We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good place to stop for the night” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Studios and Suites 4 Less Gum Road

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Studios and Suites 4 Less Gum Road to your Saves list
Studios and Suites 4 Less Gum Road
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2424 Gum Road, Chesapeake, VA 23321 (Formerly SpringHill Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Chesapeake
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not a good place to stop for the night”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped at the Studio & Suites on our way to Outer Banks, NC. We thought it would be a good and affordable place to stop for the evening before finishing our drive. Boy, were we wrong. Immediately upon arrival, we could tell the hotel (which had mostly positive feedback) was not your typical road trip hotel. There were 4-5 cars parked in the unloading zone, blocking it entirely, and the people in the cars were just hanging out and smoking (very obviously not actually unloading anything) . When you walk in the front door, there is a giant cardboard sign that states there is "No parties allowed" and "ABSOLUTELY NO REFUNDS". There was a group of adult men hanging out in the lobby (which reeked of cigarette smoke), and this group stared at my wife when she walked in to the point where she was extremely uncomfortable. It was very clear this establishment functions more as a temporary housing establishment, and not a traveler's hotel. The lady behind the counter was rude, and spent more time negotiating the price of a bottle of marijuana scented spray with the man in front of us than she did checking us in. Long story short, the atmosphere on our floor and in our room was not any better, as it was noisy and smelled like smoke, and we left the hotel about 30 minutes after getting to our room. Do not stay at this establishment if you are just passing through. May be fine if you know the people and area, but not a comfortable, clean, or welcoming place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    16
    9
    9
    7
See reviews for
19
11
12
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

Checked in Saturday at 2:57 am,ended up paying for 2 nights when the clerk when we checked in stated that checkout would be Sunday at 11:00 am before payment was made because we wouldn't have paid for the room for a few hours, signed the receipt with the Sunday checkout printed on it, was informed of their policy by the day crew and that even though the employee who checked us in is "in training" and ended up with my card being charged for 2 full nights instead of 1 or even 1 full night with a late checkout. The owner has yet to contact me regarding this matter and the front desk employee has POOR PEOPLE AND CUSTOMER SERVICE SKILLS. I understand policies, remained calm, checked the information, suggested that the employee be retrained regarding policy, and was still met with an unprofessional attitude, and learned that in this case the customer is not right at all and the hotel did not take responsibility for the "mistake" made by the employee "in training."

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

Me and ny friend and my 2 kids stayed there for 2 weeks. We travelled over from england to visit family and was our first ever trip to the usa. We loved every minute of our stay there. The management were fantastic and really helpful. Our rooms were clean and had everything we needed. Clean towels everyday coffee machine fridge microwave. Thankyou to everybody there for making us very welcome and making our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Nice stay nice staff very polite second time staying was there in June also very nice recommened to anyone to stayRudra clean housekeepers were nice nice at the front desk close to the malls restaurants in fast food restaurants really enjoyed ourselves next time we go back with using them again

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel on one of our vacations. We have family in the area, so our vacation consisted of visits with them, and also some day trips to Virginia Beach and other tourist attractions. We had a wonderful time. The hotel is in a great area where you can easily make short trips to lots of fun or historical places. The hotel rooms were clean and well-kept. The staff was very friendly and ready to assist with any of our needs. The hotel was quiet and relaxing. They had a nice laundry area. The vending area near the front desk had many choices for a quick snack. Will definitely stay there again on future trips.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESAPEAKE , VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I use to live in the area and stayed at this hotel when it was owned by Marriott so when I purchased my hotel room from a discount website where I picked the stars and they gave me this one, I knew that I was probably going to be disappointed. The hotel itself is "ok" but nothing like it was when it was when it was owned by Marriott. It is noisy (especially on Friday and Sat) and except for Wi-Fi, it has NO amenities. The room was clean when I arrived but the housekeeper didn't clean up very well while I was there. The front desk clerks were not friendly (except for the one there when I first arrived and owner when I left). If you're looking for cheap place to stay, this is it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Sadly I had to check out today, 2 September 2013, after staying a month. This place has wonderful personnel, very clean rooms, breakfast EVERY morning, and seems like they have staff standing by just to make each individual customer feel comfortable. They are very friendly and my room was great! Definitely worth it! Thank You Springhill!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Studios and Suites 4 Less Gum Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studios and Suites 4 Less Gum Road

Address: 2424 Gum Road, Chesapeake, VA 23321 (Formerly SpringHill Suites)
Location: United States > Virginia > Chesapeake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Chesapeake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Studios and Suites 4 Less Gum Road 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Studios and Suites 4 Less Gum Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Chesapeake Hotel Chesapeake
Chesapeake Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Studios and Suites 4 Less Gum Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.