We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very very clean !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   709 Eden Way North, Chesapeake, VA 23320   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Chesapeake
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very very clean !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

I'm one of those types that if I had to chose between cleaniness & customer service of a hotel, I would always chose cleaniless. Luckily, I didn't have to chose. The service was excellent & the hotel was prestine. And the clean & modern bathroom put the icing on the cake. I will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
709edenway, General Manager at Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Khiarajohnson,

Thank-you so much for taking the time to post a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. We feel that we have an excellent housekeeping crew and it's great to see such positive feedback. I'm going to share your review at our next employee function as I know the staff will enjoy it immensely. Thank-you for choosing Hyatt Place and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    56
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
63
35
6
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I love the Hyatt brand, and unfortunately there are no other Hyatts in the Tidewater area. The hotel is one of the newer "ground up" Hyatt Places that have a redesigned room layout than most. The standard rooms no longer have individual microwaves, but do have a fridge and an individual brew coffee maker. The microwave is now downstairs in the common area where breakfast is served.

The new upgrades though do include an indoor pool, Life Fitness equipment and free weights gym, a coffee and alcohol bar down stairs and freshly made pastries and sandwiches. As always, there is a multimedia connection to the TV making doing business work, or watching streaming video via the free high speed wifi a blast.

While the Hyatt Places are not as "fresh" as the Starwood Alofts or ICH's Indigos, they are perfect for the business traveler. Especially those who are staying more than one night.

I can't wait until either a Hyatt House or a "full" Hyatt hotel arrives in the area.

This property is located in the Greenbrier area of Chesapeake, close to malls and chain restaurants, but far from the military bases and the ocean front. Commute time can be anywhere from 20-45 minutes depending on destination.

Room Tip: Get rooms with Showers instead of the tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I grew up in the area and stay in this hotel when I come to visit relatives. I have tried most of the hotel offerings on Greenbrier hotel strip. This is our favorite one and the one we always stay at now when in town.

Why is this our #1 hotel:
o great price in the off season
o large comfortable rooms. Sofa/lounge, desk, big flat screen TV, and fridge.
o clean, clean, clean
o free breakfast. They have upgraded the breakfast since we stayed here last. It was hot and
delicious. Oh yeah, my wife likes that they have Starbucks coffee
o after hours snack case. Yummy cakes and cookies available for purchase late at night.
The chocolate chunk cookie was a nice treat to cap off the night.
o free wi-fi. No annoying passcodes to type in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nolensville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I am usually disappointed by something at every hotel I visit, but this visit exceeded all of my expectations. Our room was large and clean. The breakfast offerings were delicious and free and the customer service we received was second to none. Awesome location and value for the money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
709edenway, General Manager at Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear TN Superteacher,

Thank-you so much for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. We are very proud of the effort our housekeeping staff gives everyday and they will be very excited to see your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your trip and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've never stayed at a Hyatt Place, I usually do Marriot and Hilton hotels but this hotel is one to write home about! LARGE spacious rooms, breakfast that rivals local restaraunts. PETS ALLOWED. All you smell is CLEAN and fresh. Soft linen, smiley staff, and clean halls. Even a bar in the front if you desire.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
709edenway, General Manager at Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Plcarty,

Thank-you so much for the kind review. We are excited that you gave us a try over Marriott and Hilton. We appreciate the kind words and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
433 helpful votes 433 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is so far the best hotel of our 28 day trip to USA, we stayed here for 3 nights & it was perfect. Room was superb with full sitting area & extremely comfortable beds. Breakfast was good but think the hot options could have been bettered as waffles etc dry up too much in a warming tray, however we loved the fresh fruit & pastries. Location was good especially if you like shopping as we were surrounded by malls.Very safe area.

Room Tip: All of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
709edenway, General Manager at Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Eileenj,

I hope that your extensive trip through the states was exciting and safe. Thank-you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate the feedback and loved that you enjoyed our Hyatt Grand beds. We hope that you visit us next time you are in the states.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Recently stayed here for a one day business trip. The hotel is nice, clean and in a great central location. The free wifi and complimentary breakfast were an added bonus. The rooms are nice and spacious. The hotel itself is very clean and the staff were very accommodating. The free shuttle to the airport was nice as well. The only "ding" I can stay which is more of a preference is the shower only has half a door. Other than that perfect.

Room Tip: Higher floor is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
709edenway, General Manager at Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
TravlingTS,

Thank-you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. The staff and I appreciate the kind words about our hotel. Hyatt has received similar feedback about the shower half doors and all newly built Hyatt Places now have longer doors. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier

Address: 709 Eden Way North, Chesapeake, VA 23320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Chesapeake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chesapeake
#7 Family Hotel in Chesapeake
#13 Business Hotel in Chesapeake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary design and a comfortable coffeehouse vibe. Stay in touch via free Wi-Fi from anywhere in the hotel. Signature Hyatt Grand Bed, a plush Cozy Corner oversized sofa sleeper. 42" high-definition flat-panel TV that can be integrated with your laptop or MP3 player. 24-hour Guest Kitchen. Complimentary continental breakfast in the morning. Located in Towne Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier Hotel Chesapeake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.