We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of room updates” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chesapeake Greenbrier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Chesapeake Greenbrier to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Chesapeake Greenbrier
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1562 Crossways Blvd, Chesapeake, VA 23320   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Chesapeake
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“In need of room updates”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

when you enter the lobby of this hotel you are wowed. Its been updated and looks fresh and clean. The first room I had had a live roach on the curtain. The staff was very attentive and moved me to another room without a beat. In my second room, you can see repaired holes in the ceiling, the blackout curtain broke and cannot be opened, the bathroom sink/faucet is outdated and barely functional. The drawers are broken on the room furniture. For this price, and with Marriott (even though its a courtyard) I would have expected better. There are plenty of other hotels in the area that offer more for the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    25
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
14
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

From the moment we checked in the front desk greeted us with a warm smile. Everyone was very pleasant throughout the entire hotel. Our housekeeper made sure our room was taken care of and even left us extra towels in our room, noticing we went through a lot with 4 of us. In the morning we enjoyed breakfast, my kids really like the french toast and there was nice selection on the menu. When we come back to the area we will definitely be staying at this Marriott again! One more thing, we enjoyed the indoor swimming pool!

Room Tip: Our room was nice but we loved that we had a balcony! (it gave us just a bit more space to move abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We booked this hotel for a convention we were attending in Norfolk, and we're happily surprised with this great hotel.
The front desk staff is very friendly, as we're every staff member we met.
Our room was large and had a nice flat panel tv with a large selection of channels. The beds are comfortable but the pillows are horrible.. All are flat. The bathroom sink Area is small and makes it hard to get ready if more than one person is staying in the room. The coffee maker should be moved to the desk are and that would give a little more room in the bathroom.
The breakfast area( breakfast is no complimentary) is nice and they do offer free coffee and hot tea all day long.
This hotel is located in a great area, right near the mall AND about 30 restaurants. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayman Islands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Our stay at the this hotel was above average, perhaps the rooms are not very updated but were clean and comfortable. The location is excellent, close to shopping, restaurant and easy to find.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

The hotel is in a good location if you are interested in shopping. The rooms are very average Marriott rooms and seem to be clean. When I stayed there was a very loud group of teenagers taking over the entire hotel. There was noise through the entire night and when I approached the front desk manager the next morning and ask for a discount on my room, and she offered me breakfast vouchers for the inconvenience and told me the kids were leaving that day. Breakfast vouchers do not give me a good nights sleep. If the hotel was almost sold out with a group of teenagers other business and leisure travelers should be given a warning when booking their reservation.

I had breakfast two days in the restaurant and it seemed like they were completely understaffed with only one server. I also ordered room service one night and found the food and service were very underwhelming. I ask the room service attendant if he had the table cart that he could leave since there were 2 of us dining , and he said NO he only had one and he could not let us use it. So we had to make due with one chair and table... it was extremely awkward.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

First room was not even cleaned. Second room had a funky smelll...nasty. Don't bother.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

This is a typical Courtyard that is older but has had its lobby renovated. It is in a convenient location for shopping and restaurants albeit it is not gourmet dining. It is in the nicer area of Greenbrier in Chesapeake and while it is not right on top of the Military bases it is not all that far. The staff at the front desk is very friendly and conveys the Southern Hospitality with a smile. The hotel could use more upgrades but it is acceptable and it seems the hotel is doing it over time.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chesapeake Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chesapeake Greenbrier

Address: 1562 Crossways Blvd, Chesapeake, VA 23320
Location: United States > Virginia > Chesapeake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chesapeake
#10 Family Hotel in Chesapeake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chesapeake Greenbrier 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If visiting the area for leisure, enjoy easy access to golf courses, Colonial Williamsburg, Virginia Beach, Norfolk and many area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chesapeake Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chesapeake Greenbrier Hotel Chesapeake
Chesapeake Courtyard
Chesapeake Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Chesapeake Greenbrier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.