We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful getaway with fun amenities. Great service from friendly and attentive owners.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Foxfield Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlottesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Foxfield Inn
Save Saved
You added Foxfield Inn to your Saves list
2280 Garth Road, Charlottesville, VA 22901   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful getaway with fun amenities. Great service from friendly and attentive owners.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We were here for a getaway. We stayed in the Hunt Club room. The room was wonderful, with a fireplace, a 4-poster bed, and a jacuzzi tub. The outdoor hottub was great, even in February.

The hosts were wonderfully attentive. My fiancé is gluten-free, and they made sure that she was taken care of while making sure the rest of us had great food as well. Breakfasts were amazing. Happy hour was very nice. The hosts had recommendations for daytime activities (historical and/or wine/beer/cider focused) and lots of stories to tell.

We will absolutely go back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    27
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
331
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My parents gave my husband and me a weekend stay at the Foxfield Inn as a holiday gift. We stayed there for two nights in October 2012 and were very impressed. The inn doesn't look like your typical multi-story Victorian B&B - the one-level house is sprawling and spacious, and feels very clean and open. It's tastefully decorated and the owners seem to have thought of everything guests might need for a comfortable stay - large jacuzzi tubs in the guest rooms are accompanied by packets of bubble bath and even battery operated candles; bathrobes are provided for the short walk out to the backyard hot tub; a convenience area in the lobby has a refrigerator, microwave, drinks and snacks for guests to use at all hours; and wine and cheese are laid out every afternoon to snack on. The multi-course breakfasts were fun and delicious, and they were great about accommodating my husband's serious food allergies. They also had excellent advice on things to do and places to eat in Charlottesville, just about a 15 minute drive away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niamey, Niger
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent 3 days and 2 nights at the Foxfield Inn right after New Years 2013. I was visiting the U.S. for the holidays and he wanted to surprise me with a romantic and relaxing getaway. Needless to say I was pleasantly surprised :-)

Since we stayed right after the holidays, we pretty much had the entire Inn to ourselves. We were able to relax in the living room and walk about in privacy. We were very pleased by Dan and Kathryn's gracious hospitality. They immediately gave us a tour of the property and recommendations for wonderful restaurants and vineyards in the area (several of which we went to and enjoyed!). We were then shown to our rooms where we had wine, chocolate covered strawberries and other goodies waiting. Kathryn's breakfast each morning was mostly locally grown and very delicious. The entire Inn was beautiful and we felt right at home. We especially enjoyed the perfect-sized hot tub in the backyard and our in-room jacuzzi!

We look forward to visiting this bed & breakfast again in the future and definitely recommend it to others :-)

~ L & J

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We arrived at the Foxfield Inn late afternoon on a rainy/snowy, chilly, windy day after Christmas. After our initial tour by Kathryn and Dan and a delicious glass of local wine, we took advantage of the bathrobes and slippers in our room (the lovely Garden Room) and scooted- in the dark- out to warm up in the hot tub! What fun! Our towels, bathrobes & slippers got wet, but we stayed warm until returning inside to our gas fireplace. A great way to start relaxing! And that was just the beginning of a delightful stay. So many little surprises were revealed during our visit - no detail was left to chance - from the delicious three course breakfast (including homemede chocolate ice cream) highlighted by the beautiful table settings, to the well-equipped refreshment center, to the step stool giving me a lift to the extra high 4 poster bed! We particularly enjoyed the breakfast conversations and gained valuable info from our fellow traveler's about different outings. The weather improved considerably for the next two days. We visited Monticello, UVA ,
winery and brewery hopped on the Brew Ridge Trail and had two great dinners in Charlottesville. A trip to Charlottesville is a great getaway, a stay at the Foxfield Inn is fantastic!

Room Tip: Garden Room was very quiet, at end of hallway. Nice view of the grounds, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxfieldinn, Owner at Foxfield Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
OK, I must admit this review made me blush when I read it. We believe everyone should have a wonderful time when they stay with us and this great couple obviously did. We are glad they enjoyed themselves and we hope to see them again sometime. We do make our own ice cream here and I have been experimenting with new flavors. While they were here we had Chocolate Almond. Today's flavor was Vanilla Marscapone (served with caramel sauce and a triple fudge brownie).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My wife and i recently spent four days at the Foxfield Inn while we finalized preparations for our son's upcoming wedding. In all respects, the inn is outstanding and represents one of our best experiences in a Bed and Breakfast.

The inn is located about seven miles outside of Charlottesville in rolling hills replete with horse ranches, farms and stately homes. We stayed in the Hunt Country Room, an exquisitely decorated room with a fox hunt theme. Spacious in size, the room, like the entire inn, was immaculate. The bathroom, with its giant jacuzzi bath, was the equivalent in size of a New York City studio apartment. The gas fireplace added warmth and atmosphere.

The inn's common areas are cozy, warm and give the impression of an elegant squire's home. The 24-hour refreshment center offers a variety of sweets and delicious homemade treats to complement a choice of coffees and teas.

And, oh those breakfasts! Each day's meal was a culinary delight with three courses that included homemade muffins, a fruit selection, an extra-special entree (frittata, strata, etc.) and a unique dessert (we even had homemade ice cream on one occasion!) Gathering around the dining room table with newly formed acquaintances, the conversation was always rich and convivial.

On weekends, the complimentary wine and hors d'oervres at 5:00 was appreciated before we embarked to area restaurants.

All in all, a special expereince- you have to visit the Foxfield Inn!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at the Foxfield Inn! The garden room as well as the entire inn was gorgeous and the breakfasts were delicious. Kathryn and Dan's hospitality was above and beyond and we couldn't rave more about what an amazing stay it was! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

From the moment we stepped in the doors of the Foxfield Inn we knew we would love it. Kathryn and Dan's hospitality went beyond what I expected. Kathryn showed us all around the inn, offered us a glass of wine and showed us to our beautifully appointed room. We stayed in the Audubon room which I'm sure like the others included a gas fireplace and large bathroom with an oh so heavenly huge Jacuzzi tub. Yes bath salts and rubber ducky are included. There is also a large outdoor jacuzzi for your use, and robes and slippers are there for you in the closet. If you are thirsty or need a snack, don't worry, Kathryn bakes homemade cookies and there is a fully stocked fridge with pretty much everything, plus coffee and tee. If I can't say anything else about this inn, the food is amazing. Breakfast is a three course meal cooked by Kathryn (who happens to have her masters in food science). The pumpkin waffles with cinnamon roasted pecans and homemade blueberry muffins were to die for. Well you get the idea.This is a great B&B. Don't forget to go wine tasting or just go in town. I highly recommend King Family Vineyards & Veritas Vineyards. These are two of the best!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxfieldinn, Owner at Foxfield Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We thoroughly enjoyed meeting this young couple and are so glad they enjoyed their stay with us. Our conversation with them at breakfast inspired me to start experimenting with more new recipes for guests to try.

Hope your enjoying your new cap!

Dan & Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Foxfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxfield Inn

Address: 2280 Garth Road, Charlottesville, VA 22901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Foxfield Hotel Charlottesville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foxfield Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.