We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd. to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd.
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1421 North Battlefield Boulevard, Chesapeake, VA 23320   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Chesapeake
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Yonkers, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Chesapeake,VA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

While visiting family in Chesapeake, VA it was our pleasure to stay at this Hampton Inn & Suites. It was relatively easy to get to, despite having to turn around in the neighboring strip mall or make an illegal u-turn. Property and hotel well manicured and clean. Rooms were lovely, staff friendly and helpful. While we did not use the pool or gym we heard they were great. The free hot/cold breakfast was very nice, ample selection of fruits, breads, muffins, bagels, donuts, cereals. They also had eggs (scrambled or hard boiled), sausage, bacon and fresh waffles. Of course coffee. tea, milk and a variety of juices rounded out the spread. A wonderful selection for picky children.
For an adult the rooms were comfortable, but for small children the bathroom sinks are way to high. Just for a 7 yr old to brush his teeth he had to climb up onto the vanity so he could reach the sink. While the room looks very stylish it isn't practical.
Despite the bathroom design, I would definitely recommend this hotel. Rates more than reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifford W, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd., responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay. I’m pleased you enjoyed yourselves. Our staff receives many comments about their service and I’m glad you received the high caliber we are known for. I will pass your comments along to everyone during our team meetings. I am sorry you found the sink to be too high for children. That may have been an item overlooked when planning our design. We look forward to having you as a guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    79
    24
    8
    9
See reviews for
144
51
19
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

The staff is very attentive and friendly. I made reservations for six rooms for two nights. Due to my HH status, they upgraded all six to suites without my asking. Property is very clean and quiet, which is surprising given the location off a very busy thoroughfare. The only negative is a confusing road access. However, once you figure it out the first time, it's a piece of cake.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orfbf, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd., responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear Ross M:
Thanks so much for taking the time to review our property! We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff made your stay with us comfortable! Here at our property, we do pride ourselves on making sure our guests feel at home away from home and do our best to upgrade our valued HHonors members! I will share with the team your satisfaction with thier service. We agree the parking lot can be tricky the first time due to the side entrance, however its true that once you figure it out, the next time is easy. We try our best to give good directions to make sure our guests can get in easily! We hope your travels bring you and your guests back to us very soon!
Best,
Nicole Webster, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

I stayed just one night at this hotel to attend an interview on the Naval Base, but I would stay again. The hotel is close to 2 main highways and right off of Battlefield Blvd - which has a lot of restaurants to choose from. I passed the correct entrance the first time, but once you find it once, you won't miss it again. The decor in the lobby and the room was very modern and very nice. The room and bathroom were both very clean. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. I was given a room on the end of the floor, and I found the hotel to be very quiet (I was there on a Sunday night). The complimentary HOT breakfast was typical of Hampton Inn & Suites, which was very good! It was well-stocked and clean. The front desk staff was helpful with directions and helping me receive an incoming fax.

This hotel allows guests to bring their dogs. The hotel staff was very welcoming to my dog, and they do not charge extra for your pets to come!! I was not aware at the time that they do not allow you to leave your dogs unattended in the room, which I completely understand, but it was slightly inconvenient for me as I was traveling alone. However, everything worked out in the end (I put my dog in a great nearby daycare during the time I was interviewing) - and I was thankful for the hotel staff's help!

The only issue I had was that I could not get hot water in the shower one morning. The hotel was informed, and I understand that it was promptly fixed! They allowed me late check-out, which was extremely helpful given my schedule.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orfbf, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd., responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear tkg04d:

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! On behalf of my staff and I we thank you for your wonderful comments about our service and cleanliness. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us with your dog. We are happy to welcome our guests with thier pets. We do know that our parking lot can be challenging to find the entrance because of the bus stop out front, so we do our best to give appropriate directions. We hope that you will visit us again in the very near future!
Best,
Nicole Webster, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This was our first time at this location. It was a very nice and well maintained property. The hotel is pet friendly and made it very convenient for us. The room was immaculate and extremely comfortable. The front desk staff was outstanding... extremely helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orfbf, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd., responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear eubfamily:
I am Nicole, the General Manager of the Hampton Inn & Suites Battlefield. On behalf of my staff and I, we thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel! We pride ourselves on our hospitality and comfortable "home away from home" environment for our guests and thier pets! We are so glad you enjoyed our spacious suites that smell and look fresh and clean! We look forward to your next visit with us!
Happy Travels,
Nicole Webster, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norcross, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

This is the first time that I have stayed at this property. It was very nice and well maintained. The front desk staff was extremely helpful. Due to my hilton honors status I was upgraded without even being asked. The access to the hotel is a little difficult and confusing at first but other than that the hotel is an A+,

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orfbf, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd., responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear John F:
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our hotel! My staff and I are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! our Hilton Honors members are our favorite guests! Service and cleanliness are what we take pride in, and the fact that we are a newer hotel with a great location right off of the interstate doesn't hurt either! I agree our parking lot can be a bit tricky; unfortunately we were unable to put a driveway on the front of the building due to city restrictions. We would love to have you back with us the next time you visit the Chesapeake/Battlefield Blvd area! Thank you again for your wonderful comments!
-Nicole Webster, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I have stayed at this particular Hampton Inn several times when visiting family in the area. The rooms are immaculate, large and very comfortable. And the staff is always friendly and accommodating. The price is comparable, and more often less than other hotel chains in this category. I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: I always try to avoid rooms near the elevator, as that's where activity (noise) is more frequent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orfbf, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd., responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear kat106:
I am Nicole, the General Manager of the Hampton Inn & Suites Battlefield. On behalf of my staff and I, we thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review of our hotel! We pride ourselves on our hospitality and comfortable environment. We are so glad you enjoyed our spacious rooms. Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We look forward to your next visit with us!
Happy Travels,
Nicole Webster, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisburg, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

I stay at many hotels because I travel for work. Hampton Inn was so clean and nice. VERY Pet(dog) friendly and they don't charge you. Pets are like family and its so nice to have a place that you can bring them with you and not have to pay an arm and a leg. I wish more Hampton Inns would provide this same service. THANKS Hampton Inn Battlefield for making my stay so good. Very Quiet hotel and GREAT breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orfbf, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd., responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear BrendaSH:
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of our hotel! What a pleasure it is to hear about how our hotel and team members helped make your trip a pleasant one! We are happy to hear that your dogs also enjoyed their stay. We agree pets can be like family, and we are happy to accept dogs with no fee! Please come visit us again soon!
Best,
Nicole Webster, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd.

Address: 1421 North Battlefield Boulevard, Chesapeake, VA 23320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chesapeake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chesapeake
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chesapeake
#7 Business Hotel in Chesapeake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd. Hotel Chesapeake
Hampton Inn And Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.