We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great food, great hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Foxfield Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlottesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Foxfield Inn
Save
You added Foxfield Inn to your Saves list
2280 Garth Road, Charlottesville, VA 22901   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place, great food, great hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We spent a weekend in the Rose Room for our anniversary. What a wonderful spot. Dan and Kathryn keep the B&B in beautiful shape. Comfortable and luxurious. We loved the double jacuzzi tub. Breakfast was a 3-course gourmet meal and the evening snacks and wine were a nice touch. The owners also do a great job helping improve your Charlottesville experience with restaurant suggestions and concierge assistance. We'll be heading back.

Room Tip: Hunt Country, Audubon and Garden are the quietest rooms. Rose was very nice, but just across from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    28
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
341
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The location in the countryside of Charlottesville, and the wonderful hosts and room plus the delicious breakfast make this B&B extrordinary, Plus the variety of interesting guests makes the weekend enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were down for an anniversary/valentine weekend. We had been at another B&B in Charlottesville about 5-6 years ago. Both were excellent. But my wife particularly liked the group seating for breakfast at Foxfield Inn - interesting and friendly folks. Dan and Kathryn were perfect hosts - great breakfasts and the right amount of "intervention." We highly recommend it and Charlottesville - fine meals downtown and we enjoyed our visits to Monticello, Montpelier and Starr Hill Brewery.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We were here for a getaway. We stayed in the Hunt Club room. The room was wonderful, with a fireplace, a 4-poster bed, and a jacuzzi tub. The outdoor hottub was great, even in February.

The hosts were wonderfully attentive. My fiancé is gluten-free, and they made sure that she was taken care of while making sure the rest of us had great food as well. Breakfasts were amazing. Happy hour was very nice. The hosts had recommendations for daytime activities (historical and/or wine/beer/cider focused) and lots of stories to tell.

We will absolutely go back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My parents gave my husband and me a weekend stay at the Foxfield Inn as a holiday gift. We stayed there for two nights in October 2012 and were very impressed. The inn doesn't look like your typical multi-story Victorian B&B - the one-level house is sprawling and spacious, and feels very clean and open. It's tastefully decorated and the owners seem to have thought of everything guests might need for a comfortable stay - large jacuzzi tubs in the guest rooms are accompanied by packets of bubble bath and even battery operated candles; bathrobes are provided for the short walk out to the backyard hot tub; a convenience area in the lobby has a refrigerator, microwave, drinks and snacks for guests to use at all hours; and wine and cheese are laid out every afternoon to snack on. The multi-course breakfasts were fun and delicious, and they were great about accommodating my husband's serious food allergies. They also had excellent advice on things to do and places to eat in Charlottesville, just about a 15 minute drive away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niamey, Niger
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent 3 days and 2 nights at the Foxfield Inn right after New Years 2013. I was visiting the U.S. for the holidays and he wanted to surprise me with a romantic and relaxing getaway. Needless to say I was pleasantly surprised :-)

Since we stayed right after the holidays, we pretty much had the entire Inn to ourselves. We were able to relax in the living room and walk about in privacy. We were very pleased by Dan and Kathryn's gracious hospitality. They immediately gave us a tour of the property and recommendations for wonderful restaurants and vineyards in the area (several of which we went to and enjoyed!). We were then shown to our rooms where we had wine, chocolate covered strawberries and other goodies waiting. Kathryn's breakfast each morning was mostly locally grown and very delicious. The entire Inn was beautiful and we felt right at home. We especially enjoyed the perfect-sized hot tub in the backyard and our in-room jacuzzi!

We look forward to visiting this bed & breakfast again in the future and definitely recommend it to others :-)

~ L & J

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We arrived at the Foxfield Inn late afternoon on a rainy/snowy, chilly, windy day after Christmas. After our initial tour by Kathryn and Dan and a delicious glass of local wine, we took advantage of the bathrobes and slippers in our room (the lovely Garden Room) and scooted- in the dark- out to warm up in the hot tub! What fun! Our towels, bathrobes & slippers got wet, but we stayed warm until returning inside to our gas fireplace. A great way to start relaxing! And that was just the beginning of a delightful stay. So many little surprises were revealed during our visit - no detail was left to chance - from the delicious three course breakfast (including homemede chocolate ice cream) highlighted by the beautiful table settings, to the well-equipped refreshment center, to the step stool giving me a lift to the extra high 4 poster bed! We particularly enjoyed the breakfast conversations and gained valuable info from our fellow traveler's about different outings. The weather improved considerably for the next two days. We visited Monticello, UVA ,
winery and brewery hopped on the Brew Ridge Trail and had two great dinners in Charlottesville. A trip to Charlottesville is a great getaway, a stay at the Foxfield Inn is fantastic!

Room Tip: Garden Room was very quiet, at end of hallway. Nice view of the grounds, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxfieldinn, Owner at Foxfield Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
OK, I must admit this review made me blush when I read it. We believe everyone should have a wonderful time when they stay with us and this great couple obviously did. We are glad they enjoyed themselves and we hope to see them again sometime. We do make our own ice cream here and I have been experimenting with new flavors. While they were here we had Chocolate Almond. Today's flavor was Vanilla Marscapone (served with caramel sauce and a triple fudge brownie).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Foxfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxfield Inn

Address: 2280 Garth Road, Charlottesville, VA 22901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Foxfield Hotel Charlottesville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foxfield Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.