We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy viewing...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Monticello

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlottesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Monticello
Save
You added Inn at Monticello to your Saves list
1188 Scottsville Rd., Hwy. 20 S., Charlottesville, VA 22902   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sunderland, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Easy viewing...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

...while waiting for our tour to begin. The film shown is very informative but what caught our attention was the soundtrack. I wish I'd purchased the DVD in the gift shop, the music was so peaceful and calming.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    59
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
30
221
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Inn at Monticello. We stayed in 'The Cottage' and could not have been happier. The Cottage is beautifully and comfortably appointed, and the steam shower a luxury! Breakfast was delicious and staying in The Cottage, we had the option of having ours delivered to us, which we took advantage of...another luxury.
We booked the Historical Tour package, visiting Monticello, Michie Tavern, and Monroe's home, which were well worth the visits. The Inn is also close to other attractions, many restaurants (like Italian? Bella Pizza is excellent food with cheery service), and nightlife downtown. We visited in October to catch the Autumn colors and were not disappointed.
We are looking forward to staying at The Inn at Monticello again, in the Spring/Summer next time, to catch Monticello in full bloom.

Room Tip: We loved staying in 'The Cottage'
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

The Inn at Monticello was our first stay on our 10 day road trip along the east coast and a warm welcome from Carolyn and the lovely house and surrounding gardens was a great start to the trip. Breakfast at 8.30am was a little early for us but good to meet all the other guests and catch up on what they were going to be doing on their trip and compare notes. The home cooked breakfast was very good and the yellow room was comfortable, clean and cosy. Bob was very helpful and printed off maps for us to get to our next destination which was very useful. Very close to the Monticello for all you Thomas Jefferson buffs. Would thoroughly recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas Park, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

The Inn at Monticello is a beautiful home located on beautiful grounds just outside of Charlottesville, VA. It has a great location. The inn sets off a quiet rural road but is only a few minutes drive to downtown Charlottesville. The innkeepers, Bob and Carolyn, are perfect hosts; friendly and accomodating offering great suggestions on surrounding restaurants, wineries, and vineyards, orchards and historical sites. Breakfasts are outstanding. You can expect wine tastings in the evening and dessert at night as well.

We stayed in the Green room. I highly recommend it. But if it was any indication of the other rooms at the inn then you can expect each room to share the qualities of elegance and comfort as well as its own unique attributes. Housekeeping goes above and beyond to ensure your room is picture perfect.

We met several other couples during our stay and found them all to be thoroughly enjoyable company. We plan on visiting the Inn at Monticello again before too long.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We had several great days in Virginia at the Inn at Monticello thanks to the graciousness of our hosts Bob and Carolyn and the location of the Inn, which makes the many pleasures of Charlottesville quite accessible. The Inn itself is a beautiful home, which offers many comforts that include an outstanding breakfast and the evening wine tastings that feature wine from local Virginia wineries. On our first day, Bob provided details of a close walking trail that led to the grounds of Monticello. and his advice throughout our stay, be it restaurants, activities or vineyards was right on target and really helped make our stay that much more enjoyable. During our stay the Inn hosted an International crowd with folks from England and Italy as well as other parts of the US; this just added to the experience and made breakfast conversation a real delight. The Yellow room was cozy but comfortable, furnished very nicely with a very modern bathroom. One of the great things about the Inn is that it essentially has a country feel but downtown Charlottesville and Monticello are just a short drive away.

No review would complete without mentioning Rudy the Inn's mascot who is a real charmer. I am just surprised that my wife didn't try smuggling him out! I kind of had those thoughts myself.

Don't miss the fun!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggin Hill Kent
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stayed here in September 2011, the welcome was excellent, the room, surroundings and facilities were everything you could ask for. Ideally situated for all the local attractions etc.
Barry & Frances Simner UK

Room Tip: They are all good but main house the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, VA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed for a weekend, and received excellence service and attention. The Jefferson room is the best, with a private porch. Select this room if you can! The hosts have a pet dog and cat, which initially worried us since one of us has a cat allergy. However, they kindly kept the cat in their private quarters, so it was not an issue. The terrier, Rudy, is a real sweetheart! Breakfast both mornings was hearty and delicious, and the hosts were perfectly attentive. The home is located only 4 minutes away from downtown Charlottesville, but you feel worlds away when you're there; it's the perfect combination. We would definitely come back, and strongly recommend it to anyone looking for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Jefferson Room is the best! Private porch and exit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Monticello

Address: 1188 Scottsville Rd., Hwy. 20 S., Charlottesville, VA 22902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Monticello in Charlottesville VA is an upscale historic bed and breakfast inn located 2 miles from Thomas Jefferson's Monticello, and just a few minutes from other historic sites, wineries, the University of Virginia, and the Historic Downtown Mall's shops, theaters and fine and casual restaurants. The Inn sits on 5 landscaped acres with mature trees and a creek running through the property. Inside, guests are treated to fine antiques, lovely linens, gourmet breakfasts, and Virginia wine in the afternoon. Recently the Inn was noted in AAA Magazine's article on Monticello and was also the subject of a feature article in Charlottesville Woman Magazine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Monticello Hotel Charlottesville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Monticello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.