We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ROMANTIC COUNTRY INN” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clifton Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Clifton Inn to your Saves list
Clifton Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1296 Clifton Inn Drive, Charlottesville, VA 22911   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence 2014
US
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“ROMANTIC COUNTRY INN”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

First off, if you are looking for 5 star accommodations, with gym, spa, golf course, etc. you will be sorely disappointed. This is a country inn built in the 1700s, given by Thomas Jefferson to his daughter as a wedding gift. It was originally on 100 acres - now much smaller -- but the grounds are gorgeous - lush, green, expansive. It has been remodeled and retrofitted for our modern needs -- but still -- no safe in the room, no full length mirror, no elevator, etc.

All that said, we had a wonderful stay for 3 days - the last leg of our trip before flying home to the west coast -- we had been wanting to see Monticello for a long time, and Clifton Inn is about 10 minutes away. The public rooms are beautiful -- "architectural digest" perfect and the food is excellent -- small plates -- you can have dinner in the beautiful and intimate restaurant, or on the veranda or patio, both of which overlook the gorgeous grounds. A tea time is offered every day with coffee/tea/ sweets - as is complimentary breakfast - both included in the price of the room. The staff is great -- will go out of their way to help with anything you need.

Our room was lovely - we stayed in room 4, the Martha Jefferson room. Very comfortable, spotlessly clean, bright and sunny, fantastic shower -- the best I've experienced anywhere - and again, it overlooked the beautiful grounds.

This is a wonderful getaway for a romantic weekend -- and I understand that it is a great wedding place as well. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    44
    19
    14
    13
See reviews for
36
157
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We visited the Clifton Inn in May 2013.

From the moment we drove into the peaceful grounds on a broiling Virginia day, we knew we would be able to relax at the Clifton Inn.

The attentive staff, who had already been very helpful in booking restaurant reservations for us, were a joy throughout the stay, Anne and Matthew in particular.

We had a lovely room, the Martha Washington room, which was decorated in a soothing mix of cream and pink with a huge bed, comfortable linens and a small seating area with a comfy sofa. The bathroom was huge, although it didn’t have a bathtub, which was a slight disappointment as I enjoy a deep bath, but the shower was more powerful than Niagara falls!

We enjoyed afternoon tea every afternoon and lazing around by the swimming pool.

One of the things I was most impressed with was that when the detergent used to wash the towels brought on a skin allergy (I have skin sensitive to certain detergents), the staff went to great lengths to ensure that for the rest of the stay our room towels washed in cold water only, which must have been a difficulty to the housekeeping staff and I appreciated it very much.

We ate at the Clifton Inn restaurant on one of our nights. On the plus side, the menu was creative and everything on it was beautifully cooked. On the minus side, I prefer my meals simple and the plethora of courses and the very avant garde nature of the flavours was not quite to my taste. Any kind of foodie however would be in heaven. They also have an excellent wine list and waitresses who are very knowledgeable about its contents.

My only niggle was that I found breakfasts a little hit and miss – whilst I enjoyed having amuse bouche at breakfast, I would have preferred if they had concentrated on smaller things, like poached eggs where the yolks were still soft.

Breakfast and afternoon tea is covered as part of a 15% service charge paid at the end of your stay and they also have a no-tipping policy because of this, which is useful for Brits fumbling to get the US tipping culture right!

The Inn is close to Monticello, Ash Lawn Highland and Montpelier and several excellent vineyards. I would reccommend the Barboursville vineyard - have a tasting lunch there and then do a tasting. Yummy!

All in all it’s a beautiful building in beautiful grounds, a real haven of elegance and bliss. Definitely worth a visit!

Room Tip: If you want privacy away from the main house, they have pretty guest cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We spent three days at the Clifton Inn while enjoying the beauty of the Virginia countryside in May. We stayed in the Blue Ridge Suite, a charming, springy suite...right down to the chartreuse walls. If you're a gardener or just enjoy admiring someone else's, the Clifton's grounds are paradise. The staff is very professional and helpful without being intrusive.They are knowledgeable about the area and can make helpful recommendations about things to do, which wineries are worth your while, restaurants in town etc.The cuisine is of the highest quality and sourced locally and therefore changes seasonally.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

If your budget can handle it TheClifton Inn has elegant grounds & pool and nearby vineyards Food elegantly prepared & presented. Our family stayed in a farmhouse on the grounds when we attended graduation at UVA Check it out

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Clifton Inn for the first time this past weekend, when our daughter graduated from UVA. What a great place! We were one of 4 families who hosted a dinner there. The food was excellent. The accommodations were absolutely great. A real "country retreat." The staff was very attentive to our needs.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Keswick room. Highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband and I spent our anniversary here and were absolutely thrilled with our experience. The service was impeccable, the food was clever and delicious, the grounds were beautifully landscaped and the quite country location was just what we were looking for. All the extra touches like complimentary champagne and a special printed menu just for us saying "Happy Anniversary" really made us feel like special, welcomed guests. This was just the romantic escape we were looking for and I highly recommend The Clifton Inn to anyone who is looking for an indulgent, unique experience. Oh, and the robes the provide in the rooms are awesome! I almost asked if I could buy one!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, OR
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is a gorgeous, peaceful property with historic charm and modern amenities in a stunning rural setting. The decor, the service, the gardens, all the little things that make a great hotel are here. Yes, the floors are a bit uneven. But the furnishings are top quality and the renovations done there include a quiet HVAC system, free wi-fi, a great shower and large bathroom, comfy linens and bed. The continental breakfast and tea are beautifully presented and top-quality. The front desk personnel are helpful and professional. Bring your swimsuit - the pool is beautiful and private. The location is well-positioned to visit Monticello, Charlottesville, wineries etc. A wonderful value and definitely lives up to the expectations of a Relais & Chateaux.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are not large but are very well appointed. For $30 more per night you get a suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clifton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Inn

Address: 1296 Clifton Inn Drive, Charlottesville, VA 22911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#8 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clifton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clifton, a luxury hotel member of Relais & Châteaux, puts guests in the best of both worlds with the intimacy of small inns and exquisite comforts of world-class hotels. A spectacular 100-acre setting in the shadows of the Blue Ridge Mountains. The best fine dining on the Charlottesville restaurant scene. World-class service. The list goes on and on. Clifton memories are here for the making. Consider yourself cordially invited to make some of your own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Clifton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Hotel Charlottesville
Country Inn Charlottesville
Charlottesville Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clifton Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.