or on the floor Japanese style. The service area is also very clean.

The servers are on the whole quiet, but friendly.

I highly recommend this restaurant for authentic Japanese cuisine that goes beyond your run of the mill sushi joint. :)

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daikichi Sushi Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Daikichi Sushi Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daikichi Sushi Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.