We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what i had hoped for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Monticello

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlottesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Monticello
1188 Scottsville Rd., Hwy. 20 S., Charlottesville, VA 22902   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Just what i had hoped for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2007

On our road trip around the East Coast we had chosen to stay in hotels but had wanted at least a couple of days in a more home from home and chose this B&B for its lovely looking house and grounds and from the indivdual rooms which you could select. We were not disappointed the house is beautiful and the grounds just off the main road give it alot of privacy. We were greeted warmly and offered a cool glass of wine to sit on the veranda and recover from the journey. The Blue Room was just as was pictured on their site a big comfortable bed soft furnishing and indivdual antique furniture with a very personal touch. There was no TV not that we missed it but there was a Radio/CD player. Our private bathroom just along the hall (we were given robes to wear) was lovely.
The reception room downstairs was very inviting with lots of information about places to visit and we were given lots of advice about restaurants in the area.
All the guests met together in the morning after coffee on the veranda for breakfast. It was great to meet together with everyone to discuss the days plans over the delicious and homemade breakfast.
Our bedroom upstairs was very quiet but i can imagine having a room downstairs near the reception room might be a little noisy if guests met there in the evening.
I would recommend this B&B and if in Virginia would definately stay there again.

  • Liked — Home from Home
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    366
    58
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
28
203
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2007

The Inn made my engagement celebration weekend with my fiancé - a very memorable success! The innkeepers were very hospitable and engaging. The property was beautiful and well maintained. We thoroughly enjoyed the awesome breakfast, delicious brownies! Morning coffee on the sun drenched porch was heaven. We stayed in the Green Room on the second floor which was decorated with cozy wood furniture. I appreciated the Egyptian cotton bath towels and comfy bed linens. My fiancé enjoyed the CD player and stack of instrumental music CDs on the side table nightstand. The Inn is located 1 ½ miles from Jefferson’s Monticello and just minutes from downtown Cville and all the wonderful Virginia Wineries. Tons of stuff to do…. Wish we stayed longer & would absolutely go back!

  • Liked — The innkeepers and the property in totality.
  • Disliked — Didn't stay long enough.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2007

My husband and I had the rare opportunity to leave three small children behind for a "romantic" weekend, only to find the access to our "private" bathroom (advertised as such on the Inn's personal website) only available by walking down a very PUBLIC hallway. I didn't find this "private" at all but when I tearfully expressed my distress to the owner, he answered "we have robes." It was a cool weekend, but our in-room fireplace was already closed for the season (also not mentioned on the website) and our in-room CD player did not work. The amount of discount the owners provided (only after I had to ASK for it) was laughable and when I politely restated my disappointment, I was told there would be no further discount. Also, my suggestion that simply changing the wording on the website might prevent future travelers from being upset upon arrival, has so far been ignored. Where is the great personal touch or customer service in that? Granted, this Inn does have a banner reputation. And the owners are banking on that to justify this lack of customer service. In our experience, the attitude was, I don't need to treat these people well, more will follow no matter what, so BEWARE! What will YOUR stay be like? Finally, the two downstairs rooms are right off the main living room where guests gather - so if you are in one of those, you are going to hear all "group conversations" and breakfast preparations - whether you want to or not. Another upstairs room has two twin beds that slide together if a couple is staying there. I didn't see a single room that was a good choice for a romantic "get-away." For the money these hosts are asking, I would definitely look elsewhere.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Customer Service, Room did not have "private" bathroom as advertised, you had to walk down public hallway
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatMonticello, Owner at Inn at Monticello, responded to this review, July 11, 2007
When this guest checked in to our circa 1856 Inn, she expressed disappointment that the entrance to the private bath for her 2nd floor room was located approximately 3’ outside the door to the room. We observed no tears, but we offered (without any request by her) to reduce the room charges. At check-out, we presented her with a discounted bill, which she signed and accepted without further comment. Three weeks later, she contacted us and after complimenting us on our beautiful home, asked for an additional refund because she was still upset about the bathroom location. She commented that if we went along with her request, she would recommend us to others. We politely declined her request. A couple of days later, she wrote the review which appears above. As for her other comments, the outside temperature during her stay was between 50 and 65 degrees F. -- too warm for the wood-burning fireplace in her room to draw properly; she never mentioned anything about the CD player when she was here; and she has no firsthand knowledge whether guests staying on the 1st floor can hear anything from other parts of the house, because her room was on the 2nd floor. We take great pride in providing friendly customer service and beautiful accommodations in an historic setting. When this guest left, we thought that she had enjoyed her stay with us and that we had fairly and courteously addressed her needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring MD
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2007

I did not stay with them because they would not honor a $25 discount listed on a very well-known website that has a webpage for their inn. The page said that if you call 48 hours prior to arrival and they still have availablilty, they would offer you a $25 discount. The page said the discount would be higher if it was off-season. When I called the inn, more than half the inn was available but they would not honor the discount. They offered no explanation other than to restate the price of the rooms. They also never inquired about the name of the site that listed the discount so that they could fix it (assuming it was incorrect). I can't understand why they would not honor the discount as I'm sure they will not sell out by tomorrow (a Thursday when all their Friday nights are booked). There are plenty of other inns who also have availability tomorrow and who will honor their discounts. I'm glad I did not make the mistake of staying there.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky915, Owner at Inn at Monticello, responded to this review, April 13, 2007
We frequently and happily honor discounts or even make up new ones based on availability. Our housekeeper took the call, and was repeatedly and agressively asked about this particular discount, she answered as best she could with the information we had. We are new owners and are still learning about the many web-sites with information about our Inn that are 'out there'. What we have learned well is that phone manners are very important in getting what you want!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2007

My wife and I decided to celebrate our wedding anniversary with a visit to Monticello. Considering reviews from other guests and the location, we decided the Inn at Monticello would be our best bet.

It was a good decision. The innkeepers were very friendly and helpful in guiding us around the area. Because our room, which was undergoing remodeling, wasn't ready when we arrived, we were given a private cottage with a lot more amenities at no extra charge. Breakfast was excellent.

The inn is conveniently located near highway 64, making it easy to get to Monticello, Montpellier, Ashlawn, and a whole slew of wineries. When we saw where some of the other hotels/inns were that we'd also considered (in Charlottesville proper), we were happy we'd opted for the Inn instead; it's in a much prettier, much more relaxing place.

We wouldn't hesitate to return to the Inn at Monticello, given the opportunity.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2007

This B&B is on a main road, but you won't notice the traffic as it has a long front lawn, and the location is good for visiting Monticello. We arrived at a busy time so the owners seemed distracted and unsmiling, but later on they were pretty friendly so I forgave the initial "American Gothic" impression. The rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable. Breakfast is served at a communal table and takes the form of multiple courses, served rather as if you were at a dinner party, which can make it seem rather formal. The owners are well organised with details of restaurants (we took a taxi back into Charlottesville) etc.

  • Liked — Decor of the rooms and the cat who came to sit on our bed.
  • Disliked — Stand-offish check-in - but later became more friendly.
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2007

We just got home from a 2 night stay at the Inn and wanted to offer Bob and Carolyn a strong recommendation. They were great; very helpful, friendly and accomodating. Our room was lovely, clean, quiet and had a great bed. The breakfast was fabulous- we ate way too much. The Inn is in a perfect location for sightseeing and visits to the university. The Innkeepers are rather new to this business, but they seem to have learned very quickly how to make people feel at home. We wish them every success.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Monticello

Address: 1188 Scottsville Rd., Hwy. 20 S., Charlottesville, VA 22902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Monticello in Charlottesville VA is an upscale historic bed and breakfast inn located 2 miles from Thomas Jefferson's Monticello, and just a few minutes from other historic sites, wineries, the University of Virginia, and the Historic Downtown Mall's shops, theaters and fine and casual restaurants. The Inn sits on 5 landscaped acres with mature trees and a creek running through the property. Inside, guests are treated to fine antiques, lovely linens, gourmet breakfasts, and Virginia wine in the afternoon. Recently the Inn was noted in AAA Magazine's article on Monticello and was also the subject of a feature article in Charlottesville Woman Magazine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Monticello Hotel Charlottesville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Monticello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Inn at Monticello to your Saves list