We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AHHHH Bed Bugs” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Suites Of Chesapeake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sun Suites Of Chesapeake to your Saves list
Sun Suites Of Chesapeake
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1520 Crossways Blvd, Chesapeake, VA 23320   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Chesapeake
Broadway Virginia USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“AHHHH Bed Bugs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Do not here! I stayed here for 3 nights and by the second day I was in the ER with severe allergic reactions to bed bug bites. The staff is friendly but the place is nasty, save your skin and find a better place!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    13
    11
    10
    36
See reviews for
21
10
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011


My husband, myself, and 3 kids were in town for a conference and had this room booked for us (we were working the conference.)
The staff at the front desk was nice enough... did their basic jobs. Nothing great, but nothing bad either.

The room...decent enough size for the 5 of us, one being 8 months old. 2 double beds but we'd deal. Well, our nonsmoking room smelled like cigarettes, which we found butts of under the beds. The microwave had to be unplugged and replugged any time we wanted to use it because 1 button worked!
The bathroom and towels were clean, though we needed more than the 2 provided. Which I got no problem.
Tv and remote were fine though The channels sucked and wasn't programmed, and lost signal during the rain. The carpet had a burn mark where obviously someone put a hot pan down on.
Now, the beds... AWFUL!!! Thinner than my babys crib mattress. All you could feel was boxsprings! My husband wound up sleeping on the floor! It was more comfortable! The mattress was noisy too. Literallyevery move you made including a deep breath you could hear it creaking... loudly!
And... BEDBUGS!!!! We didn't know this til the next day. I have the bites the worst. All up and down my legs! We changed hotels the next day. Stayed at the Founder's Inn instead.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pgh PA
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Great stay, staff friendly, clean, no pool/restaurant l but didnt need either. Great value! Beds comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

We read the other reviews but figured it couldn't be that bad. We were wrong. As we walked into the room there was a strong smell that over took us. Then we checked the bed and found stains of who knows what all over. Some looked like blood stains. Still in disgust from the beds we found our first roach. Many more followed. Wrapped in our own blankets from home, we were rudely awakened by the alarm clock at 530 am. The tv remote did not work an the buttons on the tv were missing. There was hair in the bathroom. While walking down the stairs we came across part of someones weave or a chunk of hair. When walking past one room the smell of marijuanna was evident and another reeked of garbage or sewer. We immediately checked out and chose another hotel near by.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

The staff went above and beyond the call of duty at Sun Suite. Even if staff were busy they were kind enough to acknowledge us and as soon as they could they were there offering assisstance or if they couldn't help they knew somebody that could. My time and money was well spent there. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

I stay at your suites several times a year. And I particularly like your staff and rooms. I would like to suggest that issue some type of card to frequent guests for a discount, lowest prices, etc. This would improve your customer relations tremendously.

Room Tip: Get a room on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

All readers! Please find yourself another hotel. This hotel is nasty. You can smell the carpet when you walk in. Your shoes sticks to carpet. The lights are very dim so you can't see very well in the room. Its old and not well maintained. When asking for our money back, the Assistant Manager told me no refund due to not asking for it within the first 15 min. of check in. She stated that was their policy. However, nothing in writing said it. We lost $55.23. We will never stay at this hotel again while in Chesapeake, VA. Tip for you and others, do your home work and research "Hotel Reviews" online first before selecting a hotel. I will this day forward. BEWARE OF THIS HOTEL - NASTY!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Suites Of Chesapeake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Suites Of Chesapeake

Address: 1520 Crossways Blvd, Chesapeake, VA 23320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chesapeake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Chesapeake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sun Suites Of Chesapeake 2*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Sun Suites Of Chesapeake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Suites Of Chesapeake Hotel Chesapeake
Sun Hotel Chesapeake
Sun Suites Chesapeake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Suites Of Chesapeake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.