We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasteful Rooms and Tasty Breakfasts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Monticello

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlottesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Monticello
Save
You added Inn at Monticello to your Saves list
1188 Scottsville Rd., Hwy. 20 S., Charlottesville, VA 22902   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Herndon, VA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Tasteful Rooms and Tasty Breakfasts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We recommend highly The Inn at Monticello, starting with the location, which is quiet but close to everything. We used nearby Interstate 64 to travel west and east in minutes to major sites and family gatherings, and Va. Route 20 north and south, to get in and out of the downtown area of Charlottesville and visit local wineries with ease. We stayed in the separate cottage and enjoyed the great shower and the canopied bed. All very comfortable and all very clean. Despite the heat and humidity outside, the A.C. and fans in the cottage kept the room temperature just right. We also appreciated the in-room refrigerator and the coffee machine with easy-to-prepare and good tasting coffee packets. The fresh cream left for us each day was a treat, and we took advantage of the snacks left for us also. "Jenny" of the staff greeted us warmly when we arrived, and she prepared truly excellent breakfasts both days we were there. High quality food, carefully prepared, and served with quiet style. There were a total of 5 couples at breakfast each morning in the dining room, sharing experiences from the previous day, and plans for the current day.
Checking out was an effortless breeze. Jenny's gracious charm will be a lasting memory. The owners have created and maintain beautiful grounds and flower beds, which we enjoyed exploring on foot. This is the place to which we plan to return when we are in Charlottesville.
Thank you for making our stay so very pleasant!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    59
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
30
221
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

What a fabulous place we found in the Inn at Monticello! We were in town for 5 days to see Monticello and the University of VA. I enjoy staying at B&Bs to avoid the "institutional" feel of Hotels, and I love good breakfasts :) The Inn at Monticello did not disappoint! The breakfasts were both filling and delicious. In addition to fresh fruit and a hot breakfast each day, we were also treated to a yummy baked good each day- make sure to save room.

We stayed upstairs in the blue room ( the only room with a king size bed) My hubby and I cannot sleep together in a queen size bed so we were glad to find this option at a B&B which is often hard to find. The bathroom for this room is just outside the room itself thru a separate door. This was not a problem and they provide robes in case you encounter someone in the hall for the brief few seconds it takes to enter the bathroom. The bathroom was huge!

Everything there was top notch and we enjoyed meeting other travelers in the sitting room downstairs. Bob and Carolyn and Jenny were all so nice and helped us with anything we needed!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Inn. The room was excellent as was the food., and it is very conveniently located. We did make the mistake of taking the wine tour available through the Inn. This was a mistake. It cost $100 per person and was absolutely NOT worth it. The lady who drove us about was very pleasant, and the prepared lunch was good (I would value it at $15 per person at best), but it was nothing more than someone driving us to the nearby wineries. There was no "tour" or education about the area and the wineries, simply an escort to and fro. We could have (and should have) driven ourselves. The wineries that we visited were all within 5 miles or so. Paying $50 would have been a stretch. The Inn is very nice and you will like it, but do NOT take the available wine tour.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easytraveler1776, Owner at Inn at Monticello, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
We are pleased the guest enjoyed their stay at the Inn and gave us 4 stars. We work hard to do an excellent job to help every guest feel welcome and well taken care of.

We are however dismayed that the guest thought the wine tour was overpriced.
This guest made a spur of the moment request to join that day's tour, after hearing from satisfied guests who toured the day before . They never inquired about the price until after the tour was over.

We KNOW the tour is fairly priced, actually below several in the area. We also know for sure that guests appreciate the value of having someone guide them safely as they taste between 20 and 30 wines in an afternoon of vineyard hopping.

It's peace of mind when you don't worry about seeing flashing blue lights in your own rear view mirror as you save a few dollars driving yourself - with your bag lunch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

A great place to stay to visit the Presidential homes in the area. Their B&B is set up to help you meet the others staying at their place. Good food and a very short drive to Jefferson's place. A lot of nice restaurants within 10 minutes.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Made an unexpected trip to Charlottesville to see Monticello and Montpelier. Didn't do a lot of research of area and chose the Inn at Monticello based on tripadvisor reviews. We stayed in the Lilac room which was very spacious and well-appointed. There was a small porch with rocking chairs right off the room and the grounds were nicely landscaped. Everything was spotlessly clean and our hosts, Bob and Carolyn were very attentive without being overwhelming. A plated breakfast was served at 8:30 a.m. Wine and snacks were served late afternoon/early evening. Overall a positive experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

While in the area for a wedding, we opted to stay at The Inn rather than one of the hotels in Charlottesville. Great choice! For a comparable price to the hotel chains, we had a lovely room decorated with antiques, a wonderful home-cooked breakfast, a complimentary glass of wine with cheese & crackers each night, baked treats each evening, and access to a guest refrigerator filled with complimentary sodas, juices & bottled water. Our innkeeper, Jenny, was absolutely wonderful.....warm, welcoming, gracious, funny, and helpful. We enjoyed our stay and would certainly book there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh nc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Went up for an anniversary weekend. Perfect in every way, the room with a private bath, the location, gluten free breakfast.
Reservations were easy. The innkeeper helpful and attentive. The ground are peaceful, except for the highway noise. Didn't notice at night however

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Monticello

Address: 1188 Scottsville Rd., Hwy. 20 S., Charlottesville, VA 22902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Monticello in Charlottesville VA is an upscale historic bed and breakfast inn located 2 miles from Thomas Jefferson's Monticello, and just a few minutes from other historic sites, wineries, the University of Virginia, and the Historic Downtown Mall's shops, theaters and fine and casual restaurants. The Inn sits on 5 landscaped acres with mature trees and a creek running through the property. Inside, guests are treated to fine antiques, lovely linens, gourmet breakfasts, and Virginia wine in the afternoon. Recently the Inn was noted in AAA Magazine's article on Monticello and was also the subject of a feature article in Charlottesville Woman Magazine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Monticello Hotel Charlottesville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Monticello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.