We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Chesapeake

Save Saved
You added Marriott Chesapeake to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott Chesapeake
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   725 Woodlake Drive, exit 289A off I-64 (Greenbrier Pkwy North), Chesapeake, VA 23320   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #12 of 40 hotels in Chesapeake
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quick Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stay at this Marriott when we visit family in the Virginia Beach area. I realized after staying here the second time that it would be a great place to stay if visiting the Tidewater area. The hotel is about an hour or less from Colonial Williamsburg, but for the price of the rooms; it would be worth the trip. It is also close to Busch Garden, Yorktown and Jamestown but without the price tag attached to those areas. It's close to Virginia Beach and an nice hour's drive if you want to mosey into North Carolina taking the scenic route. The rooms are clean and we found them to be very quiet. The staff is extremely friendly. There is also a nice lounge area. I didn't use it but there is a pool which my relatives used and enjoyed. I will definately stay here again. Oh! Starsbuck coffee served in the AM...almost forgot.

Room Tip: I have stayed here twice and both times the rooms were the last ones at the end of the hall. Roomy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    35
    25
    2
    6
See reviews for
28
16
7
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
consum1
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The conceirge lounge at this location is nicely furnished and has a nice city veiw, since it is on the top floor. It is opened 24 hours and has 2 50" LCDs for separate viewing. It has a business center and serves a full hot breakfast and Dinner Monday through Thursday. It is a great place for business travelers to work and relax. Fortunately during my 3 week stay,I only saw 1 set of kids in the lounge. It is a great adult atmosphere for relaxing after a long day. The conceirge has its own full kitchen and the chef did a great job of nightly variety on dinner and dessert.

Room Tip: The rooms are very large. Ask for a room at end of hallway, for some reason the doors close very lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Outstanding staff at this Marriott. Stayed on two separate occasions within a week's time. First stay was great. Pro football team was also staying there the first night and my first thought was I would probably get very little sleep. Not so. Hotel was extremely quiet and room extremely clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. Delicious buffet breakfast. Second stay was not problem free, however, manager made sure problem was corrected and that my stay was as pleasant as it could be considering I had to check into three different rooms before I was satisfied. Given the attentiveness to my problem, I am certain management has rectified the housekeeping issues and I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again in the future. Thanks again for management's prompt attention and resolution.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed 3 nights at this Marriott last week. The lobby was very nice along with the greeting I received when I arrived. The room was good, but the bathroom could use a slight upgrade (slight). The bar was fabulous with great staff, me and co workers spent three nights there after work events and it was a great way to cap the night. If in the area I again I will stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I came in with friends for my 25th birthday at the very last minute. I called and Ebony answered the phone she was very sweet and professional. I knew that most hotels would be sold out at the last minute but she was ablt to help me and give me a room on a high floor. When I got to the hotel i has the pleasure of meeting her also. She had a warm welcoming smile. I was having a bad day as nothing was going as planned but she surely made things better we chatted for a while. She answered all of my questions and really made the trip great. She is doing a great job at the Norfolk Chesapeak location if your there ask for her. I will definately come back to this hotel. Thanks to Ebony.

The rooms are great the King size beds are very comfortable. The location is perfect for shopping and not far form the ocean front or downtown Norfolk which is where we went to party.

Room Tip: Call before hand some times if the hotel isnt fully booked they can block a room for you. NO GUARANT...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central NJ
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Crisp clean and quality hotel. I used name your own price, and what a deal for the stay. Two nights - under $100. Used the business facilities and was underwhelmed, but the rest was top quality for the dollar.

Room Tip: Higher floors are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 26 days, unfortunately(on military orders). The worst hotel experience ever. Found BED BUG in a bed. Killed it. Blood. Many silver bugs in a room. Not all personal are nice and like what they do. Some are very unpleasant to deal with.

Room Tip: just avoid this hotel at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jon_siebring, General Manager at Marriott Chesapeake, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

I like to apologize for the problem you experienced during your recent stay. Bed bugs are a serious problem in the United States at the moment and are brought in on luggage most of the time. We take this issue very serious and your room aswell as the adjoining rooms were treated immediately after your departure.

Jon Siebring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Chesapeake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Chesapeake

Address: 725 Woodlake Drive, exit 289A off I-64 (Greenbrier Pkwy North), Chesapeake, VA 23320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chesapeake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Chesapeake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Chesapeake 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newest Marriott offers all the latest innovations and amenities a full service Marriott has to offer including: flat screen 32" HDTVs, plug and play connectivity HDTV, indoor pool, Starbucks coffee, Lobby Bar, Lounge, Restaurant, free parking, complimentary valet parking, meeting space. Our Great Room Lobby has ample public seating for business associates or families to gather and a meet in an informal setting as well as meeting space for formal or catered events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Marriott Chesapeake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Norfolk Chesapeake Hotel Chesapeake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Chesapeake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.