We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Portsmouth-Chesapeake Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Portsmouth-Chesapeake Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Portsmouth-Chesapeake Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3235 Western Branch Blvd, Chesapeake, VA 23321 (Formerly Hotel Craney Island)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Chesapeake
Burlington, North Carolina
1 review
“Delightful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

My family and I visited this Best Western on the weekend of March 1st during a visit to Portsmouth for a church revival. We originally made reservations at another hotel online and after arriving, we found that the hotel was not what it advertised online. After driving around a bit, we decided to choose this Best Western and it was such a delightful choice! The evening manager was able to accommodate four families and was very polite and friendly. The hotel was clean and the room rates were affordable. The morning staff was just as friendly and were willing to make our stay enjoyable. I am very thankful for this staff and their kindness and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICNCP, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Portsmouth-Chesapeake Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Shantel R,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am very happy that your family made the choice to stay with us and we were able to accomodate you. I hope you were able to enjoy breakfast before starting your day. Our staff works very hard to provide quality service, so that everyone will have a stay as delightful as yours. If you in the area in the near future, remember to come back and stay with people that care!

Yours in Service,
Regina Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    22
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
36
15
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I stayed for valentine weekend,the suite was awesome....actually looked like the website picture..no complaints ,,thinking about going back next year or even this summer for family vacation staff was very nice and pleasant,very helpful with whatever we needed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICNCP, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Portsmouth-Chesapeake Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear 411Sharonb,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel regardng your stay.I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the suite and relax during Valentine's weekend. I hope you were able to enjoy our breakfast during your visit before you started your day.

We strive to be your choice when visiting the area and from your comments, I hope you will conitnue to come back when visiting the area. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us during your visit to the area.

Yours in Service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerton, SC
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

This hotel was sufficiently comfortable and was clean. We are in the Churchland area fairly frequently & have stayed at all 4 inns in that region. I would call this hotel the nicest in that section. We spent 1 night.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICNCP, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Portsmouth-Chesapeake Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Magnolia10,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel. I was excited to have received a great review from such a frequent traveler as yourself. I hope that during your stay with us, you were able to enjoy our breakfast to help you start your day. During future visits to the Churchland area, please allow us to be your home way from home. We strive to be our guests one and only choice in the area by providing quality service! I will be sure to share your review with the rest of the staff members!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you in the near future!

Yours in service,
Regina Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had a wondeful stay! The room was clean and comfortable and as always the breakfast buffet was awesome!! The rate was significantly cheaper than our last visit which was a plus as well. The location is very convenient to our daughter who we visit offten. The Best Western rewards program is very good!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICNCP, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Portsmouth-Chesapeake Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Lisa K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel. I was delighted to see that you returned and this stay was better than the last. It takes honest feedback from our guests in order for us to continue to improve and we appreciate it in every way. I hope during your visits with your daughter, you will continue to allow us to be your hotel choice in Chesapeake.

We really appreciate you giving us another chance for a better experience and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Always at your service,
Regina Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

My family stayed here while visiting friends in the area. The hotel was clean and close to local restaurants. The room was big and there was an in room refrigerator and microwave (although our microwave was broken). The complimentary breakfast was great--huge selection of items-- eggs, make your own waffles, cereal, etc. The biggest problem with our stay was the lumpy, completely uncomfortable pillows (all 4 of us agreed on this and wished we had brought our own). The beds were ok. Although the staff were very friendly and helpful (especially the ladies helping with breakfast), I think if we visit Chesapeake, Virginia again we will choose to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICNCP, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Portsmouth-Chesapeake Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear T. S.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. We are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. We apologize for the issues that you endured while visiting with us. We will surely take this information and forward it to the departments to correct these issues. We thrive on making sure that each and every one of our guests are completely satisfied with their stay and would like for you to return whenever you are in the area again. Please give our property a call directly so that we can assist you with making the reservation. We look forward to hearing from you.

At your service,
Shartia Stratton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crozet, VA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Welcoming staff. Excellent location. Great breakfast. Clean room. Quiet premises. Convenient parking. Senior Citizen rate. Internet access. Definitely a best stay and a best buy. Easy access to downtown Portsmouth museums---Children's Museum, VA Sports Hall of Fame and Norfolk Naval Shipyard Museum. Shopping malls and restaurants are nearby within a few mile radius. We'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICNCP, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Portsmouth-Chesapeake Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Joseph G,

Thank you for the comments and for staying with us. We are very pleased to hear that you received great services from the warm welcome, great breakfast, to our clean rooms. We take pride in knowing that our guests are happy and will be returning. We will continue to offer great rates, great value, and most important......great service.

At your service,
Shartia Stratton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Clean rooms, friendly staff, good breakfast, great service all around - what more can you ask for?

We previously stayed here when it was the Hampton Inn and you can tell that the switch to Best Western came with a few upgrades (including wifi).

Also, we were thrilled to find out that the hotel is pet friendly, which was very convenient!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICNCP, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Portsmouth-Chesapeake Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Vtely,
Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel! We love to hear feedback from our valued guests such as you. I am very pleased to hear that we were able to give you excellent service, a clean fresh room and a great meal while you stayed with us at the Best Western Plus in Chesapeake. Being Pet friendly is very important to us and our furry friends need a great place to stay while traveling as well.

We look forward to your return and please contact me directly if you or your family members need to make reservations for our property when you are in the area.

At you service,
Regina Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Portsmouth-Chesapeake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Portsmouth-Chesapeake Hotel

Address: 3235 Western Branch Blvd, Chesapeake, VA 23321 (Formerly Hotel Craney Island)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chesapeake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Chesapeake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Portsmouth-Chesapeake Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you need for a great business trip, at even better value when you stay at our warm and welcoming BEST WESTERN PLUS Portsmouth-Chesapeake Hotel. Enjoy friendly service and make yourself at home in a clean, comfy guest room. Watch your favorite shows on our 32-inch HD televisions, catch up with work using the free high-speed wireless Internet access or get some rest on a clean and fresh bed. Start your day right with Best Western Plus complimentary hot breakfast featuring our signature eggs and sausage, gravy, biscuits, oatmeal, and other tasty hot and cold breakfast items. Catch up with work in the business center. After a busy day, re-energize in the state of the art expanded fitness center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Portsmouth-Chesapeake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Norfolk / Portsmouth / Chesapeake Hotel Chesapeake
Hampton Inn Chesapeake
Chesapeake Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Portsmouth-Chesapeake Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.