We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip, nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   709 Eden Way North, Chesapeake, VA 23320   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Chesapeake
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Business trip, nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This seems to be a fairly new property that is well kept and good for business travel. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The free breakfast is average. Bonus points for free internet! My only complaint would be that showers are designed to look modern but they are not very comfortable. There is no curtain nor is there a shower door, only a partial glass door. It makes the shower drafty and gets the floor slightly wet. It's just a bizarre design.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    56
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
63
35
6
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Escondido, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt Place for two nights over the Memorial Day weekend. It seemed that the hotel was pretty full with lots of families and family groups staying. The rooms are modern appearing, and our King room had plenty of room with a couch, desk and chair, and a fridge. The room also had a very large flat screen TV, which was enjoyable for watching movies. Access to the closet was through a small opening, which was a little bit inconvenient. We didn't use the swimming pool, but it seemed nice; however, there is not a Jacuzzi, which would have been nice to have. The complimentary breakfast was your standard complimentary hotel breakfast consisting of fruit, cereals, eggs, sausage, pancakes, juice, etc., nothing exceptional. We could hear everything going on in the rooms above and next to us as well as the constant closing of room doors; however, surprisingly this didn't affect our ability to sleep, but it was noticed as to how noisy it was during the morning and evening hours. The bathroom has a shower only, no tub, and while this was fine for us as we weren't travelling with any children, the shower head must have been one of those low flow deals and by the time the water reached your head it was more like a fine mist and very difficult for rinsing out shampoo. Overall, it was a good stay. It is close to many restaurants and shopping but not sure if that is where we would choose to stay if we visited the area again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
709edenway, General Manager at Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Stella306,

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay but we would also like to apologize for the noise that you experienced during your visit. We were sold out all weekend primarily with families and I am sure that most kids were probably very excited to be away on vacation. I am very sorry that the noise they created was noticeable. Also each room that has a king sized bed at our property has a shower only. All the rooms that have 2 queen sized beds do have a tub and shower. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again on your next visit to Chesapeake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Great hotel concept - very clean. Staff was very accommodating and professional. The only complaint I have is there was absolutely NO water pressure and there aren't full doors on the shower - which would be ok if the water got hot, but it never did. My co worker who also stayed here said she had the same issue in her room. Located in a safe area with lots close by.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Upon entering the lobby, it is small but modern and bright. The people behind the front desk were friendly and very helpful. The room is spacious with a partition that separates the bed from the other side of the room, where there is a corner sofa (with a sofabed), a small sink with a refrigerator and a coffee maker. There is also a small desk to do work and there is free wifi. The only negative is a small closet, although it did have an iron and a full size board. There is free breakfast, and although is not a “full” hot breakfast buffet, but there are hot morning sandwiches and waffles, in addition to cereal, oatmeal, fruits, danish and bread. There is a small exercise room and a decent sized pool, all new and modern. But it is the helpfu staff that really makes this hotel a pleasure to stay. I have a bad back and the mattress on the bed was too soft for me. I asked for a different bed in another room. They gave me keys to 6 rooms to look at but all of the beds were too soft for me. The lady at the front desk then brought me up to the 2nd floor and with the head housekeeper, let me try other beds in available rooms. I settled on the firmest bed that I tried and I was really impressed with the way the workers really tried to help me. Since the bed was still on the soft side, the manager said that they'll do something the next day and they put a board under the mattress. I would stay at this hotel the next time I'm in town.

Room Tip: Be careful not to get a room that faces the opposite wall and make sure that it has a full partition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Everything was exceptional!! Eminent breakfast, beautiful establishment throughout, spacious rooms, excellent customer service and great location. My family and I were well pleased with our 4 day stay and would recommend this property to anyone staying in this area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
709edenway, General Manager at Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear MinG29505,

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your kind words and compliments on the staff. We hope to see you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have become a fan of Hyatt Place, love the room floor plan, love the great vanity, plenty of room if sharing, great travel value. The staff are all great, caring, knowledgeable, helpful, they obviously take great pride in their work and the facility.

The room is very comfortable, spacious, does not have a "budget" feel at all. Wet bar, frig, don't recall if there was a microwave, CLEAN, attractive room. Watch out Courtyard and Town Place and Residence Inn--Hyatt Place is a winner (stayed over 95 night in Marriott properties last year, this is a game changer for me)

the breakfast was over all bland--but free, not a deal breaker. Coffee was good.

Room Tip: is there a bad room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
709edenway, General Manager at Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Bpbeth,

Thank-you for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you gave us a chance over Marriott hotels. We appreciate your kind words about the staff and your feedback on the rooms as well as breakfast. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaufort
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed here with my wife and 3 young children, we had a blast. Very clean and spacious rooms. Friendly staff, nice pool and gym area. An absolutely phenomenal breakfast!! Well worth the price and will be staying here again on my next visit!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
709edenway, General Manager at Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Wayne M,

Thank-you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier

Address: 709 Eden Way North, Chesapeake, VA 23320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chesapeake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chesapeake
#7 Family Hotel in Chesapeake
#13 Business Hotel in Chesapeake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary design and a comfortable coffeehouse vibe. Stay in touch via free Wi-Fi from anywhere in the hotel. Signature Hyatt Grand Bed, a plush Cozy Corner oversized sofa sleeper. 42" high-definition flat-panel TV that can be integrated with your laptop or MP3 player. 24-hour Guest Kitchen. Complimentary continental breakfast in the morning. Located in Towne Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier Hotel Chesapeake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.