We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Bed and Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Monticello

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlottesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Monticello
Save
You added Inn at Monticello to your Saves list
1188 Scottsville Rd., Hwy. 20 S., Charlottesville, VA 22902   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Laguna Hills, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First Class Bed and Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We visited Charlottesville in October and found the Inn at Monticello to be a warm, inviting place to stay. Our beautiful room was upstairs in the front of the house and was filled with antique furniture but with a modern, tiled bathroom. True to its name, the Inn is very close to Monticello, Ash-Lawn Highland (President Monroe's home), and several wineries. Breakfasts were delicious, with fresh fruit, a savory or sweet main course, home made muffins and jam. In the evenings we were offered wine with snacks, and home made cookies. This is definitely a place for us to return to someday.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front of the house face east and have good black out curtains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    59
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
30
221
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wall, NJ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We visited the Charlottesville area late in September and we were fortunate enough to stay at the Inn of Monticello. Bob and Carolyn were the perfect hosts. The inn is located near to the town, wineries and historical sites. The breakfasts were wonderful and the bonus was the wine served with cheese, crackers and apples on the front porch late in the afternoon. The inn was everything you would want from a B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed here in September 2013 the night before we visited Monticello which is close by. This is an excellent B&B Inn with charming hosts Bob and Carolyn. We were welcomed by Jenny with a glass of wine and had a wonderful dinner at The Old Ivy which Bob told us is one of Charlottesville's finest restaurants. Our ground floor room was spacious and comfortable with lovely outdoor views of the spacious grounds. The cooked breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed chatting with our fellow guests. This is a an excellent Inn and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The Inn at Monticello is simply the best. Hands down! This is my second visit. The location is excellent. The food superb. The hosts delightful. The Inn attracts very interesting guests from all walks of life. As a result, the conversation at breakfast is fascinating. I shall return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manakin Sabot, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Inn at Monticello made for a wonderful weekend. We were in town for an event at Monticello and were pleased to have shared our time and a lovely breakfast with other guests at The Inn. Immediately outside of the city, we were able to have dinner, go downtown, and hop on and off the highway, all while staying on what felt like a classic Old Dominion farm property. Hospitality and amenities were great, and breakfast was MUCH more than I expected - orange croissant french toast, fruit medley, sausage, and pumpkin crumble muffins. Yum! Thanks for a great stay and great memories.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Inn was lovely and clean. Our room took us back in time to a quiet and relaxed place. The breakfast was excellent and our host and hostess were very accommodating. The location also was a giant plus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Inn at Monticello has very friendly staff, it's conveniently located a short distance from Monticello, and the setting was absolutely beautiful. We came home one evening to find four deer feeding in the front yard.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Monticello

Address: 1188 Scottsville Rd., Hwy. 20 S., Charlottesville, VA 22902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Monticello in Charlottesville VA is an upscale historic bed and breakfast inn located 2 miles from Thomas Jefferson's Monticello, and just a few minutes from other historic sites, wineries, the University of Virginia, and the Historic Downtown Mall's shops, theaters and fine and casual restaurants. The Inn sits on 5 landscaped acres with mature trees and a creek running through the property. Inside, guests are treated to fine antiques, lovely linens, gourmet breakfasts, and Virginia wine in the afternoon. Recently the Inn was noted in AAA Magazine's article on Monticello and was also the subject of a feature article in Charlottesville Woman Magazine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Monticello Hotel Charlottesville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Monticello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.