We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - Good for Business Travelers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Greenbrier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Greenbrier to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Greenbrier
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1565 Crossways Boulevard, Chesapeake, VA 23320   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Deal
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Chesapeake
Charleston, SC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great stay - Good for Business Travelers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

I am a devout Hilton customer, and I am pleased with my stay at this HGI in Chesapeake, VA. My non-smoking king room was furnished with the standard HGI furniture - king bed, desk, arm chair with ottoman, and tv armoire. The room also had the refrigerator and microwave, which is standard at HGI's (and one of the reasons why I chose to stay here). The room was clean, the staff were friendly and helpful, and I had no complaints during my 6-night stay. The fitness room is a little on the small side, but they did have free weights and cardio machines - however, if you want a more intense workout experience, you can drive about 2 blocks to the Golds Gym where your HGI room key will get you a free pass to use their facilities. This hotel is fairly new, and they are maintaining it well. I recommend this for business travelers - lots of shopping, restaurants, and grocery stores nearby.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    58
    29
    10
    18
See reviews for
66
28
17
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
D.C.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2009

Stayed at the Chesapeake Garden Inn for a quick business trip. It’s a pretty average hotel, or maybe just a couple clicks above average: Nice lobby, decent bar/restaurant area, cookies when you check in, nice fireplace area, etc. I'm confused by the raves of other reviewers; if you go in expecting superior accommodations, you might be left scratching your head... Don’t let the newness sway your decision, as there are oodles of hotels in that area to choose from, & I’ve been told they’re all pretty new. One disappointment was that when I was checking in, they claimed they “overbooked” & didn’t have the room I reserved. Apparently no fault of this particular hotel, as it was explained this was done from some corporate booking account or something, and the poor receptionist went to great lengths to accommodate everyone in line. She sent the person ahead of me to a different hotel, but I had been traveling for many, many hours & just didn’t want to get back in a car to go anywhere, so I was given the choice between a smoking room or an “accessible” room. Apparently the last two rooms left. Ok, not a huge deal, & this didn’t tarnish the Hilton name quite as badly as Paris herself, but I’ve stayed at many hotels & this isn’t what I’d expect from a reputable chain.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

I travel frequently for business and have stayed here a few times in the past. The rooms are very comfortable. I stayed there 5 nights this trip. Staff is outstanding. Facilities are very clean. Location is near many restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

I recently stayed here to attend a friend's wedding, with my fiance and another couple.

We arrived around dinner time, I went in to check-in and was promptly greeted (with a smile!) by a lady behind the desk. Check-in took about a whole 2 minutes. I requested 2 extra keys (since we had 4 people) and she gave them to me, no questions asked. Though i later i found out my key didnt work, but since we were always together, not a big deal.

Headed up to our room, it was clean, cozy and COLD. lets just say the AC is more than adequate, but that is the way i prefer it. linens were standard, and beds had ample pillows. Bathroom was nicely stocked with Neutragena products (shampoo, conditioner, lotion, soap....). Plenty of towels too (which we brought to the beach with us), and were given more when requested. The rooms have complimentary wireless and wired internet for your use, which i LOVED. i can't believe how more hotels do not offer this, or at least for free.

Breakfast selection wasnt the greatest, but has what you need. eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, a variety of fruit and yogurt and even a belgian waffle maker! and the best part, a man on the grill, for made to order eggs and omletes.

The hotel is a bit of a drive from the beach area, about 20 miles (30 minutes) away. We did not get to enjoy the pool, and was a downer that it closed at 10pm. the "fitness center" was very skimpy. a bike, a treadmill, some weights and a bench, all in an area smaller than a guestroom.

The only cons that are worth mentioning: on our only full day, saturday, we had gone off to the beach in the morning (8am-ish). came back to the hotel around 2pm to get ready for the wedding. we returned to find the room had not been cleaned yet. around 3pm, housekeeping came around and asked if we wanted our room cleaned, in which we said yes, but asked if they could return closer to 4, when we would have left again for the wedding. they said they could not. so they ended up servicing the room while we were all getting ready. then ironically, on sunday morning (day we were checking out), they came around at 8am. i didnt really understand this....but yea, probably the only negative part of our stay. The other, tho not a huge deal, we did try to request a late check out (in no rush to return to our busy lives in NYC), but were denied, they said they were not granting any late check-outs for the day. if not for the housekeeping issue, i would have rated it 5/5.

so, all in all, a great stay, wish we could have enjoyed the pool. but we did enjoy the beach, which got crowded as the day went by. I would recommend staying here, its quiet, cozy and clean, and the staff was very friendly.

  • Liked — comfortable
  • Disliked — housekeeping issue...
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah Georgia US
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

This hotel exceeded all expectations, as high as they were!
I've stayed at many Hilton Garden Inns for business trips and I like them in general: rooms, lobbies, floor plan, etc. but this particular one was GREAT because of the superb staff and quiet, nice room. Complimentary shuttle to & from hotel & airport. Close to many restaurants & in front of a large movie theater complex. Safe environment and surroundings.

Front desk personnel: lovely
Bar & Small Breakfast/Dinner place staff: wonderful
Shuttle driver Sam: polite & wonderful

I had to leave out at an unusually early time when their complimentary van was not up & running yet and I was having a very difficult time getting a taxi to the hotel. The property engineer/maintenance engineer (Patrick!) actually drove me in the van after happening upon me talking to the desk clerk about my transportation problem. So unexepected, so fantatic!

This hotel should be a model for the all of the Hilton Garden Inns.
Very impressed, very happy.

  • Liked — Amenities, Staff, Cleanliness
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, VA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

Do not book your reservations thru the hotel website. Call directly to the hotel. I arrived to the hotel and the only room that was available was a smoking room. My stay was the worst experience ever.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Smoke Filled Room
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2007

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn and found it to be exceptionally nice. We had checked the web and found nearby locations the same price with bad reviews. This hotel is relatively new and the location is quiet and not on the interstate.
The room was very clean, HUGE, and had very nice furnishings that included a comfortable chair and desk chair. There was wireless internet, a microwave, refrigerator, and coffeemaker. The only thing I missed was a free breakfast. The hotel does offer free coffee but the breakfast is provided for a fee. The hotel desk clerk was very pleasant and professional. Freshly baked cookies were offered at checkin. I would definitely stay here again and hope you chose this location.

  • Liked — huge room, very nicely furnished, very clean
  • Disliked — needed free breakfast
  • Stayed March 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Greenbrier

Address: 1565 Crossways Boulevard, Chesapeake, VA 23320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chesapeake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chesapeake
#6 Family Hotel in Chesapeake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Greenbrier 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Greenbrier is located in the Greenbrier Business Park and is minutes from Greenbrier Mall. Enjoy the patented Garden Sleep System® bed, complimentary high-speed internet access, and flat-screen TV with cable channels in every guest room. Our on-site restaurant, the Great American Grill, is open for breakfast and dinner, plus offers in-room dining service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake Hotel Chesapeake
Hilton Chesapeake
Chesapeake Hilton Garden Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Greenbrier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.