We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once you get the hang of it... Pretty good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chipotle

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chipotle
Emmit Street, Charlottesville, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #110 of 455 restaurants in Charlottesville
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Takeout
MidAtlantic
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Once you get the hang of it... Pretty good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I used to live in San Francisco's 'mission' district. This is apparently where the CEO of Chipotle got his idea. However, mission burritos do not contain a mere 1/4 pound of meat. To make his burritos as big as a mission burrito, Mr Chipotle wants us to put in a bunch of other stuff. As a result, Chipotle burritos generally end up kind of cold and runny, especially if you opt to not put rice in.

Even so, although they pale in comparison to a pastor burrito at San Jose #1, they are pretty good for the east coast.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    12
    12
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“classic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

You know what you're getting when you come here, and it lives up to whatever you probably expected before (marginally different?). Burritos and bowls are the usual, quesadilla if you're feeling something lighter. Can be crowded at times but decent atmosphere

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah National Park, Virginia
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Chipotle...Always Good, Wherever The Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We're frequent customers at many locations and always know what we're getting. What we're getting is good, healthy food at reasonable prices. Expect to stand in a line at this restaurant; however, the lines move swiftly and soon it will be your turn to see what you're ordering, right in front of you. Never have we been disappointed, and we always look forward to our next Burrito Bowl, wherever the location! Signed....Creatures of (good) Habit!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Veggie Bowl is the best!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I can't get enough of the veggie bowl and chips... I am addicted. Friendly staff and clean place.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for east coast, decent for west coast chain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Chipotle is a great alternative for when you can't find a place that makes its own tortillas. Think of it like a deli that has great meats and cheeses but uses grocery store big brand bread. If they did the standard west coast thing and hired a few abuelas to make fresh corn tortillas all day that get grilled before your very eyes and then assembled for your tacos, the place would be phenomenal. But until then, it's still chain food, not down home.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chipotle also viewed

Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Chipotle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chipotle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.